Google+

Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Full Access Preview

Chris and myself sat down with Antoine Thisdale, game designer for Eidos Montreal’s upcoming Deus Ex: Human Revolution and took a look at the game in action. If you’ve somehow missed all the buzz surrounding the game, DX:HR is a prequel to 2000’s PC classic, Deus Ex. You are Adam Jensen, a security agent for human cybernetics company Sarif Industries. After a violent break in leaves Jensen on the verge of death, he’s brought back heavily augmented and looking for answers.

 

This portion of the game takes place in an underground FEMA facility, and as you can see, we’ve taken the aggressive route. Make a note of all the hidden ducts though, as they’ll make stealthing your way through the level a lot easier. While going in guns blazing may appeal to some gamers, the in-depth stealth augments and cover system allow for a more subtle brand of play if that’s your thing. You can also opt to kill or spare your enemies by using non-lethal weapons, notice the non-lethal takedown in the video.

The boss fight with Lawrence Barrett is one of the few situations in the game where combat is the only option. Fortunately, there are options for how you take him down; EMP weapons do damage and leave him stunned as they temporarily shut down his augments, and the explosive items scattered around the area can help a lightly armed player come out on top. Also note that his name is Barrett and he has a chaingun for an arm. And the game is published by Square Enix. Think about it. I just blew your mind.

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is scheduled for release on Xbox 360, Playstation 3 and PC on August 23rd in North America and August 26th in Europe.

Aug 12, 2011

We Recommend By ZergNet

19 comments

  • BleedingHatMcGillicutty - August 15, 2011 7:52 p.m.

    @ RicePudding You mad? But seriously, if that pisses you off for some reason then why do you keep watching them? They're just being funny. Listen to the podcast. Being funny is one of their strengths.
  • tareq - August 13, 2011 9:58 p.m.

    @DACLUNEMASSIVE Ah that's what I thought ,it sounded familiar I think they might have mentioned him on TDar before
  • DACLUNEMASSIVE - August 13, 2011 8:35 p.m.

    @tareq he's talking about a guy called barret in final fantasy seven who has a chaingun for an arm. And final fantasy is made by sqaure enix.
  • LordZarlon - August 13, 2011 2:26 p.m.

    I'm definately playing this on the PC. The aiming on the 360 version in the FAP looks terrible. Shots that any experienced FPS player should have easily made were constantly missed by the guy that was playing. Looks cool though.
  • philipshaw - August 13, 2011 11:05 a.m.

    Great FAP, can't wait for this game
  • Zeb364 - August 13, 2011 7:18 a.m.

    That settles it, I'm definately playing this. I'm gonna rent it when I get back from PAX. It can fill the first two weeks of September before Gears 3 hits. And I agree, I like the FAP's better without the developers. It's not that their bad with them, it's just that they lose some of their personality. It starts to become like something you would see on every other website on the net instead of being unique to Gamesradar.
  • Darkhawk - August 13, 2011 4:41 a.m.

    EDIT: Eidos, not Ubisoft. I heard that Quebecois accent and just assumed it was Ubi.
  • Darkhawk - August 13, 2011 4:40 a.m.

    Too bad Ubisoft Rep was in full PR mode. I like it better when the Dev gets into the FAP mood and is more open about the game (incl. perhaps its less "perfect" aspects). Here, we just get, "Oh yeah our health bar is different. And the Augmented Reality Quick-Select is so innovative." Blah blah.
  • Yeager1122 - August 13, 2011 4:21 a.m.

    The boss fight looked alright but the rest of the game sounds like it will ne amazing.
  • foxyexplosion - August 13, 2011 12:33 a.m.

    This looks really cool. Im pretty excited for it though whoever was playing took an odd, very fps-y approach. Good FAP though.
  • R_U_Guys_From_British - August 13, 2011 12:31 a.m.

    I played the leaked beta build of the game (on lowest settings and resolution!) and I absolutely loved it, its a great modernised take on a deus ex game. The only complaint I had was when blind-throwing grenades at an angle, the grenade would sometimes bounce of the cover like it happened in the FAP. Oh and the forced boss fights suck a little too.
  • Gameguy94 - August 12, 2011 11:45 p.m.

    I WAS excited for this game, but the constant switches to 3rd person really aggravate me. Good FAP, but I must agree its more fun without the devs. I've had some pretty good laughs from you guys just messing around in a game.
  • ObliqueZombie - August 12, 2011 11:26 p.m.

    I'm now VERY intrigued with this game. I mean, I HATE boss fights that keep advancing towards you with no stopping, but hey, those are the most rewarding and relieving when you're done. Since this is a prequel, luckily I won't have to delve into the first one! Now I just need some money...
  • lovinmyps3 - August 12, 2011 11:24 p.m.

    So excited for this game!
  • 4fromK - August 12, 2011 11:17 p.m.

    Seeing "press X to whatever" in Deus Ex still makes my Butt clench with its wrong-ness
  • RicePuddingUK - August 12, 2011 11:07 p.m.

    God! Why do these guys try and be funny or play dumb!? They do it in every video, Human Evolution? Is it Evolution? You're reviewing the f-ing game! Didn't you do your research?
  • tareq - August 12, 2011 11:04 p.m.

    "Also note that his name is Barrett and he has a chaingun for an arm. And the game is published by Square Enix. Think about it. I just blew your mind.' I don't get it
  • Errrrbo - August 12, 2011 11:03 p.m.

    I prefer FAPs without one of the game's developers. I feel it gives the hosts more freedom. Not to sound ungrateful for the awesome gift GamesRadar provides, that's just my humble opinion.
  • iluvpkmnmonday - August 12, 2011 10:44 p.m.

    I love the FAPs but the ones where you have creators of the game with you are always the most boring.

Showing 1-19 of 19 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.