Google+

Spec Ops: The Line review

Great
Back to Article

32 comments

  • PowZee - August 17, 2012 8:04 a.m.

    Oh well . . . "One man's poision is another man's . . ." I played through Spec Ops: The Line campaign 3 times and am currently on my 4th playthrough, on the XB360, and have to say it's one of the best SP military FPS campaigns (story, graphics, and playability) to come along in years. The controls are a vbit loose but you get the hang of them pretty fast. Multiplayer is even fun for awhile but not remarkable. If you like challenging FPS action story shooters you'll find heart pumping and pounding moments galore in this game!
  • addisondm - August 2, 2012 5:22 p.m.

    this is by far the worst review i have read in my entire life. I am 26 years old, my first game played was hangman. This game on the pc was absolute garbage. Trash. To call it anything else is stupid. I created an account to log in to this website for the express purpose of saying how stupid this review is.
  • slighter9 - June 27, 2012 11:11 p.m.

    Dudebro = surefire dialog guaranteed not obtain alcohol or women
  • robotdickens - June 26, 2012 3:56 p.m.

    What happened to the little recap score review at the end? Teal Deers everywhere.
  • GR HollanderCooper - June 26, 2012 4:58 p.m.

    It's on the top right!
  • IceBlueKirby - June 26, 2012 3:28 p.m.

    I can overlook subpar gameplay for a compelling narrative, so I'll certainly have to check this one out.
  • Tjwoods18 - June 26, 2012 2:45 p.m.

    You guys do not know a nice game when you see one. It is akin to the heart of darkness which even then is hard to understand by simply glancing at it. Like every work of fiction you have to depict its story which a majority of you all fail to do. Who cares if the controls are sloppy, it is the story that carries a game to success.
  • gilgamesh310 - June 26, 2012 3:29 p.m.

    That's nonsense. Gameplay comes first. It doesn't matter how good a story is. If the gameplay is shit the game is shit, or at leeast mediocre. They gave it a good bit of praise anyway so I don't know what you are complaining about.
  • RonnyLive19881 - June 26, 2012 6 p.m.

    I take it you hated Deadly Premonition... I hold that game as the best game not made by Nintendo Lmao
  • gilgamesh310 - June 26, 2012 6:35 p.m.

    I haven't played it, though I do make one exception to the rule - Killer 7. I don't care for many nintendo games.
  • Tjwoods18 - June 26, 2012 6:37 p.m.

    Deadly premonition had a good story but, yes, the gameplay was crap.
  • meg127 - June 26, 2012 2:18 p.m.

    Sounds cool. But how are we supposed to add this game to our list of games we want? I don't see the option. :O
  • gilgamesh310 - June 26, 2012 1:39 p.m.

    So GR changed their scoring system to a 1 to 5 scale. That's good. As for the game itself, it's good to hear that about the narrative. It's no surprise that the gameplay isn't that great though. I had similar thoughts abou the game when I played the game, so I think I'l trust them here.
  • avedon-arcade - June 26, 2012 1:19 p.m.

    Maybe I just didn't get enough time with the game to get a feel for it. But right off the bat playing it, like which was mentioned, it felt very floaty and nothing about it seemed awesome. Perhaps the story is enough to carry it further but from the bit that I played, I quickly lost interest.
  • Child Of Death - June 26, 2012 12:48 p.m.

    I played the demo and yeah the controls are a little messed up but not enough to ruin the game for me. I thought the gameplay was pretty fun actually. Im looking forward to getting this.
  • BishopofHippo93 - June 26, 2012 10:30 a.m.

    Can we take the rating system back to out of 10 instead of 5? Or are we doing half stars, too?
  • Jcrayon45 - June 26, 2012 10:58 a.m.

    Its Still Out Of 10. They Do Half Stars.
  • Edias - June 26, 2012 12:51 p.m.

    If you want to look at it like that, the old system was out of twenty. Anyway; I like the changes that I've seen thus far. They have made the website a lot more accessible.
  • bebl09 - June 26, 2012 5:37 p.m.

    No, the old system wasn't out of 20. They didn't give out half points, it was only 1, 2, 3, etc, so it was only a 10 point scale. The new system is also a 10 point scale, as it's a score out of 5 but they give half points.
  • gazzc - June 26, 2012 10:25 a.m.

    Played the demo of this on Steam and was not overly impressed, the graphics were looking dated, it had a low FoV (which may possibly be adjustable somehow) and the first bit of combat starts out as a generic on rails shoot a minigun from the side of a helicopter before progressing to the usual hide behind a wall and shoot men. However the speech did seem pretty realistic so maybe the story will make up for the down sides.

Showing 1-20 of 32 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 26 2012 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Yager
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.