Google+

Disney Epic Mickey review

Excellent
Back to Article

85 comments

  • fineartstar - June 14, 2011 7:28 p.m.

    Thank you Chris, for giving this game such an honest review. I am absolutely in agreement with you! I think people's frustrations about the game itself may come from their differing game subject preferences, a fact that definitely affects a game's mechanics and story progression structure. As a Disney Nerd myself (I still want to be an animator), I was really gratified about how you can float around this fantasy world and get as involved as your imagination wants to, like the first time you went to Disneyland and took a look around you. I think the first time I went there I was so dissapointed that it wasn't an actual real living, breathing place, I cried! This game goes straight to the heart of this desire and gives you all of that, plus a great cartoon past background that makes you imagine that that world never actually ends. The only thing I would have added was making the 2-D reel in-between worlds shake in the same way that those ones did so often, but I suppose that might have made the difficulty level a little too frustrating. Great review, Kudos for liking a NON-blood and gore game so much, and, might we get a Epic Mickey 2 or 3?
  • BoltActionRevolver - December 26, 2010 3:51 a.m.

    Sorry Chris, that camera is more then a little irritating. Warren can defend it all he likes, but it doesn't change the fact that it isn't just a little clunky, its broken. Minor mechanics should of been fixed. For example, I'm on one of the planes in the Grimlin Village in Its A Small World. I'm just standing, and slightly amused that mickey stays still as the ride rotates, when I slip off the plane, due to lack of Mickey rotating, and when I try to climb up, I fall off because the camera wouldn't move behind me. I shouldn't have to fight the camera, its slow movement, and the puzzles at the same time. Love the 2D Platforming, hate the camera in the 3D enough to make me quite in frustration. I really love the concept, but this bun needed some more time in the oven. (And I don't care how much you like performers, using a Rare game as an example doesn't work. Their cameras where just as bad.)
  • superdude22 - December 5, 2010 8:42 p.m.

    Dear Mr. Antista, I am also an animation nerd and Disney fanboy who also loves 3D platformers, and I can honestly say, this game is a godsend. Sincerely, Superdude22.
  • theworldendswithpoo - December 5, 2010 1:04 a.m.

    This is the most positive (and I have to say the best) review of Epic Mickey I have read. I think you were a little forgiving with the camera and platforming. I'm sorry, but Epic Mickey is NOT the best platformer of the year. SMG 2 is the best platformer of the year, and perhaps the best 3-D platformer ever made. Epic Mickey's controls simply aren't tight enough. That said, this game is truly one of the best wii games of the year. Great review.
  • BoondockSaint54 - December 2, 2010 1:27 a.m.

    Thanks, Chris. I've had a Wii for about a year now and this is the first game I'm buying for it. It won't just be a $200 Netflix machine anymore!
  • BleedingHatMcGillicutty - November 30, 2010 7:46 p.m.

    I just picked this up today and I completely agree, Chris. It's incredible... except for the camera.
  • StickyLungs - November 30, 2010 4:34 p.m.

    Nice review, Chris. I'll be picking this up for myself and my little brother. Thank you, sir.
  • Aforextreme - November 30, 2010 12:02 a.m.

    Amazing review, Chris. Just the fact that you said it captured your heart like Banjo Kazooie first did confirms that I'm getting this Day 1 (not that I wasn't going to, but yeah.)
  • SCRubS77 - November 29, 2010 3:35 a.m.

    At first I thought I wouldn't care. Chris, you have made me anticipate this game more than any other this year!
  • PushesPaperInACircle - November 28, 2010 11:08 p.m.

    Am I the first person to say that its better than Halo:Reach?
  • initialreaction - November 28, 2010 8:09 p.m.

    Excellent Review. I pre-ordered this game based on your preview coverage and I can't wait to play it!
  • monsterhunter3rox - November 28, 2010 5:56 p.m.

    Seriously,why do you guys hate kh2?
  • JPorFavor - November 28, 2010 5:01 p.m.

    Alright, give it to me straight Chris, how many racists Disney cartoons did Warren Specter bribe you with?
  • Zeb364 - November 28, 2010 12:34 p.m.

    This is the first Wii game ever that I actually wish was on 360 so I could play it. Maybe I will rent a Wii and this game over x-mas so I can play it.
  • Snoochie - November 28, 2010 1:50 a.m.

    I'm going to be buying a Wii just to play this game. This looks absolutely fantastic.
  • Spybreak8 - November 28, 2010 1:10 a.m.

    I was excited when I initially heard about this and then got a little disappointed when it would be on the Wii. It's good to hear that Warren Specter wasn't just used as a name on this one!
  • SausageLozenge - November 27, 2010 10:30 p.m.

    Is it coming to 360/PS3?
  • Crimmy - November 27, 2010 7:51 a.m.

    Sorry, but... BANJO-KAZOOIE MEGA NERD ACTIVATE Cheato Pages were in Tooie. But if Tooie counts, THERE ARE GLOWBOS IN EPIC MICKEY!?
  • CH3BURASHKA - November 27, 2010 6:25 a.m.

    I expect to thoroughly enjoy the dramatic reading of some of the comments (set to the Inception theme), because that's exactly what they deserve. It's an opinion, guys, don't bust a bad nut in church over it.
  • FinderKeeper - November 27, 2010 3:13 a.m.

    fanboy review is fanboy. ;-)

Showing 1-20 of 85 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 30 2010 - Wii (US)
Nov 26 2010 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Disney Interactive Studios
Developed by: Junction Point
ESRB Rating:
Everyone
PEGI Rating:
3+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.