Google+

The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition review

Excellent
Back to Article

26 comments

  • BossHog555 - May 16, 2012 5:48 p.m.

    Best game I have played this year. It's awesome. Geralt FTW
  • gilgamesh310 - April 14, 2012 3:23 a.m.

    I don't think many people would have a wife or girlfriend as sexy as Triss Merrigold.
  • KolbitosFruitJuice - April 13, 2012 8:36 p.m.

    Hopefully the ending has the option for a fourth color.
  • ARCHANGEL309 - April 13, 2012 11:40 p.m.

    I literally laughed out loud
  • Errrrbo - April 13, 2012 6:57 p.m.

    Nice review, Lorenzo. Forgive me for being picky, but I did find it strange that you said the graphics weren't as good as Gears of War. To me, it makes more sense to draw comparisons with games in the same genre, since Gears is an extremely linear six-hour game with a severely smaller color pallet. Compared to other western RPGs like Dragon Age 2, Mass Effect 3, and Skyrim, I'd say Witcher 2 looks much better. But that's just my take on it, all the best. :)
  • CombatWombat101 - April 14, 2012 1:29 p.m.

    He's comparing graphics, not games. Graphics don't need to be compared within a specific genre; that would be silly.
  • christian-shaffer - April 13, 2012 10:54 a.m.

    Glad to have justification of my pre-order. Also, it's amazing how many pretentious assholes are taking up the forums here these days. Quit bashing the reviewers and writers for their opinions/articles. If you don't like how they write and review, go to another website or make one yourself. Anyone can sit behind a computer screen and bitch, if you want to complain, back your words up and start doing things yourself. But anyway, thanks for the review as always!
  • iHateFatPeople - April 13, 2012 9:48 a.m.

    Doesn't hold a candle to Skyrim. And for the record, only kids care about 'adult scenes'. The rest of us could care less - adds nothing.
  • sirdilznik - April 13, 2012 10:33 a.m.

    It's a rather different beast than Skyrim. Both games have things they have going for them and do things better and different than the other game. Skyrim has a large open world while The Witcher 2 is more story focused with branching storylines. I love both games but I personally had The Witcher 2 as my 2011 RPG of the Year, just barely edging out Skyrim.
  • iHateFatPeople - April 13, 2012 10:48 a.m.

    I respect your opinion soley based on your avatar.
  • FinderKeeper - April 14, 2012 6:59 p.m.

    *couldn't care less Or do you actually care somewhat, and are reserving your drop to "couldn't care less" for some future slight or shortcoming? ;-)
  • statutoryreparez - April 13, 2012 9:11 a.m.

    I thought this was a good review but i just bought a pc so ill be picking up the pc version Also off topic Mr. Lorenzo, would you be offended if i said your picture looks like mark wahlberg? (Spelling?)
  • KnowYourPokemon - April 13, 2012 12:06 p.m.

    PC version is getting all these updates for free anyways and it's also cheaper. Even with the enhanced edition I would still recommend anyone with a PC that can handle it buy it for PC.
  • ObliqueZombie - April 13, 2012 9:04 a.m.

    Looks like I'll be getting this on my Gaming PC when I get it in the next few weeks. Let's just hope I can run it as well as others.
  • db1331 - April 13, 2012 9:42 a.m.

    Put your settings on Ultra, then go advanced and disable ubersampling and SSAO. Those two things seem to be what really stresses out most people's machines. I'm sure you'll run it silky smooth after that, but if not, just lower your AA settings a bit. Also, keep an eye out on Steam and gog.com on release day. They will probably have some kind of sale for The Witcher 2, probably 50% but at least 25% off. Then you can revel in the fact that you paid less for the best version, and your transformation into a PC elitist will be one step closer to completion.
  • ObliqueZombie - April 13, 2012 11:38 a.m.

    HAHAHA, I may be playing PC, but I'll never forget my consoles. :P I'll just be... well, playing it more often, and, well... I guess my conversion is slowly happening. That said, thanks for the tips, and if it's not running as well as I'd like to, I'll come back to this comment for reference.
  • Net_Bastard - April 16, 2012 8:43 a.m.

    Yep, that's exactly what I said. Now my consoles are collecting dust and I just upgraded my graphics card for the first time.
  • db1331 - April 16, 2012 8:59 a.m.

    It felt good, didn't it?
  • Karamsoul - April 13, 2012 8:54 a.m.

    Mr. Reviewer, it's "your" and not "you're"... :)
  • patbateman17 - April 13, 2012 6:50 a.m.

    "You'll hate The slow burn of combat while you find your barrings" The English teacher in me notices that it should be spelled "bearings".

Showing 1-20 of 26 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Apr 17 2012 - PC
Apr 17 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
May 17 2011 - PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Mac, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Atari
Developed by: CD Projekt
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.