Google+

Dark Souls 2 review

Back to Article

51 comments

  • universaltofu - March 11, 2014 12:56 a.m.

    Just got home from the midnight launch, got the black armor edition, and while waiting for the launch I got to play a bit of it since my friend had an advanced copy, messed around with the dual swordsman a bit, ready to die!
  • BladedFalcon - March 10, 2014 10:55 p.m.

    I had already pre-ordered the game on PSN so I knew I was gonna get it no matter what, but it's super reassuring to see that despite my initial concern with the change of directors, the game seems to be a good sequel in all the right ways. This is specially refreshing considering the bitter gulp to swallow that was LoS2's incredibly poor reception. Also, is it bad that the first thing that came into my mind when I read Ryan's number of deaths in the game was "Hmm, bet I can finish the game with less deaths than that"? XD It'll be interesting to see if I can pull it off, or if I'm just full of shit :P
  • GOD - March 11, 2014 12:30 a.m.

    I figure that for the sake of his review he probably suffered a number of deaths higher than normal. The servers weren't online so he could get any help, but he also couldn't get invaded. I'm sure we'll have similar reactions when someone invades us and they're rolling at us with ridiculous speed and wielding that over sized club from the review video.
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - March 11, 2014 12:45 a.m.

    That club rules. Loved using that thing.
  • BladedFalcon - March 11, 2014 1:23 a.m.

    Um.. I plan to play the game offline all the time anyway, just like I played the other two souls games. So in that sense, I'm actually playing it the same way Ryan did :P Maybe once I finish the game at least once I might screw around with the online a little bit, but not before. And meh, that club didn't look any more impressive or useful than Havel's dragon tooth. (Never been a fan of slow, unwieldy weapons, no matter how powerful.)
  • Rhymenocerous - March 11, 2014 2:20 a.m.

    My character could never even use those things, since my stats were too low. That battle axe was my best friend from about 12 hours into Dark Souls, and I kept it right through to the end. 2-handed attacks ftw.
  • GenderBender_9000 - March 10, 2014 10:51 p.m.

    Umbasa
  • Swedish_Chef - March 10, 2014 10:12 p.m.

    420 Praise it.
  • R_U_Guys_From_British - March 10, 2014 9:43 p.m.

    Praise the sun! I can't wait for this friday!
  • GOD - March 10, 2014 9:23 p.m.

    Waking up tomorrow to get my preordered copy, even though I'll only have time to play an hour before work.... The world structure sounds to be like a fusion of Demons' Souls and Dark Souls and since I have only played Demons' will allowed travelling to any Archstone this will be nothing but an improvement to what I've experienced. This is probably the most hyped I've been for a game in a while....
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - March 10, 2014 9:25 p.m.

    Well worth it :)
  • GOD - March 11, 2014 12:38 a.m.

    I swear to ME if you invade me I'm gonna be so pissed off... and probably try to bait you off a ledge.....
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - March 11, 2014 9:20 a.m.

    ya right nerd
  • Bladdercat - March 10, 2014 9:36 a.m.

    So ready to play this!
  • universaltofu - January 29, 2014 4:24 p.m.

    Ready to play this, the improved messaging and more dynamic enemies sound great, should make exploring all the new places even better.
  • DarknessFisT - April 12, 2013 1:58 p.m.

    As long as they don't mess up the difficulty or anything that made the sequels what they are, and make a much better game, I'll definitely buy this.
  • Sy87 - April 12, 2013 11:10 a.m.

    Oh death never looked so good.
  • SDHoneymonster - April 12, 2013 9:37 a.m.

    Really enjoyed some of the stuff I saw in the demo - being able to deflect thrown weapons for example - and love the fact the gameplay looks intact; the gameplay itself is verging on perfect, just needs some tweaking. Technically is where I want to see improvements - no more clipping through walls with weapons for example. Nothing sucks more than being smacked by a Silver Knight through a thick brick wall. In the main though, loving what I'm seeing - I loved how the directors were talking about creating stress and fear on the IGN interview - for me, that's what it's all about. Dark Souls is more survival horror than most survival horror games nowadays - it bloomin' scares me silly :P
  • ThundaGawd - April 11, 2013 6:39 p.m.

    Looks awesome so far, I can happily say most of my concerns have been remedied. Especially psyched to see that they seem to have added cloth physics into this one. some of the armor just seemed so goofy with their massive sleeves and capes that never moved when you ran around and shit.
  • g1rldraco7 - April 11, 2013 5:14 p.m.

    Hmm I hate the difficulty and yet I already pre-ordered this game.

Showing 21-40 of 51 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Apr 02 2015 - PS4, Xbox One
Mar 11 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3
Apr 25 2014 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Namco Bandai
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood and Gore, Partial Nudity, Violence, Mild Language