Google+

Dark Souls review

Excellent
Back to Article

70 comments

  • Valntyne - October 8, 2011 1:17 a.m.

    Holy sheit this game is focking fantastic!
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - October 6, 2011 3:33 p.m.

    Here's the great thing about Dark Souls, and what makes the Souls series unique: The other day while playing I walked through a doorway, looked down the street, and saw in the distance what appeared to be a giant boar with metal skin. I stopped and said, "Oh, crap, no way I'm going down there," and I explored other areas. No other modern game will do that to you. In any other game, if I saw that I'd march in there without any fear. Intimidation is a paradoxically amazing experience in videogames. Later on, I got up the courage and went after that boar. It killed me super fast. But the second time I came back and killed it, and felt AWESOME.
  • Yaro - October 7, 2011 7:15 p.m.

    Exactly this. Undead Burg. Tall knight in plate armor and huge helmet with his back towards me. Beyond him a shining loot. I stare at his back for MINUTES before deciding i can do this. I coated the weapon with lightning and go for it. He kills me after a long struggle. I go back and nail him and get the item. Having great time. I believe 9 is the right score.
  • insidiousFox - October 5, 2011 11:06 a.m.

    Are there any notable differences between the 360 and PS3 versions?
  • Imgema - October 4, 2011 11:56 p.m.

    Wait, what? A game that has non of the cliches of casual, linear modern videogames? A non-linear world to explore without hand holding? A game for GAMERS and not some teens/adults who just want to be hip because games are trendy nowdays? Sign me up.
  • W1LDxSH0T - October 4, 2011 4:48 p.m.

    i want this game so bad!!! i need a good challenge from a game
  • Thequestion 121 - October 4, 2011 12:44 p.m.

    I might just get this game now
  • Yeager1122 - October 4, 2011 10:48 a.m.

    The only way i can gt this is when i hve nothing else to play aa 65 hour caimpaign needs time.
  • KolbitosFruitJuice - October 4, 2011 8:20 a.m.

    I wish I had the time or money to play this.
  • jackthemenace - October 4, 2011 8:39 a.m.

    I DO, but I decided to instead invest in RAGE. Slightly regretting it now, but it means I can save this for after christmas, when all the glaring bugs have been patched and I'm on a 2-week holiday with which to fill my time. Essentially, when i've finished every possible quest in Skyrim.
  • Yaro - October 7, 2011 7:19 p.m.

    Glaring bugs in Dark Souls? I might understand waiting after xmas to buy Skyrim...TES games tend to be buggy as all hell on release...
  • taterboob - October 4, 2011 8:01 a.m.

    I'm going to pass on this one. I get frustrated way too easy, and I don't play videogames to get mad.
  • JollyCrisp - October 4, 2011 6:16 a.m.

    Ha. This game is not worthy of a 9. Waste of time and money.
  • BladedFalcon - October 4, 2011 7:46 a.m.

    Obvious troll is Obvious. Anyway, I'm really happy a game like this still exists. I loved Demon's Souls, And I know I'm gonna love this one. Hard and challenging games like this should be more common, because as several of the comments here prove, way too many gamers nowadays are coddled, self entitled wussies that want everything handed to them easily. They are almost like robots in the sense they don't even want to be challenged, and that's sad, really sad. So thumbs up for every young gamer that decides to man up and give this a try. It won't be easy, but it's not a lie when they say it's very rewarding!
  • db1331 - October 4, 2011 5:31 a.m.

    "In a way, that’s really who Dark Souls is for – the gamer that remembers fondly how this hobby used to be, before games were multi-million dollar investments expected to sell to every male aged 18-35 on the planet. It takes you back to the era when games were made to challenge, and beating them was all the reward you needed, Achievement or Trophy be damned." GRIMM, how do you stare into the windows of my soul like that? Also, I instantly said YES to all 4 of those pictures. I can't wait to pick this up tonight.
  • fadedlinevigil - October 4, 2011 11:12 a.m.

    Knees getting a bit sore there, buddy?
  • db1331 - October 4, 2011 11:50 a.m.

    Nope. Is it in yet?
  • CaptCOMMANDO - October 4, 2011 2:09 a.m.

    Grimm you have just pushed me over the edge I was looking over to buy this game! great review.
  • GamesRadarMichaelGrimm - October 4, 2011 10:52 a.m.

    Thanks for the kind words guys. Now on to posting the boss guide.
  • el.waxa - October 4, 2011 1:47 a.m.

    Great review Grimm, this looks great to be honest I'm torn between this and Skyrim. I'm leaning more towards this because of the difficulty and the amazing art style. I only have enough time for one new game as I've still to complete Deus Ex and Dead island. The joys of a full-time job :-(

Showing 1-20 of 70 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 04 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Namco Bandai
Developed by: From Software
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Partial Nudity, Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.