Google+

The Darkness II review

Great
Back to Article

28 comments

  • sam-van-mackie - February 11, 2012 2:22 p.m.

    I found it extremely difficult to take Victor seriously throughout the game, mainly because he's the same voice actor who plays Rigby from the Regular Show. Still, fun shooter for what it was worth.
  • 435 - February 8, 2012 2 a.m.

    wasmurdered?
  • The_Ouroboros - February 8, 2012 9:47 a.m.

    I noticed it too, but didn't feel like being a twat.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - February 8, 2012 11:32 a.m.

    Dammit. Fixed. Thanks for pointing it out, though.
  • IceBlueKirby - February 7, 2012 5:05 p.m.

    I really enjoyed the first game, especially considering I just bought it on a random whim, so I'm definitely going to pick up the sequel soon. I already know I'm going to have a grand old time tossing things around with The Darkness.
  • needles - February 7, 2012 2:03 p.m.

    Has anyone ever played the Condemned series? That was a good game. Beating the tar out of crackheads and roid monkeys with a metal pipe was great.
  • kingsmikefan - February 7, 2012 12:54 p.m.

    hmmmmmmmmmm, I'm thinking of getting this now.
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - February 7, 2012 12:41 p.m.

    I'm glad this is a great game. I played the demo and didn't really care for the new art direction or gameplay, but I'm glad everything still revolves around the story, my favorite thing from the first game.
  • Cruddi - February 7, 2012 12:10 p.m.

    I've been waiting for this one since the credits rolled on the first game, it was the first story in a game that held my intrest.
  • comaqi - February 7, 2012 9:13 a.m.

    Have to buy this! Looks amazing!
  • Darkhawk - February 7, 2012 8:30 a.m.

    I just picked up the first for $5, not even realising a sequel was on its way. Guess I'll have to boot it up some time soon.
  • ObliqueZombie - February 7, 2012 8:01 a.m.

    Looks like I'll be getting this somewhat soon. The demo blew me away, and Soul Calibur V just isn't my thing (but I'm trying to get better!), so this could be a good story I've been looking for in a game that's not SWTOR. Good to hear that the series is still going strong, even if some drastic cuts and changes were made. I'll still hold the original game in such high regards in my heart. That was one of the best $20 I ever spent.
  • Moondoggie1157 - February 7, 2012 7:29 a.m.

    I wish I would have played the first, the review really makes me want to go back and do it. By that time, maybe I can get a copy for a bit cheaper. I like the whole light and dark concept, gaining power by destroying lights. Kinda reminds me of SoD, just... opposite. Anywho, game looks great, if I had the cash I'd pick it up new.
  • larkan - February 7, 2012 7:20 a.m.

    So basically, if you have zero interest in the multiplayer aspect, you're paying $60 for a 10 hour game with little replay value. Thanks for the head's up, will wait for this one to go on sale!
  • ultimatepunchrod - February 7, 2012 7:50 a.m.

    Are you complaining about a 10 hour game? That's standard single player length. I could understand if you were mad about 5 hours but 10? Come on. I played the demo for this and liked it. Made me want to go back to the original first though.
  • bonerachieved - February 7, 2012 7:53 a.m.

    You can't just simplify it like that homie. Theres love an care put into this game and you should still want to play. Be it, not at 60 dollars, but 40 or 30 non the less.
  • codystovall - February 7, 2012 7:13 a.m.

    Open world is for games that dont have a story to tell. Linearity first then you can go wild.
  • Errrrbo - February 7, 2012 7:18 a.m.

    Agreed.
  • KnowYourPokemon - February 7, 2012 9:23 a.m.

    My god that comment makes my brain hurt. So you're saying Assassin's Creed, Prototype, Legend of Zelda, Pokemon(referring to Black/White), Mass Effect, Fallout 3, don't have any story to tell? I'm not saying linearity is a bad thing but if every game developer decided to make a game linear just to show the story we wouldn't have games like Deus Ex around, at least, not in the form that we know them. It's all a matter of how it affects the game. It's not as simple as "Do you want a story? Well better have linearity!" and "Want an open world? Sorry but no story for you!"

Showing 1-20 of 28 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Digital Extremes
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.