Google+

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning review

Back to Article

62 comments

  • HeavyTank - February 7, 2012 5:15 a.m.

    All Skyrim-comparing aside, I couldn't get to care even a tiny bit about the story, and I didn't like the combat either (yes, I think Skyrim's combat is ten times better than the mindless button-mashing of Amalur), so the only two good points of the game are not even there, as far as I'm concerned. Then, as the review said, the grindy, MMO quests really ruined it for me.Them, and the terrible graphics.
  • fullmetallegend - February 7, 2012 7:39 a.m.

    I was wondering if anyone else found this style of combat to be worse. I like Skyrim's combat because it felt a little more real. No matter what weapon or magic I was using, it felt like I was using. KoA feels like any other crazy combo combat game, where the neat looking combos quickly become mashy buttons. And did anyone else feel that the general movement of your character was just... wrong?
  • BladedFalcon - February 7, 2012 11:40 a.m.

    "Skyrim's combat felt more real" Yes, because in reality you totally just swing a sword mindlessly over 10 times to kill a wolf without getting tired, and immediately move to the next foe, and they all just go straight at you without any kind of plan or semblance if intelligence. Totally real. I just laugh at people who say Amalur's combat is button-mashy compared to skyrim. When in Skryrim, let's face it, the combat boils down to pressing one button to attack and pause to just heal whenever the enemy bum rushes you. There are no tactics, no real skill involved. People that judge's amalur combat in the demo are forgetting two very crucial facts: One, you were playing the game in normal difficulty, meaning that it's not as challenging as the game can be. (And let's face it, normal difficulty nowadays might as well be easy mode in most games.) And secondly, you played the very first part of the game, with the easiest, weakest enemies, of course they are not gonna demand much skill from you at first, and you could hack and slash your way trough it because it's simple. But the way combat's designed in Amalur, it seems rather clear to me that the game is eventually going to demand you to block and dodge attacks in order to not die too quickly, and use space effectively, something skyrim never bothered to demand from the player.
  • mothbanquet - February 7, 2012 2:08 p.m.

    I agree, I found Amalur's combat to require as much finesse as Skyrim's. Of course, I was playing as a mage, so by definition I had to block and dodge as much as I could. Still, by the end of the demo I was fresh outta health potions. Can't rely on regenerating health either. In the end, I always liked Fable for its fluid combat and this was in the same vein. Then again, I liked the ES games for their in your face, first-person combat too. I think we have to chalk it up to 'each to his own'.
  • samsneeze - February 7, 2012 3:52 p.m.

    PLEASE! Name one questline in Skyrim that didn't feel like a half-assed mess. I need to go play it now. Out of the one-hundred hours I've poured into the game, I didn't find a single quest that was the least bit exciting or at least made me think about after it was over. Everything I've encountered so far has made me go "Oh, well this is worse than my Daedric Warhammer. Time to move on." There are characters to care about in Skyrim. All of them feel like cardboard. You'd think a series with so much financial backing would put money to having decent writers on board with it. And another thing: "yes, I think Skyrim's combat is ten times better than the mindless button-mashing of Amalur" Are you fucking kidding me? You could not have been serious when you said this. It'd be impossible. I mean, I know there is preference, but the thing you called out was the "Mindless button mashing". It's like you've played neither game to me. Combat is brain dead, plain and simple. I understand the entire game isn't about combat, but enough of it is that it should be better than this. Melee is just hitting the attack button, and yes you can say that about any game, but man, is it true in Skyrim. You might backpedal, or strafe while you swing, but if the enemy is stronger than you there isn't enough skill involved for you to actually feel like you're doing something. You know, Fable: The Lost Chapters is technically a better game than Skyrim, it just doesn't look as pretty or have as much to do. It does have better characters, more memorable people, quests that are fun and rewarding, and when you save the world, people mention it for more than two or three days. Granted, there are no guilds to join and the map is considerably smaller, but at least you have actual boss fights. So fuck this noise, I'm off to fight Jack of Blades and marry Lady Gray
  • soggysage - February 7, 2012 4:52 a.m.

    I'm intrigued, sounds like everything a Fable sequel should have been.
  • WikiParazFTW - February 7, 2012 4:19 a.m.

    This looks great, I'm picking it up later, but sadly I'm working all night :( Oh well, there's always tomorrow...
  • winner2 - February 7, 2012 4:14 a.m.

    Definitely liking the separation of combat and abilities
  • spirals - February 7, 2012 4:07 a.m.

    I loved the demo on 360. Thought the combat was great and I'm a sucker for loot.
  • Mezolitik - February 7, 2012 3:26 a.m.

    I've been really surprised with the reviews for this game. I thought the demo was atrocious. The AWFUL camera, the generic setting, the game-breaking bugs, the click-fest combat. The whole thing reminded me of an MMO; cartoon graphics and endless click-click-clicking. I'm intrigued now, but yeah...the demo puts me off. And the fact that I couldn't get the ME3 goodies because it was a mangled wreck makes me even more determined to avoid it.
  • Manguy17 - February 7, 2012 4:10 a.m.

    Did you play out the whole demo? I hated it to start with but once i was done i wanted to keep playing..
  • Mezolitik - February 7, 2012 4:23 a.m.

    Naw, I could only get about ten minutes in because of the bugs. The game freezes whenever I pick up certain items. I might give it another look when the price drops. I really hope they've altered the camera for the final release though.
  • mothbanquet - February 7, 2012 6:26 a.m.

    I thought exactly the same thing but by the end I was actually impressed by the scope of depth on offer, especially with regards to tailoring your character. Sure, there are problems but let's face it, it's not like Skyrim didn't have bugs...
  • Shadow Of Death - February 7, 2012 3:16 a.m.

    I played the demo for hours yesterday... The only issues I really had with it are: 1 - Graphical glitches (occasionally defeated enemies would produce giant stretching geometric shapes like triangles or something, and the textures were stretched too) 2 - The faces, the faces! They're all so stiff and dead, like wax museum pieces...Makes Oblivion characters seem lively in comparison ~_~
  • jacklop21 - February 7, 2012 1:34 a.m.

    Oh and i read an article saying Amalur has 150+ dungeons, that's more then skyrim. He skipped a lot of side missions so maybe he missed them.
  • jacklop21 - February 7, 2012 1:32 a.m.

    Skyrim's side quests were mostly fetch/random quests that didnt motivate or drive you. Amalur has better combat. I would say it's equal, maybe even better. Been playing for 4 hours now :}
  • HitmanSB07 - February 7, 2012 3:09 a.m.

    Come back when you reach 70+ hours and tell us what you think :P
  • ChaseByKO - February 7, 2012 12:59 a.m.

    Combat is better and, from what I've read, the set-pieces are grander. I don't mind the characters being a bit more like characters and less realistic. Then again, I don't play World of Warcraft, so I don't know how much that grates on diehard WOW players. I'm burnt out on RPG games, tho. You can thank Skyrim. If I do buy this game, it'll be when it's down to 20 bucks (which shouldn't take too long).
  • Slayer11496 - February 7, 2012 12:50 a.m.

    This game looks wonderful. Comparing it to skyrim? Yeah, it had to happen but is the game even aiming for skyrim? Linear i've learned is a good thing to an extent. Mass Effect? linear. Fable II? linear. MGS series? linear. Skyrim is son damn non-linear it's hard to find the things that bethesda really took the time to make cool. Not that i'm saying that skyrim sucks or even that KoA:Reckoning will be better, just that linear isn't something to to be sad about.
  • ScrEAMaPiLLar - February 7, 2012 12:47 a.m.

    "Graphics look dated" Hmm nothing a few mods couldn't fix.
  • KnowYourPokemon - February 7, 2012 5:21 a.m.

    I find it funny that "the graphics look dated" is listed as a con for this game but when it comes to games like MW3 still using graphics from 3+ years ago and using all the shades of brown in the colour wheel it's ok. Also how "the grindy MMO quests" are a downside but never a mention of all the "Kill X bandit" quests in Skyrim, the horrible combat, and the lackluster story during Skyrim's review. Now don't take it the wrong way I'm not calling out either of those games as horrible and an 8 is still an awesome score but it's funny how those things aren't a con for those big AAA titles but not for this.
  • anchgu7 - February 7, 2012 12:33 a.m.

    Another 8. Another great game. Because as we all know, 8 is great. Can't wait for my pre-order to arrive in the mail. Oh, and great review Coop. I can really tell you took a lot of time playing and understanding the game as well as trying to write a review that conveys what you felt while playing. I give this review an 8, which remember, is great.

Showing 41-60 of 62 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Role Playing