Google+

Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception review

Excellent
Back to Article

102 comments

  • profile0000 - October 24, 2011 3:28 p.m.

    Good review, Mikel. Looking forward to hearing you discuss it on TDAR.
  • NightCrawler_358 - October 24, 2011 2:35 p.m.

    Why do people complain about the "silly" supernatural endings. Its what Drake is looking for, and it follows suite with the Indiana Jones movies. Anyway, great review, I'm just so excited for the single-player, Uncharted 2 has the best campaign I've ever played, I love it to death!
  • BladedFalcon - October 24, 2011 3:56 p.m.

    Wrong, pretty sure Drake is not looking for supernatural critters at all. He's looking for treasure and riches mainly. Secondly, yes, the Indiana Jones Movies had supernatural stuff interwoven with them, but in the two good Indy movies, (Raiders of the Lost Ark AND The Last Crusade. Temple of Doom And the Kingdom of the Cristal Skull suck.)the supernatural parts are handled with a bit more subtlety and elegance, and it's usually related to mythic religious artifacts. In neither movie you ended up seeing zombies or yeti people prancing around like jackasses. So yeah, i am not saying I'm against seeing supernatural stuff in the uncharted series. After all, i think the Villianess is unnaturally old for her looks, and I'm okay for that to have a supernatural explanation. But one thing is to have subtle stuff like immortality, and another thing entirely is to have a coffin than suddenly turns everyone into zombies for no good goddamn reason.
  • bamtan - October 24, 2011 4:05 p.m.

    The supernatural parts of Raiders were subtle? Remember that time a Nazi got his face melted by the 10 commandments? That was not very subtle.
  • BladedFalcon - October 24, 2011 5:55 p.m.

    Yet it's the only supernatural moment in the entire movie. And from the start they implied it might actually have had real, holy powers. If you concede that it was God's wrath that actually did the smiting, (Which is something a LOT of people believe in, not just in movies. And yes, i am talking about God.) it's actually pretty logical, you know where it came from, and why it happened. In uncharted however, there is no sensible explanation as to why there's a cursed coffin that can turn people into immortal, mindless, feral husks. Or why there's a humongous three that gives off nectar that makes you forever young... but also feral, and with blue skin.
  • Fox_Mulder - October 24, 2011 10:01 p.m.

    Dude, it's a game. Maybe the reason they added the crazy zombies/ yetis is because they wanted to change up the enemies you fight, as to not get stale? To diversify the baddies so people wouldn't get sick of killing the same 7 mercenaries the whole game? There's an explanation for you. Or how about this: zombies appeared in Uncharted 1 so people were expecting some sort of supernatural enemy in the second one. Two very reasonable explanations for you. Sorry Uncharted doesn't have God to explain the off-the-wall things that happen in it, but that doesn't make it more reasonable. People believe in Sasquatch/Yetis too.
  • bloodraven - October 24, 2011 2:18 p.m.

    Great review Mikel, can't wait to play it.
  • TriforcePlayer - October 24, 2011 1:38 p.m.

    Cool col review. I hope you guys compare Assassin's Creed Revelations with Batman Arkham City and or Uncharted 3.
  • iluvpkmnmonday - October 24, 2011 12:49 p.m.

    I just hope this game doesnt feature mysterious creatures running around in the background midway through the game than you'll later have to fight like the first two did.
  • Transmatrix - October 24, 2011 1:22 p.m.

    I agree. I was kinda WTF? when the "zombies" showed up in the first game and then couldn't believe they were doing it again when the "Yetis" showed up in the second one. I'm all for a little bit of supernatural in an archeology game, but I think that was taking it a bit too far.
  • Baron164 - October 24, 2011 12:38 p.m.

    From the review it sounded like an 8. I don't care about the multiplayer in Uncharted. I only care about the campaign so I'm disappointed to hear at its a bit of a let down after Uncharted 2. But I guess lightning doesn't always strike twice.
  • BladedFalcon - October 24, 2011 12:28 p.m.

    Hm, so... It focuses less on the annoying romantic interests, and more on his old colleague Sully. (Who is awesome.)The villian has FAR more personality than the villians of the other two uncharted games combined. And apparently the last act doesn't devolve into a silly affair of fighting humanoid monsters... How the f*ck does this make it less great than Uncharted's 2 Campaign? I know this is only my oppinion, and I still need to play (And i will) this game. But i seriously fail to see how the story in this one could not be better. I loved uncharted two, but i thought the final act was incredibly lame, and the ending more so. (I hate, HATE when a story pulls the revival act so easily and cheaply.) Even if the story in this one isn't as ambitious, but it's more focused, and delivers a more plausible ending, I'm happy.
  • ssj4raditz - October 24, 2011 12:25 p.m.

    Soooooo looking forward to this! My PS3 needs some lovin' lately...
  • Nap1400 - October 24, 2011 12:15 p.m.

    I'm sorry, I have to say this... THIS GAME IS BETTER THAN HALO: REACH?!?! *prepares flame shield* But yeah, I've been slightly persuading my parents to get me a PS3 for Christmas, so I think I may check this and Uncharted 2 out. But first, ICO and Shadow of the Colossus collection...
  • Transmatrix - October 24, 2011 1:19 p.m.

    I just got a PS3 and I've already played through Uncharted 1, and am almost done with Uncharted 2. They are great games and I’m looking forward to picking up Uncharted 3 in a bit. (First I have to finish Arkham City).
  • Fox_Mulder - October 24, 2011 10:05 p.m.

    LOL There's at least one of these references in every big-name review. Congrats on being the first to do so in this one. Also you should get the Uncharted double pack it has the first two games in it. Not that you NEED to play the first two in order to understand the 3 one, but I think it will be more enjoyable that way. I really want Ico/Shadow of the Colossus too, but I have some new games that are more of a priority.
  • danger.to.others - October 24, 2011 12:14 p.m.

    It's funny how people who hang out at videogame sites and comment in threads must be lovers of gaming (I assume), yet to read many threads it sounds like burn outs that aren't happy with anything. Let me get this straight. Arkham City comes out, gives you more of the same as far as the basic gameplay goes, be it combat, platforming and Riddler puzzles/collecting. Take all you did and then refine it and add little things here and there. Then you have an almost perfect game, in what seems to sum up most reviews. Uncharted does the same thing, takes all that you love and refines or adds to it....and it's not quite as good. Hmmm. It's a shame so many seem overly jaded. Me, I grew up stuck playing 2600 games as a kid. I realize and appreciate high quality in games, especially when there are so many bad ones out there. Imagine how Naughty Dog must feel making such a polished level of game and hearing complaints as vague as 'I'm not as excited as I was for the last game just because it felt newer to me back then.' When that is the feeling you have, isn't that more the problem with that individual gamer, not the game itself? Sorry for the long post, boring movie is on and my fingers simply kept going. Then again, nobody makes you read this. I revoke my sorry.
  • garnsr - October 24, 2011 3:40 p.m.

    We'll have to see how the follow up to Arkham City turns out; doing a sequel that is more of the first but better is fine in almost any medium, but doing a third like that usually doesn't go over as well. Gears of War 3 got some of that criticism, and Uncharted is, too. It's not necessarily bad, but sometimes more of the same is welcome, sometimes it isn't.
  • Moondoggie1157 - October 24, 2011 4:26 p.m.

    Couldn't agree more. I'm all for criticizing a game (Since it's my money being spent on it) but from what I read, there is no real justification for anyone to bitch about U3, it seems better in every way. Ah well... Doesn't revoking an apology feel great? haha
  • kingsmikefan - October 24, 2011 4:34 p.m.

    Wow, a 9 is so terrible, isn't it? It's not like, "awesome" or anything.

Showing 41-60 of 102 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Naughty Dog
Franchise: Uncharted
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.