Google+

Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII review

Mediocre
Back to Article

89 comments

  • rcarrasco121 - February 11, 2014 8:44 a.m.

    Guess you should probably add to the (+) that the 13 series is finally over and we can move on now.
  • shawksta - February 11, 2014 8:22 a.m.

    Usually I scoff at difficulty complaints but seeing as this is Ryan and not say Cooper or Henry, I can believe it.
  • GR_LucasSullivan - February 11, 2014 9:19 a.m.

    ZING!!
  • shawksta - February 11, 2014 10:57 a.m.

    You too Lucas, i trust both you and Ryan to not be defeated by difficulty so easily and start blaming the game unless it truly is the game's fault. Especially in platformers.
  • rainn'sgaydar - February 11, 2014 11:16 a.m.

    I'm confident you just made Lucas's day
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 1:31 p.m.

    He's speaking the truth though. Both Cooper and Henry are wimps when it comes to games, whereas Ryan and Lucas, even when they might have trouble with a game, don't quit or at least put the blame on the game right away.
  • rainn'sgaydar - February 11, 2014 3:36 p.m.

    Ha well I didn't disagree, but from what I can tell about the office dynamic, I'm sure it made Lucas's day
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 6:11 p.m.

    Yeah... I do feel rather bad at how Lucas is often made feel like the whipping boy of the group, when arguably him and Ryan and the biggest and best gamers there, or at least the ones that take gaming most seriously.
  • shawksta - February 11, 2014 7:07 p.m.

    One episode of "Ask Gamesradar" chose Lucas as the most hardcore of the group, with the only competition being Justin so atleast he gets the justice
  • Redeater - February 11, 2014 2:52 p.m.

    I'll be honest, I really want to smack Henry upside the head every time he whines about a games difficulty. I will never make fun of anyone's skill at gaming but having to physically listen to him piss and moan about how "this part sucks" just because it's difficult....that's a whole different ball game. His twitter bitching about Bioshock Infinite made me pretty close to checking unfollow.
  • shawksta - February 11, 2014 5:13 p.m.

    Its weird given Henry had no problem with Super Meat Boy.
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 5:46 p.m.

    He never finished it properly though. So it's safe to say that he liked the concept of super meatboy, but never really mastered it.
  • shawksta - February 11, 2014 7:18 p.m.

    When you say it like that it makes perfect sense. My main gripe with Henry and Cooper's wimpyness is it effects their view on certain games because of it. Henry seems alienated from DKCTF because of the Difficulty and "those darn minecart levels", and Cooper just flat out doesnt care and exaggerates Cranky being in the game whenever he gets the chance to which honestly annoys me despite his justification to do so. Jackonomics exaggerated his rage against their poor knowledge of the game back at the part 2 of the 100 anticipated games, and while i dont agree with his exaggeration i can see why he feels that way. This is normally nothing to have an issue about, its all in good talk, but when those 2 are supposedly the big Nintendo guys for GR it brings its issues.
  • Letter11 - February 11, 2014 7:42 a.m.

    Sigh, I was pretty much expecting this. The FFXIII series as a whole has had it share of problems but somehow in spite of it all, my inner fanboy who squeees at anything with "FF" in the title allowed me to extract fun from them. So, im getting this anyway, don't judge me. I'll be glad though, to put the XII games to rest. Damn, I hope FFXV can live up to the hype. I really just need to get Bravely Default like Cyberninja and BladedFalcon. Anyway thanks for the review, Ryan.
  • Darkhawk - February 11, 2014 6:40 a.m.

    So, how long before we finally get a female lead whose clothes/armour isn't skin-tight? ESPECIALLY ARMOUR. Who the hell wears form-fitting chest armour?!
  • TheGreyWizard - February 11, 2014 6:38 a.m.

    See? What did I tell you?
  • rainn'sgaydar - February 11, 2014 6:33 a.m.

    What a shame. Not that it's surprising, but still a shame. Am I wrong for allowing this to serious dampen my expectations for FFXV?
  • Clovin64 - February 11, 2014 12:59 a.m.

    I've already completed the Japanese Import, so I'm not in a hurry to pick up the English one on release. I've got new semester textbooks to buy this month, and Castlevania so I'll probably wait for a price drop before getting LR.
  • winner2 - February 10, 2014 6:51 p.m.

    This sounds to me like "Alright boys and girls, we're almost there. ONE MORE PUSH, AND FF13 IS AS GOOD AS DONE! Everyone be ready to lock and load tomorrow morning, and we'll all make it to the other side in one piece! OO-RAH!" And I'm picturing all of GR in Dawn of War 40k space marine armor rallying around Ryan at the helm as he gives this magnificent speech with those harley davidson glasses fused into his helmet. Or maybe that's my hopeless romantic/romanticism showing.
  • universaltofu - February 10, 2014 6:34 p.m.

    I'm down for this one, not sure if I'm going to get it right away, only so much time before the onslaught of releases get's truly underway, and I just started Bravely Default, but I liked XIII and XIII-2 so wrapping up the series with a cool new twist on the battles sounds good.

Showing 61-80 of 89 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 11 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Square Enix
Franchise: Final Fantasy
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence, Mild Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.