Google+

Call of Duty: Ghosts review

Back to Article

56 comments

  • freeden - November 5, 2013 10:49 a.m.

    So, basically, if you're not into the MP, then CoD is pointless to get once again. Gotcha. Yeah, I'll be passing up this iteration too. More generic military MP shooter for the masses.
  • udUbdaWgz - November 5, 2013 11:22 a.m.

    i'm 100% with you. the elimination of LONG campaign single player military shooters is borderline insane. another brainless game i'll never buy.
  • BaraChat - November 5, 2013 10:25 a.m.

    Last Call of Duty I bought was MW3, which was good, but hardly worth more than 10-15 hours (5 for the campaign - and I'm not that good at FPSs - and 5-10 for the multiplayer, which wasn't as good as I remembered). I did try BlOps II at a friend's since I was willing to give the game a fair try before judging. I didn't enjoy it. The gameplay was clunky and didn't feel right, and I'm not saying that because I was bad, I was actually above average for the few matches I played. I don't think I'll try this one if the "strengths" pointed out by GR don't suit me at all. Perhaps I'll get another shot at a friend's, but I'm not wiling to spend a single dollar on a game I seemingly played 3-4 times.
  • shawksta - November 5, 2013 8:17 a.m.

    Neat, my brother is crazy for this game, especially with that new class of Marksman Rifles, not Midnight Launch crazy, with this freezing cold. Getting it later today.
  • bread_or_decide - November 5, 2013 8:14 a.m.

    Single-player missions are a snoozefest? New mode sucks? All those negatives and yet...FOUR STARS!!! How does that make any sense?
  • N7Spartan95 - November 5, 2013 10:42 a.m.

    They didn't say the game is bad. In fact, you'll see that according to them, the multiplayer is as polished and addicting as it always was, which is the reason people buy CoD in the first place. The real problem is that the game is virtually identical in several aspects to previous games, and thus feels old. The basic formula, however, is still solid. No, I am not a CoD fanboy. I have no interest in CoD. I'm just saying that while the CoD formula has been done to death and oversaturation has caused it to become stale, the review says that Ghosts is similar in quality to previous games. Just too similar, which is the problem.
  • Evernight57 - November 5, 2013 2:07 p.m.

    I'm with this guy
  • Doctalen - November 5, 2013 7:11 a.m.

    Well at least they let you change your gender. That's the only thing that slightly appealed to me. Also I'm disappointed they didn't take a space level and put it in multiplayer. At least then they could toot their own horn with space explosions.
  • RonnyLive19881 - November 5, 2013 5:32 a.m.

    Wtf? No mention on how the Wii U version handels again? Yall must write these weeks ahead of time and put it on a timer to be published at the time right after the embargo lifts and never think twice...
  • MeanwhileGuy - November 5, 2013 5:02 a.m.

    *sits back, awaits fanboy sh*tstorm* Personally, I will have no interest in the series until they stop annualizing it, stop using the same lazy gameplay tropes in every single game, and make an engine that isn't completely awful to look at.
  • Talvari - November 5, 2013 3:29 a.m.

    Well, just another CoD game it seems :P Shame they didn't seem to do more with the alien thing than make it a horde mode type thing.
  • Brett35 - November 5, 2013 1:20 a.m.

    After playing it a couple hours story and online I have found it thus far to be the most entertaining COD since MW2. I love the hardcore search and rescue game mode and the guns at least to me feel much improved over previous games. Ive enjoyed the online maps more than any other maps in the series. The ability to slide or lean are not innovation but sliding under someone spray of bullets while shooting them for the final killcam is quite rewarding. I haven't been able to really enjoy a fps since modern warfare 2 just because it set the bar for everything so high and I've constantly been comparing games to it, its nice to finally in my eyes have a game that I feel surpasses that bar.
  • Swedish_Chef - November 5, 2013 12:24 a.m.

    I have no interest in this game but at the very least I'll commend them for pricing it reasonably here, it only costs $50 at launch on PC which is around half of what most games cost here in Australia. Also the use of the GIF in this review was awesome, I hope you guys use that more often in future reviews.
  • Shigeruken - November 5, 2013 1:07 a.m.

    It's 89.99 USD on steam here in NZ, which is almost double what most other PC games launch at. Weird.
  • Swedish_Chef - November 5, 2013 3:30 a.m.

    Huh that's wierd I was looking at the steam price earlier and it said $50 but now all of a sudden it's bumped up to $89.99 here as well. I call shenanigans. D:<
  • Shigeruken - November 7, 2013 3:50 a.m.

    Oof, that sucks. They make progress every year though. Remember when it cost 100 USD? Then it was 99.95 last year. Now it's 89.99. If only they would follow the same pricing scheme as other activision releases like fall of cybertron and Deadpool.

Showing 41-56 of 56 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 05 2013 - PS4, Xbox One, PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox One, PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Infinity Ward
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.