Google+

Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII review

Back to Article

89 comments

  • MeanwhileGuy - February 11, 2014 11:20 a.m.

    Man, this sucks. I was actually looking forward to this and was really tempted to buy it, especially after Famitsu gave it a 37/40 (I think). The demo was enjoyable as well, the combat held together tightly and actually demanded interaction other than pressing X/A on autopilot. I'll probably pick it up in 6 months time when it's a tenner in the used section or something.
  • taokaka - February 11, 2014 10:55 a.m.

    I had somewhat expected this, after the initial reveal I was dumbstruck that square was continuing one of the most polarizing series in games and starring the character from XIII with the least personality but after they revealed that lightning returns would actually be about lightning's cosplay adventures I was immediately excited..... Soon after I realized how idiotic it was for me to get excited about a game because they weren't selling the alternate costumes as dlc (You know business models in gaming are bad when such a trivial thing like free alternate costumes get people like me excited). I was still intrigued by the previews however I wasn't outright excited for the game. I thought it might be a good purchase down the line but I'll pass on it now.
  • PlainLikeVanilla - February 11, 2014 10:41 a.m.

    Why did you even have Ryan review this? He has admitted he hates the ff13 series and was bitching about how much he didn't want to review this on the podcast months ago.
  • Moondoggie1157 - February 11, 2014 11:40 a.m.

    I was thinking the same thing... I guess the game is getting comparable reviews everywhere though. Damn shame.
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 2:14 p.m.

    ...And yet, he also seemed to be the only one giving a crap to begin with, as everyone else in the staff flat out hadn't even played the other games, or were completely uninterested in the series.
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 11, 2014 2:30 p.m.

    I don't think it's fair to say I hate the FF13 series, though I don't think it's by any means fantastic. It's true that I didn't particularly care for 13, but I liked 13-2 quite a bit--I reviewed it for PlayStation: The Official Magazine and scored it an 8. The bitching you're referring to here was likely based on preview sessions, which left me feeling rather skeptical that LR would turn out to be a great game. But I was excited to play it, as I am any game I get the chance to review, and came into it feeling entirely open to whatever it'd throw my way--which is what I've written about in the review above. It wasn't my cup of tea, even in comparison to the first two games in the trilogy, but that doesn't mean you guys won't like it ^_^
  • Redeater - February 11, 2014 10:29 a.m.

    So this game seems to be averaging low 6's across the board. The fact that 90% of the advertising I have seen for this game was just a bustier Lightning in Cloud's uniform was pretty indicative to me that they knew it was going to be sub-par. This game clearly isn't for me since it seems to suffer from the same type of problems that the first 2 games had. I will say I'm annoyed that there are companies like Rocksteady, Rockstar and Ubisoft who consistantly almost always improve on sequels yet SE seems to learn nothing with each release. (Seriously, I don't even know how Ubi managed to make the damn near perfect Rayman Legends after Origins) Well, goodbye FF13. I wish I could say it was nice knowing you.
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 9:05 a.m.

    Was never really interested in getting this game anyway, but I will say that some of the complaints here feel kinda funny considering the genre: Ridiculous, has-nothing-do-with-the-story sidequests and extravagant, objectifying fashion sense has ALWAYS been par for the course in almost any JRPG. Not saying that makes it right, necessarily, just that complaining so much here when giving a free pass to other games of the same genre feels kinda weird. Anyway, I won't complain about the low score, I am more than ready for the XIII series to die so we can move on.
  • shawksta - February 11, 2014 9:42 a.m.

    Its weird, other sites as well talk about how the fashion just loses the tone of the game.
  • rainn'sgaydar - February 11, 2014 11:20 a.m.

    I seem to remember Bravely Default reviews complaining of the same "nothing to do with anything" sidequests. I haven't found that to be the case yet for BD though. And Ryan's descriptions of the sidequests seem much more farfetched than BD as well. Also, your friend summon of Edea almost breaks the game for me, so thanks for that.
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 12:52 p.m.

    Hehe, whoops? ^^; Are you Jay? If so, I can see how my attack was game breaking, haha ^^; I think the last one I uploaded was a healing spell though, so that one shouldn't be as bad XD And yeah... who the fuck is complaining about BD's sidequests? if anything, I've found them to be VERY interconnected to the plot, and arguably are more compelling than the main plot >_> (I much rather know and take care of the people that are behind underhanded schemes to take control or destroy a city, instead of the rather predictable and tired main plot (at least for now) if going to 4 temples to restore some crystals XD)
  • rainn'sgaydar - February 11, 2014 3:40 p.m.

    I'm fultz7 or revan. I forget which. And I'm not complaining as I don't mind a little game breaking assistance once in a while lol. Definitely agree about character development though. And the side story villains are more interesting too. The sidequests almost feel essential to the story to me, optional as they may be. But I've only done the first 6, so they may get less interesting as they go. I suppose we'll see.
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 5:44 p.m.

    Heh, I think we might be more or less in the same length of the game, still in florem? And yeah, can't say about later quests, but I'd be surprised if the quality were to diminish. Anyway, whenever you get a cool new move, don't forget to send it! ^^
  • rainn'sgaydar - February 11, 2014 5:52 p.m.

    Just wrapped up Florem tonight! I really should play around with the special move customizer. I haven't touched it yet, but my Norende is nearly complete so I should have a fair amount of options when I get there. You done anything with it? One review I read said that they do begin to tail off in the later game, but if it means getting a new job class at the end of the quest, I'll be there to complete it.
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 5:56 p.m.

    Huh, you ARE a bit father ahead than me then, I think I'm close with dealing the last sidequest and then moving on with the plot, I should finish up florem by the end of the day though, I hope. And haha, the special move customizer mays seem daunting at first, but it's fairly simple, specially if you have most of norende built. (which means you'll have a lot of the customization parts available) I do tinker with it each time I change weapons or get new special moves, all you need to do is thin what you want your moves to be best suited against, and presto, some of the additional effect are pretty awesome, like extra power or healing MP and restoring BP and whatnot. Give it a try, and it'll be worth it ^^
  • rainn'sgaydar - February 11, 2014 6:06 p.m.

    I'm playing on easy. That's probably why I'm ahead. I love RPGs, but I'm a baby when it comes to most difficulty, platformers excluded. Weird that I'm that far ahead but your summon moves are so devastating to bosses. But maybe it's because you've customized your special moves. I definitely want to get into that, but I've just been able to make do without (again, playing on easy). I may bump the difficulty now that I think about it. Right now I can use three braves and just attack and wipe out anything but a boss with no problem.
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 6:15 p.m.

    ...Ah right, playing on easy would certainly explain that :P Don't know why though, even on normal I feel the game has been far to easy thus far, specially if you've made use of the obscenely OP weapons available trough Norende. And yeah, I'd recommend bumping up the difficulty a bit, seeing that when done right, I've been able to one shot bosses in one turn myself XD (Artemia and that Land Turtle? Pwned in a single turn, special attacks do help a TON )
  • rainn'sgaydar - February 11, 2014 6:19 p.m.

    Artemia was a pushover for sure. I would've gotten waxed in the early game though. And so far my best weapons have come from Florem and all its quests. Interesting. Namely the bows. They're crazy strong.
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 6:46 p.m.

    Hm, you never acquired the angel bow, Lu Bu's spear and grinding axe from the village? Those are ridicuoulsy strong as well!
  • sephex - February 11, 2014 3:53 p.m.

    They are fun when they're sidequests. Not when the whole game is about aimlessly roaming.

Showing 41-60 of 89 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 11 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Square Enix
Franchise: Final Fantasy
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence, Mild Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.