Google+

Halo 4 review

Back to Article

94 comments

  • Telekinesis - November 1, 2012 12:18 p.m.

    Why are you IGN and Gamespot all using the same video clips, did you nto take your own footage for your reviews rather then using stock footage? Vlearly if you played the game you could have taken your own footage: -The turret sequence is used in all three videos. It's at 4:10 in the IGN video, 4:16 of the Gamespot video, and 2:40 of the Gamesradar video. -The rolling attack to behind the back melee at 3:29 in the IGN video is at 4:10 in the Gamespot video. -The sniping shot at 4:15 of the IGN video is 2:55 of the Gamespot video and 2:10 of the Gamesradar video. -Behind the back melee kill at 4:44 of the IGN video is at 3:05 of the Gamespot video and is at 1:58 of the Gamesradar video. -Jumping rocket launcher shot from 3:30 of Gamespot video is the same as Gamesradar's video at :53. Courtesy HonorableJudgeIto from reddit --- I encourage everyone to check them out themselves and see the footage is identical.
  • ninjaemperor - November 1, 2012 12:59 p.m.

    ZOMFG CORRUPTION! Thank you for this enlightening look at the seedy underbelly of professional garmz jarnalism. Seriously though, brilliant logic there. Clearly Hollander never played this game, that is literally the only reason that 2 writers could have used the same footage.
  • Thedigitalg - November 1, 2012 1:31 p.m.

    Perhaps, since they already had pre-cut footage, it was more time-economical to just use the footage given? What would be the point in re-recording the game, unless it's a Let's Play! style video?
  • D0CCON - November 1, 2012 3:30 p.m.

    Several of these reviews use footage I remember seeing in trailers. It's not that crazy and happens a lot in video reviews. This isn't corruption and this isn't a sign that the reviewers didn't play the game. Shut up.
  • profile0000 - November 1, 2012 12:23 p.m.

    Good review, and I just preordered the game on my way home. Definitely looking forward to it. I'm surprised the review embargo ended today, on a Thursday before the Tuesday release. Seems a bit weird, but hey, I'm not complaining.
  • Thedigitalg - November 1, 2012 1:34 p.m.

    This is going to be so good. It has to be, since my tattooist (also a heavy Halo fan) just finished a forerunner on my arm. I haven't gotten a bad gaming tattoo yet, I hope this doesn't end the streak.
  • Robx - November 1, 2012 1:54 p.m.

    Oh, a nine. Was hoping for another eight to keep on trolling.
  • IMMRST - November 1, 2012 2:50 p.m.

    HALO 4 GOTY and AC3 too :D!
  • FOZ - November 1, 2012 3:15 p.m.

    Did you really criticize Halo for not having iron sights? As nice as it would be for them to add a physical "look into sight" animation for the scoped weapons, Halo was never meant to have iron sights. That wouldn't be an "evolution," it would be a fundamental change to how the series plays.
  • GR HollanderCooper - November 1, 2012 6 p.m.

    The same could be said about sprinting and loadouts in multiplayer, both of which help the game.
  • FOZ - November 1, 2012 7:27 p.m.

    Moving faster for a couple of seconds is a change equal to completely altering the fundamental shooting aspects? It makes more sense in the written part of the review, that they aren't necessary but might be appreciated. But in the video, not having them makes the game "feel dated?" Halo is never a game where I've wished I had iron sights. As goofy as the telescope vision is, the circular zoom crosshair is a vital part of using the pistol. I'd rather have what feels right than an unnecessary change for the sake of a shallow sense of "evolving" gameplay. I really don't like the idea that iron sights need to be incorporated into shooters outside of deliberate military FPS (including Crysis), especially since Halo was conceived and has repeatedly evolved without them.
  • GR HollanderCooper - November 2, 2012 1:41 p.m.

    Sprinting does make a big difference, when you factor in the game's focus on one-hit melee kills and vehicles. Again, not necessary, but I feel like from-the-hip shooting sometimes makes it feel a bit dated, since the full-screen zoom doesn't make much sense with weapons that lack a scope. They made a reason for it, but that doesn't actually help unless you dig deep into lore.
  • igothitwithabulb - November 1, 2012 3:54 p.m.

    This review seems short to me. I think more definitely could have been said, I dunno.
  • GuiltyAir - November 1, 2012 7:22 p.m.

    These definitely help modernize the Halo experience, even if they only have it falling in line with the modern era of shooters, instead of actually speeding past them. Multiplayer has also been given context, tying into the lore that the >>>UNITED NATIONS SECURITY COUNCIL<<< has partially revived the Spartan project in Master Chief’s absence. Can't tell if bad comical reference, or just plain ignorance. I didn't edit, straight quote from 3rd to last paragraph. Any true Halo fan knows UNSC is the UNITED NATIONS SPACE COMMAND, not the United Nations Security Council. They don't have a Spartan project to revive, or do they? O.o
  • GR HollanderCooper - November 2, 2012 12:16 a.m.

    Fixed, bro--it's all good ;)
  • SpookMeister - November 1, 2012 7:23 p.m.

    hmmm.... Good Review but what really baffles me is the way Hollander talks (assuming it is him) So damn stale and inconsistent not to mention awkward. If you look at other video reviews they talk with more energy and flow. Hollander please loosen up!
  • Takeshi-GR - November 3, 2012 8:45 a.m.

    It's not Cooper. Video reviews are always voiced by our video producer extraordinaire, Frank Adams a.k.a. Frankenberry. If you don't know what that's about, watch the Halloween episode of the New Games Releases Super Show. ;-)
  • Silvercloak - November 1, 2012 7:40 p.m.

    I'll only be interested once they put subtitles in all 4 freaking games. Nothing ticks me off more than that. Oh yeah, I'm hard of hearing. It's really NOT that hard to do.
  • ParagonT - November 1, 2012 8:31 p.m.

    May contain spoilers: Just on a side note of the universe in a whole. If they want to really put more into their characters and universe, they need to get rid of Karen Travis, or at least help her have better context and understanding about the characters and fix hypocrisies in the books. Love her style, but gosh almighty I'm tired of reading about how Hasley is the devil that plagues the earth although she saved human kind, Karen literally beats the horse to death and back to life again. Don't get me started on Mendez and Pragnosky; with his "I'm better than you attitude" although I just was satan's helper not once but twice, and her "Although I'm being a backstabbing admiral bent on wiping out the Sangheili through lies and civil war and sure to have done more questionable things in my career, your flash cloning is just crossing the line!" /end rant
  • Cwf2008 - November 1, 2012 11:41 p.m.

    "tying into the lore that the United Nations Security Council has partially revived the Spartan project " "United Nations Security Council" ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?! How does the reviewer not know the UNSC MEANS UNITED NATIONS SPACE COMMAND. WHAT. THE. FUCK. This is HALO not the real world.
  • GR HollanderCooper - November 2, 2012 12:17 a.m.

    Unwindulax, it's fixed.

Showing 41-60 of 94 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 06 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Nov 06 2012 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: 343 Industries
Franchise: Halo
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+: Violence