Google+

Tournament of Legends review

Mediocre
AT A GLANCE
  • The shtick of the whole experience
  • Silly storylines
  • Hilarious dialogue and voice acting
  • Fighting without grappling
  • Massively overpowered enchantments
  • Getting crushed by button-mashing beginners

In Tournament of Legends, gamers are given the unique opportunity to fight as the C-list celebrities of forgotten Greek mythology. Characters are obvious stand-ins for classics and the roster includes a snake woman with snake hair, a skeleton, a big cow-guy and a dude with a raven’s head. Even though Tournament of Legends doesn’t employ any authentic historical characters, it does utilize authentic Roman Numerals for most of the numbers in the game.

Tournament of Legends implements waggle attacks for those players using a Nunchuck/remote combo, but there’s also a classic-controller configuration. Battling is performed through blocks, attacks, and a handful of specials. You can combine specials and waggles to exploit lethal IV-hit combos, but there are no grapple moves to speak of. There’s not a lot of depth here, so even when you know how to use the controls it’s almost more fun to button-mash just to see what happens.

Depth is obviously not the name of the game, hence the minigames and quick-time events, which are injected into ToL at random. They’re probably intended to give the game that characteristic family-oriented Wii feel, but they end up feeling more like commercials than gameplay. Though the minigames detract from the pacing, they’re not all bad.

Take, for instance, arena monsters. Each arena has a huge creature that will interrupt a fight to deal out massive damage to any idiot too stupid to complete one simple quick time event.  Because the concept is so ridiculous, it’s actually kind of amusing when you get to dodge a giant crab by pressing a single button.

At other times the QTE’s just suck. Like when an opponent falls, and you have a brief opportunity to taunt them, via a quick time event, which in turn raises your health bar. This is done I/II –assed and you’ll be forced to hear the same taunts over and over again or risk losing the match.

Ultimately, everything in ToL can be learned and mastered in a matter of hours, which is perfect because that’s about the maximum amount of time it can be fun for. There are only III different play options that all boil down to the same thing. Single system II-player might be fun if you can trick any of your friends into playing. Though the game is charming in a special sort of way, at full retail, the price is steeper than the off-brand Mount Olympus the legends are fighting to save.

Jul 20, 2010

More Info

Release date: Jul 06 2010 - Wii (US)
Jul 02 2010 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Fighting
Published by: Sega
Developed by: High Voltage
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes
PEGI Rating:
16+

We Recommend By ZergNet

13 comments

  • willyfoureyes - July 23, 2010 10:59 a.m.

    A misstep for the Sega/High Voltage Software publisher/developer team, huh? That's too bad. I heard the Conduit was actually kinda good.
  • PlainLikeVanilla - July 21, 2010 9:35 p.m.

    When you did half in roman numerals it looks very close to the numeral for seven. Took me a minute to figure out that QTE system wasn't seven assed.
  • HotCyder - July 21, 2010 2:25 p.m.

    And I'll look forward to seeing this for £10 at my local spar. Recaptcha: II perts
  • Cyberninja - July 21, 2010 12:15 p.m.

    i wasnt getting it anyway
  • Psylockerules - July 21, 2010 11:15 a.m.

    i know this may sound odd but i really enjoy half assed beat em ups, ill defo be picking this up-when its dirt cheap of course. is it true that the original idea for this was super gorey but sega didnt want that after Madworld??
  • FauxFurry - July 21, 2010 9:51 a.m.

    Too bad that it's another mediocre fighter for the Wii but that's not important right now. What is important is that you called a minotaur a cow-guy. He's a bull-guy! Nah,it's really not a big deal. I just had to find some way to have fun with this game now that I'll likely pass it over (until it hits the bargain bin,at least).
  • Hobogonigal - July 21, 2010 9:16 a.m.

    The graphics look pretty low for a Wii game and based on what it sounds like, the game seems only to be fun when laughing at how ridiculous and terrible it is. Still, its not as bad as Big Rigs Truckers...
  • RonaldRayGun - July 21, 2010 6:04 a.m.

    I thought it was an iphone game from the initial screen.
  • fartinapot - July 21, 2010 4:25 a.m.

    i was hoping this game would be great. guess i was wrong :(
  • MetalReborn - July 21, 2010 1:30 a.m.

    i just realized that u guys were being clever with the roman numerals... i just thought that u guys sucked at typing or something. I feel dumb now :(
  • Tikicobra - July 21, 2010 1:17 a.m.

    I'm not gonna lie, I didn't read the whole review. But based on the pros and cons, it just sounds like you sucked.
  • vigeoman - July 21, 2010 12:50 a.m.

    @Danameon ever hear of street fighter?
  • Danomeon - July 21, 2010 12:44 a.m.

    Dang, I was hoping to find a decent fighter that was worth a rental. I guess I'll just have to wait for the next Blazblue in a couple of weeks.

Showing 1-13 of 13 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.