Google+

Duke Nukem Forever review

Decent
Back to Article

109 comments

  • hardcore_gamer1990 - June 14, 2011 4:36 p.m.

    I guess when they play multiplayer, gamers will be "duking it out"? Hurr hurr...
  • shawksta - June 14, 2011 4:31 p.m.

    Andd I thought ign were being biased, damn, im still playing it though, its still good.
  • Tenfey - June 14, 2011 4:03 p.m.

    I didn't see how they could ever make this game live up to it's internet legend/meme state. Just one of those things that should have stayed in the vapor forever.
  • CombatWombat101 - June 14, 2011 4:03 p.m.

    Yeaaaaahh I kinda saw this coming after playing that shit-horrible demo. Seeing wreckage of a downed alien ship which honestly looked like it was textured using resources from a PS1 shooter + a minute later having multiple planks of wood clip right through the middle of a mine cart opened my eyes.
  • Cleanser247 - June 14, 2011 3:49 p.m.

    Great review Mikel! I agree with the score, and your reasoning. Keep up the great work! : )
  • Japanaman - June 14, 2011 3:48 p.m.

    Well, based upon this review, it sounds like it should have been called: Duke Nukem: Time To Bore, Duke Nukem: Land of the Bored, Duke Nukem: Time To Quit Waiting Around for a Good Duke Nukem Sequel, Duke Nukem: Zero Effort, Duke Nukem: Total Meltdown of a Once Good Game Series, etc.
  • Moondoggie1157 - June 14, 2011 2:58 p.m.

    2011 has been the year of disappointment for me... Might as well end it. I'll still give Uncle Duke a chance, he was always there for me.
  • Tokokono - June 14, 2011 2:57 p.m.

    Still getting the game, as I kind of expected this, really. I had a feeling they'd try to focus more on the personality of Duke and less on creating a memorable game. Hopefully my inner twelve-year-old can come out enough while playing to make the humor worth the purchase.
  • Baron164 - June 14, 2011 2:37 p.m.

    I'm not surprised the game has so many issues. I'm still going to get it. I'm just hoping Gearbox does more with the IP in the future. Hopefully they can make something good on their own now that they finished what 3D Realms started.
  • philipshaw - June 14, 2011 2:32 p.m.

    It's as bad as I thought it would be then, good thing I spent my money on Infamous 2 which is awesome
  • Tasty_Pasta - June 14, 2011 2:22 p.m.

    I'm surprised it even got a 6.
  • Burdmayn - June 14, 2011 2:15 p.m.

    I think this is a sign that we should all go buy Bulletstorm! No.. seriously guys. I know quite a few people that dismissed that game entirely but got hyped up about this.
  • Shanetexas - June 14, 2011 1:29 p.m.

    So 14 Years and the only memorable thing about the game is ... Walltits? And no jetpack in the campaign? Is there at least a O.J. Simpson joke? But yeah, Bulletstorm is light years ahead of this sucker.
  • Bladex206 - June 14, 2011 1:26 p.m.

    Oh please stop whining, no one but fools were expecting this game to be any good. As long as it came out, which it did.
  • SpaceOdysseus - June 14, 2011 12:51 p.m.

    hopefully serious sam 3 will turn out better. but hey, i haven't played duke yet, so i might like it.
  • Moist - June 14, 2011 12:24 p.m.

    Blow it out your ass
  • kor2disturbed - June 14, 2011 12:14 p.m.

    Oh and by the way, I agree with LTS, I think I'll really enjoy it for what it is mindless destructive fun, and duke is about as one dimensional as they get, which is perfect.
  • kor2disturbed - June 14, 2011 12:09 p.m.

    Despite this I'm still at least renting it, I mean even though it's gotten average reviews all around, how can I not try it?
  • ChickenFillet5140 - June 14, 2011 12:05 p.m.

    6 isn't a terrible score, sure it's not great but hey at least it's out. I'm definitley picking this up.
  • Zaphers - June 14, 2011 11:48 a.m.

    I've played about 2/3rds of it I think and have found it very very boring and generally terrible. I'd have supported a 4.

Showing 61-80 of 109 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 14 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Jun 10 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: 3D Realms, Gearbox
Franchise: Duke Nukem
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.