Google+

Assassin's Creed review

AT A GLANCE
  • Huge, immersive world
  • Absolutely stunning visuals
  • Addictively twisty storyline
  • Repetitive side missions
  • Revisiting Masyaf over and over gets old
  • Guards are almost as agile as Altair

Nov 8, 2007

We're just going to come right out and say it: Assassin's Creed is fantastic. More to the point, it's beautifully realized, richly detailed and carried by a story with twists that rival the surprises of BioShock. It's also endlessly fun, giving players complete freedom to tear ass across the rooftops and streets of its medieval cities as they track down their targets and try to avoid attracting attention while doing so.

Cherry-picking elements from games like Prince of Persia, Gun, Crackdown and Hitman, Assassin's Creed offers up a huge, freely explorable game world consisting of three crowded, historically accurate cities - Damascus, Acre and Jerusalem - as well as the Assassin-controlled fortress village of Masyaf. All of these are connected by The Kingdom, a vast expanse of secret-filled wilderness that can be explored on horseback.

The meat of the game revolves around slipping undetected into each of the cities in turn, fully exploring one of its three districts while investigating a single assassination target, and then pulling off a risky, high-profile hit in public before cheesing it to safety and reporting back to Masyaf. Along the way, you'll pick pockets, save citizens from armed bullies, sprint recklessly up walls and across debris-strewn rooftops and play lots and lots of cat-and-mouse games with the cities’ guards.

Publisher Ubisoft has been extremely cagey about the game's long-rumored sci-fi trappings, but because they're revealed so quickly, it's not really a spoiler to say what we're about to say (although if you really don't want to spoil the game's first five minutes, go ahead and skip to the next page): Assassin's Creed actually follows two storylines. First, there's white-robed Altair, an arrogant young Assassin cultist who lives in the Kingdom of Jerusalem circa 1191, during the Third Crusade. Soon after the game begins, Altair botches a vital mission deep underneath Solomon's Temple; disgraced, he's given a chance to restore his honor by assassinating nine key Muslim and Crusader political figures, thereby restoring some peace to the region.

Then there's Desmond Miles, Altair's near-future descendant, who's kidnapped by a shadowy corporation and strapped into a machine that can unlock the ancestral memories stored in his DNA. His segments - which bookend each chapter of Altair's story - play a little like a point-and-click adventure and are confined to the lab where he's imprisoned. Why this layer of sci-fi weirdness even exists isn't clear at first, but it never feels tacked on, and the things you'll learn here will gradually cast an unsettling new light on Altair's story.

More Info

Release date: Apr 08 2008 - PC
Nov 13 2007 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft Montreal
Franchise: Assassin's Creed
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Strong Language, Violence

24 comments

  • Metalocalypse - December 6, 2012 6:40 a.m.

    Great game. I'm new to AC never thought much of it before. But after playing brotherhood i was hooked.
  • jimzhang - September 10, 2012 1:50 a.m.

    wow,it looks so cool.<a href="http://tshirtsky.com/">Assassin's Creed</a>,I like it~~
  • danny-stuivenberg - May 9, 2012 10:03 p.m.

    Assassin's Creed is amazing. Love the atmosphere.
  • altair11 - September 24, 2009 12:30 p.m.

    i kiinda like it i cant wait till the second 1 comes out u get 2 hidden blades a small gun and u get 2 use poison aint that cool???
  • Redeater - September 24, 2009 12:26 p.m.

    Man this game deserved an 8 at the highest. Yeah its fun for the first bit but you do the exact SAME thing over and over again. Plus there is no strategy for killing the head people. They give you hints about different ways but i was able to just run up to every one and fight them then run.....this game is not even close to bioshock's level of quality
  • Vivapwnata - December 7, 2008 8:40 p.m.

    Ok, ok yes we all know it was a little repetative, lolz, not that i'm arguing against the fact that this game kicks owns, but i am also wondering when they will come out with two. The FAQ's by UBISOFT said it is part of a trilogy. Also, I am huge splinter cell fan. Conviction has taken sooo long to come out...
  • merlin - October 31, 2008 3:15 p.m.

    not really sure...can be a bit repitive,but the graphix are great.and the free running scenes are breathtaking.I wonder if they will make an assassins creed 2?
  • celticassassin80 - October 19, 2008 3:30 p.m.

    i agree, it was a great game, but very repetitive. graphics were amazing, as well as gameplay. the ending left me a little wanting and hopefully the sequel will tie up some of the loose ends. I can imagine that this is how splintercell: conviction's gameplay will be like.
  • Coolbeans69 - September 17, 2008 4:23 a.m.

    I don't know... this game was great, but a little too 2 repetetive
  • GRwarrior - September 5, 2009 9:29 p.m.

    @ricochet: Oh thatnk god, if you hadn't said just kidding, I would have had to kill you ;)
  • FluffyDestructo - August 25, 2009 9:02 p.m.

    This game was incredible it deserves a ten. It was pretty repetitive but the gameplay adn the fact that most of the time the assassinations got harder and harder ave the game a challenge and made it a lot of fun. i did hate the investigation things taht you had to do before every assassination though. they were just soooo boring. I got it a couple years ago and i still play it a little btu it get's pretty boring after you beat it the first time. I'm really looking forward to Assassins creed 2 :D.
  • mcmagnum - June 2, 2009 8:11 a.m.

    this is definitly a game i would never get rid of in my collection.. its like gta and batman mixed into one i didnt think the gameplay was too repititive just by the fact the missions were fairly similiar but there bunches of side quest that can keep ya busy and going on killing sprees or taking on 5 or so guards at once is pretty fun game by itself
  • Dualcarrot - April 15, 2009 1:48 a.m.

    personally, i HATE assassins creed. i find the whole game pointless, boring, and just plane dull. assassins creed is a total waste of money, DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!! if youre looking to by a kick butt 360 game, get call of duty 4: modern warfare. thats where the fun is.
  • calipber - April 13, 2009 9:39 p.m.

    Besides the point of doing the same things over and over again in the game, it was extremely fun to play. The story line, the game play, the graphics, all were awesome! I hope to see the book and or the movie to come soon, if they dont i will have to write my own. i give this game a 9/10
  • Ricochet3435 - July 29, 2009 12:17 a.m.

    This game is so TERRIBLE! I was gonna go buy it but i decaded to rent it instead. Im glad i did cause I wouldve benn REALLY mad if I had spent 30 bucks on it! Sure the first couple of times you play it your like this game is pretty cool, but after a while it just gets old. This game doesnt deserve a ten! It deserves a one! Maybe! Hahahahah! Just kidding. Great game. LOVED it.
  • Harmon20 - July 28, 2009 7:54 p.m.

    I actually never got bored with the repetitiveness. You just need a little imagination. Every pickpocket or interrogation is a little different, but you can also play it out completely differently? Do you charge right in and beat the crap out of the guy right away, or stalk him like a tiger and wait for the opportune moment? Doing things differently like that made them not-so repetitive for me. And each hit you made was entirely different and you could have many different strategies for them. Like Nuts and Bolts, finishing the task is up to the ideas of the player!
  • GameCraze - May 26, 2009 1:58 a.m.

    lol game is amazing... i agree with the review 100%... only thing though, when you run out of Syncronization Towers, and they don't show any investigation missions on the map, it's pretty lame, cause you have to spend hours just to find an investigation... good thing is it only happens once or twice in the game.. so i wud still give it a decent 9.7/10 -GameCraze
  • Orionthefirst - April 19, 2009 2:51 p.m.

    Woo! Assassin's Creed II was previewed a few days ago by GI! Apparently the sequel has no repeating missions, and the main character can swim! I CANNOT wait for winter!
  • Furce - April 12, 2009 2:11 a.m.

    How would you know rebel? Lolz.
  • rebel748 - March 1, 2009 6:17 p.m.

    You ever tried to swim in Assasin's robes?But seriously,gaming characters never learn how to swim until the sequel.weird,huh?

Showing 1-20 of 24 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000