Google+

Duke Nukem Forever review

Back to Article

109 comments

  • HankVenture - June 14, 2011 9:26 p.m.

    A 6??? you got some bawls Mr. Wiki, you better get some hate for this, not because I'm mad but just because it's the Duke with a 6 and games like Halo and Mortal Kombat got shit for their higher scores. Of course maybe a 6 type of game is low enough that everyone agrees that it's not great and won't complain about it
  • Crypto140 - June 14, 2011 8:58 p.m.

    Fuck you Gearbox. I hated Borderlands, all you gave us was 1,000,000 guns that were exactly the same with missions that were exactly the same, and now you ruined a game I was willing to spend $100 on, fuck you. I hope you go bankrupt.
  • Larinah - June 14, 2011 8:49 p.m.

    Long load times and buggy textures, sounds to me like every mass effect game/update to date. Do I detect a double standard?
  • jonlias - June 14, 2011 8:44 p.m.

    Just saw the halo armor. LOL. "Power armor is for P@ssies!"
  • jonlias - June 14, 2011 8:42 p.m.

    Far from perfect, but its still fun. Not all games will be halo or mario's. Not all studios/games should be held to such a lofty standard.
  • d0x - June 14, 2011 8:41 p.m.

    Call me crazy but I like it..the pc version anyways. Is it the most advanced game? No. Is it amazingly pretty? No! It is however Duke Nukem, I dont care what anyone says about the way they did the humor. This is Duke for the current era. If the original was made today it would sound like this. So far im enjoying it. Its not a AAA blockbuster but its better than I expected it would be and I hope gearbox is given the chance to make their OWN proper Duke game
  • D0CCON - June 14, 2011 7:25 p.m.

    Based on the review, that 6 seems to be out of pity. I was expecting a 4, maybe a 5.
  • FauxFurry - June 14, 2011 7:13 p.m.

    I'd have gladly waited Forever for Duke Nukem. Nonetheless, it was well worth the wait. Not necessarily for the game itself, but for the reviews of Duke's magnum opus which has been a long time coming. The best possible punchline for the running joke that was DNF is sub-par review scores. Being the Game of the Millennium or being legendarily horrific as to be memorable for the remainder of gaming history would also be somewhat amusing fates for DNF, but nothing quite has the impact of the utter disappointment that comes with a game not even bad enough to be worthy of mockery after waiting for it for around a dozen years. Duke Nukem Forever ought to be worth throwing $20-40 at when it gets even older, having reached perfection somehow post-release (possibly through patching and DLC rather than mere passage of time or 'maturity').
  • fullmetallegend - June 14, 2011 6:47 p.m.

    I think I'm more dissapointed in all the people "buying it anyways" than how bad the game is. I was pretty sure it'd be bad in the first place. Duke is an adolescent character and just because some 15 year old game was fun (when it came out, it does not stand the test of time like other old games, unless you're a nostalgia freak.) doesn't mean the new one will be. Then again, to each their own! =]
  • neuromnemonic - June 14, 2011 6:13 p.m.

    This game (both campaign and multiplayer) is a flaming pile of dogshit along with crysis 2, brink, bulletstorm, homefront and every other piece of crap I've bought in 2011. I haven't seen a PC game come out yet this year that is compelling enough to actually make me want to play it through without it feeling depressingly boring.Black Ops was the last fun game I purchased but only for multiplayer as the single player campaign is sooo bad I went through the first three levels without firing a single shot and haven't tried playing it since.
  • xlyesterdaylx - June 14, 2011 5:59 p.m.

    People were actually expecting this game to be good? We all knew this was going to flop right?
  • jackthemenace - June 14, 2011 5:45 p.m.

    I've never played any of the previous games, would you recommend it to someone who ISN'T expecting it to be amazing? I personally don't have any pre-occupations that the previous one's were any good, so it's not like playing a bad game is going to ruin the franchise for me. DmC, on the other hand...
  • Myko - June 14, 2011 5:32 p.m.

    Duke Nukem just took a big ol' fat DUKE!
  • bigpig47 - June 14, 2011 5:26 p.m.

    From what other things i hear from gamers, they actually say the console ports are pretty bad while the PC version is the best because it was pretty much the main version for it and also the load times on pc are shorter (i think 4 seconds max)
  • GayforGilbert - June 14, 2011 5:22 p.m.

    I'm with Houghton on this.
  • Cat_Mundy - June 14, 2011 5:02 p.m.

    Called this once I saw gameplay. Looks boring, dull and repetitive. Never been a fan of Duke's OTT crude 'humour', so I am 100% out on this one.
  • insertdisk - June 14, 2011 4:52 p.m.

    Ive got it from lovefilm currently and a few hours in im enjoying it. Some of the jokes have made me laugh at rather than with adn the texture problem is an issue on the ps3. Loading times are a bitch and level signposting is a bitch but it at least has much better pacing than something like Black Ops which was awful. That regenerative health is really stupid though.
  • SerpentineZERO - June 14, 2011 4:52 p.m.

    Seriously though, i hope this isn't the end of Duke and maybe now that this is done, they can make a truly good game.
  • Xifihas - June 14, 2011 4:49 p.m.

    Yet another promising game that will soon be relegated to the pre-owned section and soon forgotten. I'd say I'm surprised but that would be a lie. Captcha: Modern siclerti - I didn't even know there was a traditional siclerti.
  • SerpentineZERO - June 14, 2011 4:48 p.m.

    Anti- Game of the Year, anyone?

Showing 41-60 of 109 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 14 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Jun 10 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: 3D Realms, Gearbox
Franchise: Duke Nukem
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.