Google+

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition review

Back to Article

59 comments

  • andrew-senner - July 20, 2014 7:32 p.m.

    Haven't finished the game, but so far, it's amazing... Bought it on Steam during a sale for $7.50... best seven fiddy I ever spent on a game... Highly recommend.
  • Stoorm - February 26, 2014 2:07 p.m.

    Great game I can't stop play:D
  • punishment - February 20, 2014 8:54 a.m.

    I just wrapped this yesterday, and I couldn't get a single voice command to work the whole time. Do you need the camera to use it? Must've looked like an idiot yelling "Map!" into my controller 10 times.
  • wesly - February 17, 2014 3:25 a.m.

    I liked this one a lot ....
  • Stoorm - February 9, 2014 1:43 p.m.

    I just need this game in my collection on all platforms :D can't wait when I buy it.
  • GOD - January 27, 2014 9:09 p.m.

    Do the voice commands work with the PS4's voice control or did they only do it for X1?
  • GR_AndyHartup - January 28, 2014 12:02 a.m.

    Voice works on PS4. That's the format I've been playing on (and I added the Definitive Edition words).
  • Vonter - January 27, 2014 8:16 p.m.

    I liked the gameplay but really hated the cinematics (QTE, mean spirited violence and unlikable characters). If I come back to finish it (when I fix my 360) I hope the game restrains in the later parts, since it felt a bit sour.
  • Xtapolapopotamus - January 27, 2014 6:31 p.m.

    Tomb Raider was a fantastic game, but I already beat it 100% last March so I'll pass on the DE for now. When it drops to $25 or so, however, I'll snatch it up.
  • rainn'sgaydar - January 27, 2014 11:30 a.m.

    Based on your review it will be worth a purchase when it's part of a decent sale, which is exactly what I expected. Thanks for the re-review!
  • Doctor_Pancakes - January 27, 2014 7:17 a.m.

    By the time I get a PS4 after a decent price drop or a Black Friday sale this will be $8... maybe 18 dollars, maybe by then I'll deem it worth another play through lol
  • onetruth - December 13, 2013 3 a.m.

    In my opinion I think developers should be concentrating on next gen games. I didnt pay for a next gen console to play last gen titles. I think Sony needs some more exclusives.
  • GR_AndyHartup - January 27, 2014 5 a.m.

    This version was created by United Front games, not Crystal Dynamics (who made the PS3 / 360 version). CD is working on new, next-gen projects - so this hasn't impacted their schedule.
  • universaltofu - August 17, 2013 8:50 p.m.

    I liked this one a lot, totally down for a sequel.
  • Sandra_Joseph - June 20, 2013 1:20 p.m.

    Watching the screenshots of this video game seemed to tell a lot, but those did not express the immense pleasure I experienced upon realizing the whole game was in HD print and had such a great story line to it along with super cool techniques and weapons. Love it thoroughly! Hope more people play it. Thumbs Up! Sandra J. Bolee.com
  • bill-clark - May 27, 2013 3:22 p.m.

    Someone may have already pointed this out, but in the video the guy who you say is Irish is actually Scottish. Two ways to tell this, he says he's from Glasgow and the Scottish accent give it away.
  • Technodude - March 30, 2013 10:19 a.m.

    Brilliant game, loved every moment. I really felt like I was there with Lara the whole time, and it was actually quite upsetting watching her go through all that pain. Voice acting was incredible, Camilla Luddington deserves an award for the amazing job she did with Lara. I heard somewhere that she spent an entire day recording all the screams and deaths! Just a couple of things that I didn't quite like really. First, this game likes to tell you what to do a lot. While the survival instinct is a nice touch, it made it quite easy to solve puzzles and even if I didn't want help Lara would end up muttering the solution to herself. I'd just prefer if it gave you no clues at all, like you would get in real life. The HUD was distracting as well, for a game where you should be immersed and have nothing but you and the character. This will sound strange but I would have preferred there to be no aiming reticule, just to make it more realistic by judging where projectiles will fire, again much like in real life. Combat was another thing that bugged me. I did enjoy using the bow, and the weapons were all brilliant, but it would have been so much better if you could tolerate less damage. In a game where the objective is to survive it seems strange to me how Lara can take so much damage from the men shooting at her. The injuries she sustained along the way - fine, mostly had a real chance of surviving them, although nobody in their right mind would wade into a pool of stagnant cave water after being impaled in their side - she would definitely have got that infected. I would have much preferred REALLY having to scavenge for resources and have close encounters with one or two enemies at a time: get injured from one shot and have to retreat, tend to her wounds and come back to finish the fight. They would be one on one battles based on tactics and outsmarting the opponent, instead of large scale firefights. And if those did crop up Lara would just have to escape with as little damage as possible. And the QTEs really frustrated me in the beginning. It actually ruined the atmosphere whenever she died, after all, she is SUPPOSED to survive everything. Besides those points, best game I've ever played, seriously.
  • Nines - February 28, 2013 8:42 a.m.

    Ryan, can you tell us how long this is?

Showing 1-20 of 59 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jan 28 2014 - Xbox One, PS4
Mar 05 2013 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Dec 09 2013 - Mac (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox One, PS4, Xbox 360, PC, PS3, Mac
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Square Enix
Developed by: Crystal Dynamics
Franchise: Tomb Raider
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Strong Language