Google+

Battlefield Bad Company 2 review

AT A GLANCE
  • Accessible and challenging multiplayer
  • Blowing up buildings
  • Great multiplayer class system
  • Patchy single-player campaign mode
  • The story ain't great
  • Team-mates are mostly useless

Appropriately enough Bad Company 2 begins by kicking the doors in and unloading a shotgun blast of thrills in your face. Following a brief, straightforward prologue you’re pitched into the snowy wastes of Alaska (not to mention 24-style intrigue) as the Bad Company boys stumble across a Russian plot involving a terrifying experimental weapon. Given that almost every gun you can pick up here doubles as a grenade launcher, that’s quite a threat.

 

Far from unbalancing the combat, the grenade launchers add an extra layer of strategy. For instance, if enemies are taking pot shots from behind cover you can literally blow that cover away. If you know a sniper is lurking on the upper floors of a building just take out the wall - or better yet the entire building. It’s an immensely confident opening and one made all the more exciting because the very same destructive tactics work equally well when used against you.


The result is a singleplayer campaign that at its best really challenges you to use your intellect as well as your trigger finger. It’s a system that works best in urban environments - later forays into South America quickly descend into the linear and restrictive territory of less inventive shooters. It also becomes clear that despite being part of a team you’re the only member of the squad using his brain. Your teammates are efficient but by-the-book, and often you’ll have to tow the line in order to trigger events and coax baddies to appear.

 

In short: Bad Company 2’s singleplayer mode struggles to maintain a balance between scripted events and a sense of freedom. The result is an inconsistent campaign that mixes moments of brilliance with long stretches of the merely competent.

More Info

Release date: Dec 16 2010 - iPhone, iPad
Mar 02 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Dec 16 2010 - iPhone, iPad
Mar 05 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: iPhone, iPad, Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: DICE
Franchise: Battlefield
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Strong Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

24 comments

  • hazabi - March 2, 2010 5:55 p.m.

    sure gonna buy this game
  • fanboyhunter - March 2, 2010 7:45 p.m.

    Thank god there's a kick ass new multiplayer shooter. I am sick to my stomach of MW2.
  • Pocotron - March 2, 2010 8:42 p.m.

    They didn't even use a Gamesradar staff member! For shame, for shame indeed.
  • R-Ape - March 2, 2010 8:57 p.m.

    i cant wait to get to a store to pick this up!
  • Forsakenday - March 2, 2010 9:27 p.m.

    If they named this game Call of Duty: Bad Company 2, GR would have given it a 10
  • michaelmcc827 - March 2, 2010 10:11 p.m.

    wtf? No super review? sigh...
  • crimson_soulreaper305 - March 2, 2010 10:43 p.m.

    finally, i can stop playing MW2. @Recaptcha: marcella proposed: oh yes, marcella! I DO!
  • nik41507 - March 3, 2010 1:34 a.m.

    wait so in this game a bad story is a bad thing, but MW 2's story doesent matter? and why no super review? or 10?
  • D0CCON - March 3, 2010 2:04 a.m.

    Good to see that the beta holds true in the final copy. Although my teammates were rarely smart enough to NOT move in front of a sniper in a building, I in all of my engineer glory blew a hole in those freaking buildings, taking the snipers out with them. Flanking, hiding, setting traps, it's amazing what one can pull off in multiplayer. It's not like COD where your enemy will be dead or long gone by the time it takes you to flank them. Looking forward to those COD references (already have seen references to heartbeat sensors, snowmobiles, and Javelins taking out helicopters you're riding in)
  • Tochy - March 3, 2010 2:34 a.m.

    *sigh*
  • D0CCON - March 3, 2010 3:04 a.m.

    to be honest, I still like COD more, but tactical options in COD are much less limited. A challenger approaches.
  • keaton121 - March 3, 2010 4:56 p.m.

    MW2 can lick my testes. good work DICE.
  • keaton121 - March 3, 2010 4:58 p.m.

    bioshock 2 got a super review and this didn't? bioshock 2 sucked.
  • OnyxOblivion - March 4, 2010 12:06 p.m.

    Good. Short, sweet, and to the point. Not much to say beyond "Buy this game!".
  • CreeplyTuna - March 4, 2010 3:03 p.m.

    sooo much better than cod, so why a 9
  • REZNIK - March 6, 2010 5:27 p.m.

    I love this game. The online in Battlefield Bad Company was alright, but the online in 2 is just so much better. This game deserves a 9 or 10.
  • tonydelgado - March 9, 2010 4:47 a.m.

    i still dont know if i should get thiis game
  • bschroth - March 10, 2010 4:49 p.m.

    Nothing against this writer or his review, but I come to gamesradar to read reviews by the gamesradar staff. Yes, from the same idiot who are on talkradar every fucking week. I understand getting freelance to do reviews for smallers games or when there are too many too cover, but battlefield is a pretty significant series that deserves their full attention. I would've loved a super review for this game.
  • AliasAce - March 15, 2010 3:21 a.m.

    BFBC2 is BY FAR, THE BEST ONLINE SHOOTER...EVER! MW has seen it's last days up against these "DICE" guys! They really "tore down the roof" with this one!! Single campaign mode isn't bad at all unless you are the one to critique every detail to what you think a shooter should have. BOTTOM LINE: BAD COMPANY 2 STUMPS ALL OVER THE "TWITCH-SHOOTER" MW2. HANDS FUCKIN' DOWN MAN I TELL YA!! REAL WORLD GUNS, ATTACK HELI'S, RPG ATTACKS AND BOMBARDMENTS,BLOOD SOAKED BOOTS AND HARD HATS, SHOOTING PARACHUTERS, BOAT CLIQUES, MASSIVE TANK CARNAGE, BALLS TO-THE WALL ASSAULTS...WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT??...COME GET SOME! GAMERTAG:Scarfacebaby. mw2...sucks to be you right now Mr. Glitchy A.DD.-Ghettofied fried chicken contoller-havin' man hussies! PLAY A MAN'S GAME!!!.... BATTLEFIELD...WHERE YOU LEAVE IT ALL ON THE FIELD...REAL WAR...NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEARTS SISSIES. TRY TO RUN OUT IN THE OPEN ALL TRIGGER-HAPPY LIKE MW2. THERE WILL BE A TANK TURRET WAITING TO CANNON-DRIVE YOUR BODY INTO SHRAPNEL HELL! GLITCH THAT U ASSWIMPED-CAMPERS. YOU CAN TRY UNTIL A CORNER OF THE HOUSE OR BUILDNG GETS HIT BY AN RPG. YOU WILL BECOME PART OF THAT RUBBLE. CMON' YOU MW2 FAGGOTS...COME PLAY BAD COMPANY 2 AND SEE HOW SOFT AND JELLYBACK U PUSSIES REALLY ARE. This ain't your arcade shooter like mw2...this is YOUR HEAD COMING OFF UR SHOULDERS OVER AND OVER and over and over and over ver vever ve ver rr r r r YOU SUBURBAND-CRY-TO-MOMMY-AND-DADDY FOR A HOT GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICH. BETTER YET... MAC-N-CHEESE WITH A SIDE OF HOG MAWS YOU SISSY-COLONIC- MOUTHED-APE-FACED-DUUKEY-THROAT-HOT SHIT STAIN WANNA BE SOLDIERS!! COME GET SOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WWWWHHHOOOOAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • AliasAce - March 15, 2010 3:25 a.m.

    IM FUCKIN' PUMPED MAN!! BRING it!!

Showing 1-20 of 24 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000