Google+

Assassin's Creed III review

Back to Article

38 comments

  • 7-D - October 30, 2012 12:39 p.m.

    The whole jumping to the present nonsense-conspiracy-garbage always felt naff to me. Tried AC2 but had to give it away about a third of the way through because it kept forcing me to listen to it's god-awfull story and characters which I couldn't stand. It still to this day is the only game I haven't been able to play because the 'story' and characters were so bad. On the flipside Vanquish has a crock of shit laughable story - but - I've played it through twice. Why? Because it didn't keep throwing it in my face and let me enjoy the game. I'll be giving AC3 a wide berth.
  • lazer59882 - October 30, 2012 3:48 p.m.

    ...naff?
  • taokaka - October 30, 2012 5:43 p.m.

    British slang, today meaning uncool, tacky, unfashionable, worthless... or as a softer expletive, in places where one might use "fuck" as in "naff off", "naff all", "naffing about".
  • copyofcopy - October 30, 2012 1:27 p.m.

    metacritic has your score listed as 60, when in reality it should be 80... right?
  • taokaka - October 30, 2012 5:41 p.m.

    are you sure that's not AC:3:Liberation on the vita you're looking at?
  • Stabby_Joe - October 30, 2012 4:23 p.m.

    I'm amused by all of the reviews that talk about fighting TEMPLARS, assassinating TEMPLARS, tracking TEMPLARS etc as opposed to all of the previews where it was REDCOATS... ...marketing is a predictable beast sometimes.
  • Hobogonigal - October 31, 2012 1:42 a.m.

    I am disappoint. I will still buy AC:3 and probably still enjoy it very much however I really expected this to be one of the games this year that just does everything right and blows me away. It's a shame about the Desmond sections as well, I always hoped that the cliffhangers and suspense would lead to something great; but I guess it was a lost opportunity... Should still be good though anyway, can't wait to give it a try.
  • BIOSback - October 31, 2012 4:11 a.m.

    Don't be disappointed, I'm about 6 hours into the game and loving it!
  • Hobogonigal - October 31, 2012 6:12 a.m.

    That's good to hear. Even if it doesn't make my mind explode with awesomeness, I am certain that it will be a great game :)
  • 7-D - October 31, 2012 1:15 p.m.

    It's hardly getting 'bad' reviews, if you like the look of it - get it.
  • Hobogonigal - November 2, 2012 1:28 a.m.

    As I said, 'I will still buy AC:3 and probably still enjoy it very much'. I was just hoping that it would make my mind explode into tiny little pieces instead of just being a great game. Never said the reviews were bad, but they are not as amazing as I had hoped either...
  • trey-peeples - October 31, 2012 6:48 a.m.

    Can someone PLEASE tell me how to get to the lost Mayan ruins mission? I have m already submitted the code for the mission I just need to know how to get to it. Is there a certain place on the main menu I must go? #pleasehelp -_-
  • TheMariner - October 31, 2012 4:23 p.m.

    Talk to a Harbormaster or the Captain of the Aquila once you unlock naval missions. There will be a mission marker in the Yucatan Peninsula to the south called 'The Ruins at Cerros'.
  • Darkhawk - October 31, 2012 8:15 a.m.

    "you can easily clear the game without much help from side income" /\ This actually makes me happy. I hate it when (a la San Andreas) the side-tasks are pretty much necessary to make it through the game.
  • dcobs123 - November 12, 2012 6:17 p.m.

    Ughh the swimming mission.
  • Cloud1Fair3 - November 13, 2012 11:41 p.m.

    Exactly. Had they added the economy in a greater capacity and somehow forced it into gameplay, then it'd be a downside that Gamesradar and other reviewers would attack. You can't make people happy. What's good for some is a negative for others. I hate scores though, because now I'm seeing Call of Duty Black Ops 2 has a better score and, even without playing CoD:BO2, I can say that it's most likely bullshit and unjustified. At the very least this review admits the strides and improvements 3 has made since the other games instead of saying it's copy and paste like some reviews that will go on to praise CoD, because to do otherwise would be suicide. Assassins Creed series > CoD and yet CoD will always score higher in virtue of its appeal to casual and hardcore gamers.
  • matthew-rehlinger - November 14, 2012 4:54 a.m.

    Assassin's Creed 3 was an incredible experience. I definitely didn't think it was quite perfect, but the things it did well, it did perfectly. The reviewer was fair, and even as an avid Assassin's Creed fan I still can respect a 4. Despite not getting as much screen time as I would like, Desmond's part of the story, the part that has made everything else matter, was phenomenal. The plot twists were brilliant as always, the dialogue and music were exquisite, and Conner's tale was on par with the other ancestors that have made these games so incredible for me. A tip of my hat goes out to Ubisoft Montreal for continuing to make my favorite series of games so incredible for me, and I look forward to shelling out for the next game!
  • leonardosky - June 20, 2014 1:31 p.m.

    the story of ac3 is much better than ac4 and i like the gameplay and the new abilities of the companions they should have added it in ac4

Showing 21-38 of 38 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 30 2012 - Xbox 360, PS3
Nov 20 2012 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Ubisoft
Franchise: Assassin's Creed
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language