Google+

Dark Souls review

Excellent
Back to Article

70 comments

  • Redeater - October 3, 2011 6:03 p.m.

    This game might be to hard for me!!
  • Redeater - October 3, 2011 6:07 p.m.

    Then again I did love the original NES Ninja Gaiden so I might give it a shot. Games are pretty easy in these days 3D enviroments.
  • LuketheJuke24 - October 3, 2011 6:10 p.m.

    YES!!! I want to play so bad but I'm at college without my ps3. I have to wait till thanksgiving break :(
  • Alzetek1 - October 3, 2011 6:12 p.m.

    I played through Demons Souls not knowing there was a targeting system!
  • Vorizmordu - October 3, 2011 6:13 p.m.

    Greatness Ensues.
  • metalmademedeaf - October 3, 2011 6:26 p.m.

    Wait wait wait..... Judging from the first "Yes or no" picture, this game contains Lovecraftian lore? If so, I must buy it!
  • JuliePeesgood - October 3, 2011 6:29 p.m.

    Gulp. I am nervously/impatiently/anxiously/excitedly awaiting tomorrow when I get to play this bad boy. I usually refrain from doing this, but this is too good not to share... reCaptcha: Governor's teenie
  • TheRandomFool - October 3, 2011 6:35 p.m.

    MY LIFE! IT IS MODERATELY MORE COMPLETE! ... wait I haven't played it yet. Then again, that life probably won't last more than a few seconds anyway.
  • TheGodEmperor - October 3, 2011 6:37 p.m.

    http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g140/MeepChick/Memes/challenge-accepted-1.png That's all I have to say. Actually, no. I'm gonna play hardcore mode. 0 deaths (unless unavoidable much as vanguard in Demon's Souls) and no leveling. Level 1 through and through. THAT'S RIGHT, BITCHES!
  • nooyen - October 9, 2011 10:23 p.m.

    Vanguard can be killed.
  • larkan - October 3, 2011 6:45 p.m.

    I'm surprised any mention of the online aspect of the game was left out, as it was a big part of Demon's Souls, and is supposed to be just as big in this game.
  • GamesRadarMichaelGrimm - October 3, 2011 7:43 p.m.

    Good call, kind of slipped my mind while writing this. Added a section for it.
  • liadz - October 3, 2011 7:16 p.m.

    So glad this is coming to pc too =)
  • CrashmanX - October 3, 2011 7:29 p.m.

    Uh bro. Where did you hear that? As far as I know, Dark Souls is staying as a console exclusive. Just like From Software's other works.
  • liadz - October 5, 2011 1:05 a.m.

    Yeah, I thought I've read something about a pc version but I was wrong =/ Sad thing.
  • IceBlueKirby - October 3, 2011 7:16 p.m.

    Demon's Souls was a rare case of a difficult game NOT being frustrating, and although I never could force myself to play through the whole thing, I certainly tried until I just couldn't try anymore. With that in mind, I'll definitely try Dark Souls, but I'm not going to pay full price for it because I may never finish it either.
  • EBAX1 - October 3, 2011 7:47 p.m.

    Sir, you need to go back and finish demons souls. Its too great of a game to leave unbeaten (I played through four times and platinumed :P)
  • TheZigMan - October 3, 2011 7:30 p.m.

    I think theres a right amount of difficulty to put in a game, and it sounds like they over did it. I am enjoying the Witcher 2, mainly because it is quite difficult, yet after time is able to master. In my first fight in Witcher 2, I got pwned, but after time I figured out the combat, and I still got pwned, but it wasn't frustrating, it was exciting to try and find a new way to beat that boss, or group of enemies. I defenitely think tou could have compared this to the Witcher 2
  • TheVoid - October 3, 2011 11:31 p.m.

    "Witcher 2, I've played Demon's Souls. I've beat Demon's Souls. Demon's Souls was an incredibly difficult game to master. Witcher 2, you are no Demon's Souls." Sorry ZigMan, but Witcher 2, while challenging, isn't anywhere near being in the same ballpark as Demon's Souls from a difficulty perspective (let alone Dark Souls, apparently). Although your "after time I figured out the combat...it was exciting to try and find a new way to beat that boss" is indication that you might have the right stuff for Demon's Souls and Dark Souls, so I would suggest you give it a try. You certainly seem to have the necessary attitude, bearing in mind that "it sounds like they over did it" is just a matter of opinion. I would say that for once, a (modern) game got it just right.
  • TheZigMan - October 3, 2011 11:36 p.m.

    Perhaps I will have to try this game out, (on the PC) but you can't say that the Witcher 2, on its most highest difficulty setting is the most difficult game you've ever played! Cmon, once ur dead, ur dead for good! Not to say Ive even lasted 15 minutes there,but i have beat like a quarter of the game on a difficulty level one lower

Showing 1-20 of 70 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 04 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Namco Bandai
Developed by: From Software
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Partial Nudity, Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.