Google+

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 review

Back to Article

180 comments

  • Security77 - November 8, 2011 2:54 p.m.

    It blows my mind that this game is able to receive these amazing review scores after not doing ANYTHING. Usually "more of the same" is a criticism, yet when Modern Warfare is involved, "more of the same" magically becomes praise. Is it because the COD formula is so good it can last this long? Well then if it is, why don't people still play COD4? It's the same, right? We live in the world where developers can put everything on the line by investing in new and amazing technology, and not one reviewer bats and eyelash, but yet another developer releases a game that has virtually remained the same for four years, and everyone thinks it's incredible. This game is worth $60 you say, yet some expansions offer more content for just $15. "...can you honestly remember or distinguish every level from the last Halo...?" YES! Any self-respecting Halo fan can perform a mental walkthrough of any Halo level! You're saying that moving from one hallway to the other, shooting bland enemies, is better than what Halo has to offer? I would LOVE to hear what David Houghton has to say about MW3. Also I would love to hear someone read this dramatically on Talk Radar, set to the Inception theme, of course.
  • spideralex90 - November 8, 2011 4:51 p.m.

    When I saw that thing about remembering Halo levels, I about crapped myself. Halo has such diverse levels, and rather memorable campaigns.
  • spideralex90 - November 8, 2011 8:12 p.m.

    Not sure how this comment got here.
  • lemur - November 8, 2011 2:34 p.m.

    from what I've played I give the game a 6. why does gamesradar continue to compare any survial mode to hoard? I understand that gears of war had the idea but may games are using it so I think they should stop saying that every survival mode is like hoard.
  • Pwnz0r3d - November 8, 2011 2:34 p.m.

    The hype generated around today for this game is oddly small. I haven't seen anything at all on this game since the XP event. And that didn't even give out much info from what i saw. Hell this game was so quiet, I didn't even know today was the launch date. Not that I even care anyway, it just sounds more of the same. Taking the best from the whole series and putting them in the game with new maps but the same reskinned guns doesn't sound very inspired to me. There is a miniscule chance that i'll pick this up (i wasn't even going to get MW2 until i saw it on sale for $30 at Target the week it came out. Come on, Activision wouldn't let that game go below $40 for another 20 years like they did with COD4, that price was an absolute steal.), and even if i do, only when its on sale, i might play it for a few months then sell it like i did with Blops. But in short; you can't say "staying the same is a good thing" if the game uses the same graphics engine from a game 3 years old. Come on, if you're gonna try to make some "improvements" to a game, you might as well revamp the graphics engine. I'm not looking for something RADICAL, I'm looking for something new and fresh. There are so many CoD clones out there, even this game is a CoD clone. Kind of like Led Zeppelin. Those guys revolutionized rock, and won the respect and admiration of millions. Now they're just a cover band of themselves.
  • needles - November 8, 2011 2:28 p.m.

    What's skyrim?
  • ghosty568 - November 8, 2011 1:47 p.m.

    Markedly better than Halo: Reach.
  • UberNoob - November 8, 2011 12:36 p.m.

    Enough with all the over-rated, over-hyped warfare shooters. Bring on Skyrim!
  • crazyqazqaz - November 8, 2011 12:19 p.m.

    why cant people just enjoy all the top games and have fun on them despite their flaws? i love cod, battlefield and halo multiplayer because they all offer such varied and different experiences. Stop moaning and just play the game.
  • D0CCON - November 8, 2011 1:58 p.m.

    Some people don't have that money and others honestly, truly don't find every big release fun. I honestly find playing COD to be tedious. That's why I'm ignoring it.
  • JasonStatham - November 8, 2011 11:36 a.m.

    After playing a few hours of my flatmates copy, I'm glad i didnt pick this up straight away like I have done with COD in the past. As always, the core mechanics are solid, but based on my (admittedly short) time playing, I really cant see how this game deserves a 9 with so many other great games being released that are actually trying to innovate at least a little. Each MW sequel seems to have become more Michael Bay-ish and it hurts the narrative that was done nicely in MW1 imo.
  • Lionzest7 - November 8, 2011 10:54 a.m.

    This piece of outdated junk got a 9? lol Shows how disconnected the reviewers are from the widely divided opinions of this game. There are plenty of people who hate it and plenty who like it. Pretty sure haters are equal to those who love it. Environment doesn't react to anything when it is shot or blown up. Percs and killstreaks are the same with different names. The game is just more of the same, a few tweaks but same crap. Guns still lack most of the recoil and reticle bloom that other games have, don't feel realistic. A game that is perfect for casuals I guess. I'm surprised its forbidden for CoD to get below 90% even though it hasn't evolved over the past 6 years. This game gets a lot of leeway on reviews and other games get tons of flak. (Insert Rainbow 6 Vegas 2 here).
  • Elc - November 8, 2011 10:44 a.m.

    i dont understand how reviewers gave this game a 90+ score. The multiplayer carries everything over from mw2 with the exception of some new content. The new maps they added are literally the worst cod maps i have ever seen. They all feel small and designed for alot of "hallway" shooting. It seems to me they just made a bunch of grid maps. Nothing like the innovative maps from the first 2 mw that were different from each other and had different layout from the tight indoor maps to the open outdoor maps. Also because the maps are so poorly design there ends up being alot of spawn killing and you will eventually die alot for alot of unlucky reasons. The campaign is cut and paste and way too scripted. Its decent though if you buy the game might be the only thing thats kind of worth it. Plz dont defend this game its literally a 6-7 at best and what seems to me is a cashcow to rake in 13 yr olds parents money...
  • Moondoggie1157 - November 8, 2011 3:13 p.m.

    Truth.
  • Cleanser247 - November 8, 2011 9:56 a.m.

    I would try it out, and maybe I will later on, but not now. I'm due to be in Skyrim on friday, and I have a feeling I'll be saving Tamriel again!
  • Boomaga - November 8, 2011 9:50 a.m.

    Way to drop the ball on the "Is it Better Than...?" by dodging the question that everyone wants to know. Is it better than Battlefield 3?
  • SerpentineZERO - November 8, 2011 6:28 p.m.

    Do people really care? People want to compare BF3 to COD because they hate COD and its success, yet the two games really aren't that similar. If you like your shooters fast and arcadey, play COD. At this point, you know what you're getting into. If you like your shooters slower, more tactical and team-based, play BF3. F*cking problem solved.
  • GAYMER - November 8, 2011 9:42 a.m.

    But.... Is it better than Battlefield 3???
  • TwinHallow - November 8, 2011 9:24 a.m.

    Pfft no need for this at the moment skyrims on its way
  • Zeipher - November 8, 2011 9:14 a.m.

    This review spoke to COD fans like me, so I definitely appreciate its points. I think most fans were looking for a continuation rather than revolution in gamestyle, and if they delivered that, I'm sure I'll put days into the multiplayer again and beat it on Veteran.
  • needles - November 8, 2011 9:10 a.m.

    Did anyone else think the campaign of modern warfare 2 and black ops sucked goat balls? I didn't even finish the the campaigns. They were totally on rails and scripted.
  • profile0000 - November 8, 2011 8:55 a.m.

    Good review, Charlie. Despite the praise, I think this will be the first CoD that I won't pick up within a month of release. Skyrim comes out on Friday, and I know which one I am going to love more.

Showing 81-100 of 180 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, Wii, PC, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Strong Language