Google+

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West super review

Great
Back to Article

73 comments

  • Smeggs - October 4, 2010 1:44 a.m.

    The demo is out? On XBL? Oh damn, better download it and give it a go tonight, you make it sound amazing. This sounds like the perfect type of game after the challenge grinding in Halo: Reach or carving bloody swaths through zombie hordes in Dead Rising 2.
  • VaneTrago - October 4, 2010 4:24 a.m.

    I had an extreme amount of fun with the Demo, and I hadn't heard of this game at all beforehand. Thus, day 1 purchase.
  • d3v - October 7, 2010 9:46 a.m.

    The important question however is if it's better than Devil May Cry 3 (still the high water mark for these hack and slash combat games), considering that this is the same team doing DmC.
  • Mar27w - October 7, 2010 2:08 p.m.

    this game is a missed opportunity,the combat is far too simplistic with little need to go back to the game after completion,you will be content for the 8 hours it lasts but due to a lack of new moves and finishers to learn thiers little to no replayability which is unacceptable for £40,Castelvania has load of combos but the combat lacks punch with an pretty lame move set and a lack of visceral combat,the chain in NG2 is much more impressive to weild and is only one weapon of many,NG2 and Bayonetta are still the only action titles worth picking up,with a bit more effort applied to the fighting this could have been brilliant because the combat is satisfing with some great camera work and animation,shame
  • Crabhand - October 8, 2010 12:57 a.m.

    After playing the demo for this, I cannot wait to get this game. It looks great and everything seemed to flow very well.
  • KaiokenKid - October 8, 2010 7:39 a.m.

    @gamesRadarMatthewKeast: Well, I own both, so i guess I have the luxury of choice. i dont know, it probaly shouldnt bother me as much as it does. But for whatever reason it makes me think PS3 isnt quite as good if its not keeping up in the multiplatform department. Kind of wish everyone would just lead develop on PS3 when deving games, that way the ports really come out equal. I guess its probaly a game by game basis.
  • 80sMullet - October 9, 2010 9:15 a.m.

    For British readers of a certain age: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQpKoWsKGr8&feature=related http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0nfdk3qCNQ&feature=related Used to be on TV around 5 o'clock weekdays when I was a lad - nice to see an update using the characters. They should have used the Seventies disco soundtrack.
  • garnsr - October 10, 2010 5:49 a.m.

    I'm almost to the end, but I've had a hard time continuing through this game. For some reason I'm always looking forward to the end of a level, so I can quit playing. Something about it just hasn't grabbed me. It's not bad, but I think I enjoyed Heavenly Sword more, and some of the good feelings from that make me want to like Enslaved more than I do. It's too bad, I was really looking forward to this, it's just too basic a game, I think.
  • BeerBaron - October 13, 2010 2:45 p.m.

    I bought this game because of this review and so far it's great. The camera gets a bit buggy and Monkey can be a bit skittish to control but the overall game is better than anything I've played in some time.
  • Shrimpandwhitewine - October 27, 2010 8:39 p.m.

    A special thanks to GamesRadar and TalkRadar, I got the game on the praise and review and enjoyed it thoroughly. I really do hope it gets a sequel of sorts, cause it was simply a fantastic experience.
  • pots555 - December 1, 2010 11:24 p.m.

    Fantastic game. I am a proud owner. Let support these games where characters and story are important. Not everyone needs an online FPS.
  • YoungDadOnline - December 4, 2010 2:26 p.m.

    I have to say, I normally go by Game Informer reviews (They rated it a 7). But after playing Enslaved, this game is awesome. I know the gameplay is set so you can't miss a jump and die, but having said that it adds to the story which is great. For a solid 8 hours of game play and a fantastic story based game (ie: Uncharted). This is one of the best action games I've ever played. Easily a 9+.....
  • Darkhawk - June 15, 2011 3:22 p.m.

    Having just beaten it, my thoughts: I also played ICO well after the hype train had run its course, and I absolutely adored it. While I was impressed by the acting in this game - voices and the digital "actors" themselves - the overall story was still not nearly as intriguing or moving as ICO's. Plus [I'll avoid spoilers here] the grand finale plus ending itself have been done to death in too many movies before. Is it better than...? Prince of Persia (2008) A perhaps more apt comparison can be drawn between this and the cel-shaded Prince of Persia offshoot. Both feature enjoyably smooth climbing gameplay, and both have amazing visual environments. I'd give the slight edge to PoP overall for having more varied environments, more freedom in exploration, and (surprisingly) a much better and more original ending than even Enslaved. But yes, Enslaved is an excellent game and well worth the investment of a weekend. The opening level itself is worth the price of admission.

Showing 61-73 of 73 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 05 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Oct 08 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Namco Bandai
Developed by: Ninja Theory
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.