Google+

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition review

Excellent
Back to Article

59 comments

  • RonnyLive19881 - February 25, 2013 9:55 a.m.

    So is Tomb Raider This generations Resident Evil 4?
  • RonnyLive19881 - February 25, 2013 10:02 a.m.

    I know it can't be as revolutionary but from what I am gathering from the over all experience and even the vibe I am getting from some of the screens it has a very Resi 4 feel to it although much improved upon with nothing ground breakingly new like the over the shoulder camera or even some of the gameplay mechanics.
  • rainn'sgaydar - February 25, 2013 9:32 a.m.

    I've never had interest in any Tomb Raider, past or present, until these reviews started rolling out. Still not a day one purchase because I have a huge pile of shame and am remodeling a house so it's only growing already. But I've definitely gone from uninterested to likely buying down the road. Thanks for the review!
  • Z-man427 - February 25, 2013 9:15 a.m.

    Never played Tomb Raider, but the fact that she's a strong, intelligent character and not an overly sexualized gunslinger earned my interest. Your review as well as Jim Sterling's on Destructoid has turned this into a buy for me. When a game successfully breaks away from the majority and does it well, I take notice. Will be picking this up asap.
  • ObliqueZombie - February 25, 2013 9:10 a.m.

    No matter how good this game is, I have a hard time falling for it. It's just never been my type of game. Alas, I said that about Uncharted and loved it to bits. I'll definitely wait for a price drop or a Steam sale.
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 25, 2013 9:41 a.m.

    Personally, I enjoyed Tomb Raider more than I have an Uncharted game, so take that how you will :P
  • ObliqueZombie - February 25, 2013 11:19 a.m.

    Well then, I'll have to look into it deeper. Maybe I just remember Lara Croft as bad PSOne controls and a fun pool to play with.
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 25, 2013 11:30 a.m.

    As do we all, ObliqueZombie. As do we all.
  • PatHan-bHai - February 25, 2013 9:09 a.m.

    i've only played Anniversary which i i liked ---- so............Upgrade?
  • iluvpkmnmonday - February 25, 2013 9 a.m.

    I will probably pick this up when the price goes down a bit. 15 hour run time sounds really nice after beating Revenge in a weekend.
  • Talvari - February 25, 2013 8:50 a.m.

    Surprised reviews are out so early for this :o Guess the devs are confident they made a good game ;P Glad to hear of another successful reboot though, shall probably pick this up at somepoint in the future or borrow it from a friend. Shame about the multiplayer but..lets face it they shouldn't be the focus point of a game like this! Thanks for the review
  • winner2 - February 25, 2013 8:19 a.m.

    Good news indeed, I will be getting this as planned then. Debating whether or not to wait for a steam cut though.
  • BladedFalcon - February 25, 2013 7:40 a.m.

    Ooooh! awesome! If the worst thing you can say about the game is taht the MP isn't that great, then I'm sold, because I don't even care about MP XD Also, RYAN! I just finished MGR: Revengeange for the first time yesterday, and as per your request, I shall let you know here what I thought: I Honestly, really, really loved it, it pretty much met most of my expectations, and I was entertained trough the entire campaign non-stop, I was pleasantly surprised by the characters, story and conversations in this game, because they really do feel like a Metal Gear experience despite the fact that Platinum had never handled those aspects very well. Sure, it's super silly and cheesy at times, but it all fit the tone I feel, and never really veered off from that makes Metal Gear special. And i was surprised by how dark it got sometimes, specially regarding the whole "brains" thing. Gameplay-wise, I will agree that ultimately there isn't much variety combo-wise, but I certainly found a lot of use in the new weapons I got, not just the polearm. The sais are incredibly useful to closing in on enemies, and it's stun property works even on bosses. Also, I really had no problem with the parrying system whatsoever in any point in the game, to me it always felt very responsive, and whenever I got hit, I fully acknowledged that it was because I didn't time it properly enough, or because my direction was off, so I still heavily contest that criticism found in your review. Overall, yeah, it's not a perfect game, the environments could definitely use more life in them, and the camera really gets in the way in very importune times during combat, which is one aspect that say, DmC actually handled expertly well. But in the end, I definitely enjoyed this game way more, I love it, it's a 9 out of 10 for me, and whereas I finished DmC once and I am pretty much done with it now, I can't wait to jump back and try to platinum this F*cker, even though some of the trophies already sound extremely ridiculous. (Specially the "beat x boss without taking damage on HARD difficulty... *^gulp*) So yes, there you go ^^;
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 25, 2013 8:01 a.m.

    Fair enough, thanks for sharing! I Played through Revengeance twice myself. Had more success with parrying on second playthrough, but there were still a lot of times I really thought I'd nailed it but it didn't happen D: In any case, glad you enjoyed the game!
  • BladedFalcon - February 25, 2013 8:09 a.m.

    Thanks! and I really appreciate that you listened, and showed interest, that really goes a long way in building more turst and connection with the reader (: Anyway, even if I enjoyed it more than you did, I still very much respect your score and I think it's a far review still, disagreements and all. And really, so far I've found I usually can rely on your particular reviews to be trustworthy enough. So on that note, i have little doubt in my mind that this Tomb Raider game is definitely I need to play, and that's thanks in no small part to this review ^^
  • Tjwoods18 - February 25, 2013 2:25 p.m.

    How in the hell did you beat Jetstream Sam? Mistral, Monsoon, and the buff dude were easy, but Samuel takes it to another level entirely.
  • BladedFalcon - February 25, 2013 2:44 p.m.

    He's pretty tricky, yeah, I have no idea how I am supposed to beat him without being hit, but I didn't find him impossible, beat him after two tries, and it's mainly a matter of parrying his attacks when he has a sword, and dodging his tackles when he loses it. The thing to remember about parrying, is that you can always start the parry BEFORE the enemy even attacks, the animation is actually very generous, and will block successfully as long as you are pressing in the direction the attack is coming from.
  • Letter11 - February 25, 2013 7:33 a.m.

    Interesting how things have come full circle, a games series that went from inspiring the Uncharted series to aping it. But if you're going to pick a games series to emulate, you can't go wrong with Uncharted. And if you do it well, you deserve some well earned praise. I like how this game helps differentiate itself with the clearly darker tone. I was also glad to hear that are a number of segments without enemies, because I feel like the exploration and puzzle solving elements are what made both of these games series great in the first place. In fact that was my only ever complaint with the Uncharted games. The over abundance of enemies. I mean seriously, why am I shooting so many people? Uncharted 2's ending address it perfectly with some chilling dialogue from Zoran, but in 3 it seems completely ignored. I guess here though the survival aspect leaves Laura without any choice. Anyway I'm glad to hear the game is great and I look forward to playing it. Thanks for the review, man.
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 25, 2013 7:58 a.m.

    Glad you enjoyed it! Lara still kills a lot of folks, to be sure, but the pacing is what really helps make this game so memorable :D
  • Nettacki - February 25, 2013 4:17 p.m.

    How long does it take for Lara to turn from a lady trying to survive against all odds to a cold-blooded killer?

Showing 41-59 of 59 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jan 28 2014 - PS4, Xbox One
Mar 05 2013 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Dec 09 2013 - Mac (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Mac
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Square Enix
Developed by: Crystal Dynamics
Franchise: Tomb Raider
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.