Google+

Assassin's Creed 4: Black Flag review

Excellent
Back to Article

78 comments

  • MeanwhileGuy - October 30, 2013 7:38 a.m.

    Wonderful review Andy, and exactly what I was hoping for from Black Flag. Though I'll only be able to pick it up around January when I get my PS4. Black Flag looks like it's a more than adequate replacement for the promising looking Pirates of the Caribbean game that was cancelled a couple of years ago. Though unfortunately it seems to have come at the cost of being an Assassin. I mean, I love the overarching present day narrative and The Ones Who Came Before, but the series' writing does need a bit of a shake up. Maybe setting it way back a few centuries B.C is the answer. That way you could get rid of guns, po-faced figures like George Washington and the philosophical pretensions, and instead have awesome characters like Cleopatra or Alexander the Great, and get back to actual assassinations like in AC I and II.
  • matthew-bigelow - October 29, 2013 8:21 p.m.

    LONG LIVE SINGLE PLAYER
  • RonnyLive19881 - October 29, 2013 5:03 p.m.

    Found a good comparison channel for the Wii U games and they have detailed videos for all of this falls releases! Cheers Nintendo fans! Looks like Wii U is on top! http://m.youtube.com/user/ninten2tv?&desktop_uri=%2Fuser%2Fninten2tv
  • BladedFalcon - October 29, 2013 2:32 p.m.

    Huh, it's been a while since I've heard almost universally, that the side missions are better than the main missions in a game XD Anyway, as someone who stopped following the series since ACII, and doesn't really care about the main continuity of the story, it's actually a plus for me that this is a better Pirates game than it is an Assasin's creed Game. In fact, if it wasn't for the pirate angle, I wouldn't really have been very interested in it whatsoever. Still don't think I'll get it at full price though, will wait for it's inevitable price drop.
  • larkan - October 29, 2013 11:39 p.m.

    I just picked up AC3 and all the DLC for under $20, so yeah, waiting a year definitely does have it's benefits. AC3 is VERY slow, the first 10 hours felt like a tutorial. I'm hoping 4 lives up to what people are saying and gets straight to the action.
  • BladedFalcon - October 30, 2013 2:37 a.m.

    Indeed, that, and well, once a couple months pass and the hype dies down for a game, (Specially when it's from a big, established franchise.) you tend to see a more realistic picture of how good the game truly is. ACIII despite being called from the onset as "not as good as ACII or brotherhood" Still got largely good reviews, but as months passed, it has been clear that it was mostly a very mediocre game in general. With this new one, it seems like it IS better, specially if you want a game focused on pirates, (which is what I want.) but opinions could still change later on. That, and not just for the price drop, but if I'm getting a PS4 eventually, I might as well just pick it up for that system XD
  • GoldenEagle1476 - October 29, 2013 1:26 p.m.

    Awesome. Really happy the game's so good. Question though: What's the multiplayer like? I've been a big fan of it in the previous games, and was wondering if this adds anything to it.
  • freeden - October 29, 2013 10:15 a.m.

    Think I will pass on this. I don't want a pirate sim, I want an Assissin's Creed game. I've always enjoyed the AC games for their lore and the way they tied history into this fantastical story about the end of the world. This sounds like lazy writing, with a hashed out story that had to meet a deadline. And with AC3 essentially completing Desmond's story, the fact that they seem to be lazily writing about something that doesn't matter much to the series. This sounds like it's all gameplay, without the gameplay having any substance. And as much fun as being a pirate may be, an AC game without weight and depth to it's story just isn't really worth playing for me. Plus, I was never a fan of the ship sailing portions of AC3, and it sounds like there's more sailing here, so no ty.
  • somedude - October 29, 2013 9:26 a.m.

    It's like the Star Trek movies! The even ones are excellent, and the odd ones are regular
  • db1331 - October 29, 2013 7:23 a.m.

    "Assassin's Creed lore has devolved to nonsense" I found this to be the case by the end of the 2nd game. I'm still only like halfway through Brotherhood. I know I should like these games, but they are just way too damn repetitive. Annual release is killing this series.
  • VideoKilledTheRadioStar - October 29, 2013 7:26 p.m.

    I agree with that. I still believe that the concept of the Animus could have been an amazing cliffhanger ending of the first Assassin's Creed. The second could've still been about finding the Apple within Ezio's memories but done differently and while still discovering Abstergo secrets. And Subject 16 (before the Revelations reveal of the somewhat dull character) could've been a stronger modern era protagonist than Desmond.
  • RonnyLive19881 - October 29, 2013 7 a.m.

    Why aren't any websites saying anything about the Wii U version?
  • db1331 - October 29, 2013 7:22 a.m.

    LOL. Good one.
  • shawksta - October 29, 2013 9:07 a.m.

    How do you find it as a joke? Whether you like it or not, the Wii U has a third party game, which people are wanting it get more of, where the hell is the review for it, Andy said they didn't show it but is assuming it controls detail things with the gamepad as the PS4's touchpad.
  • db1331 - October 29, 2013 10:08 a.m.

    Here, I'll give you a review: It's the same as the PS3/360 version, except it has gimmicky controls and worse visuals, despite those platforms being about 7 years older than the Wii U. 2.5/5 stars.
  • Vonter - October 29, 2013 11:49 a.m.

    Or it could be better visuals, framerate and less glitches like Arkham Origins, also the commodity of not having to pause to adjust invetory or check the map. I suppose you're dissapointed with the Wii U, but showing hate for hate's sake only makes you blind to the fact that it has shown to be more competent in several 3rd party games. Also at least it's better than 360 still using DVD you could start by that point of having a game split into several discs. Oh well. -_-
  • BladedFalcon - October 29, 2013 2:36 p.m.

    Even assuming it could have improvements, they would be of the marginal kind. Same way Xbox games had "improvements" over PS2 versions, but were never really a game changer or selling points. Almost a year since the Wii U has come out, it's very damn clear what the console is capable of. And the only people that would even care about the differences are those who are still trying to justify their purchase of a Wii U. A point, which is pretty much proven by the fact that the people commenting below you in favor of this topic, are perhaps the two most well known diehard Nintendo fanatics in the site :P
  • Vonter - October 29, 2013 6:40 p.m.

    Well I tried. I rented Arkham Origins on my 360 and I'm kind of regretting not waiting mainly because A) Is a game that copypasted several elements and mechanics from City without any noticeable tweaking. and B) The Wii U version I'm assuming that will not have freeze on me 3 times over the course of 6 hours.
  • BladedFalcon - October 29, 2013 11:08 p.m.

    ...So you're assuming, without really knowing :P Let's put it this way, if the Wii U version was noticeably more stable, I'm pretty sure every site would have made a note of it by now. The fact that they haven't, kinda makes it a safe bet that the Wii U version probably has as many technical issues as the other two do.
  • Vonter - October 29, 2013 11:23 p.m.

    Well after making a rapid search it's noticed that the Wii U version is the best one. I don't know if you have better sources, but I assume Neogaf is a valid source. http://www.meristation.com/nintendo-wii-u/noticias/batman-arkham-origins-mejor-y-mas-estable-en-wii-u/1855193/1922449 http://m.neogaf.com/showpost.php?p=87685129 http://www.revogamers.net/noticias/wii-u/batman-arkham-origins-es-mejor-en-wii-u-segun-test-los-usuarios-12286.html

Showing 21-40 of 78 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 19 2013 - PC
Nov 15 2013 - PS4
Nov 22 2013 - Xbox One
Q4 2013 - PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: PC, PS4, Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft Montreal
Franchise: Assassin's Creed
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.