Google+

South Park: The Stick of Truth review

Excellent
Back to Article

46 comments

  • homestar99 - March 4, 2014 7:44 a.m.

    Sweet. I wasn't going to pick this up until a couple of reviews persuaded me that a licensed game didn't suck ass. Like the first Arkham game. As a "fan" of the show I'm willing to shell out money for this "sweet" game.
  • Doctor_Pancakes - March 4, 2014 7:37 a.m.

    It is a damn shame this isn't coming to Wii U. I'll probably never play this unless I break down and buy the PS3 version once it is at a bargain bin price. What will most likely happen though is I'll catch a channel on YouTube where someone posts a play through in a way that makes it seem like an episode.
  • pl4y4h - March 4, 2014 7:23 a.m.

    "Sweet"
  • CitizenWolfie - March 4, 2014 5:01 a.m.

    I'm REALLY tempted to get this, but with MGS:GZ and Infamous: Second Son out on the same day two weeks later (so I've read), should I go ahead and get it or save my money for the other two? I'm a huge South Park fan but it seems the sort of game that Sony will be offering free in about 8 months on PS+ (although Infamous is just as likely)
  • The_Tingler - March 4, 2014 8:04 a.m.

    It's entirely up to you dude and you have to think about both money and how much you want each game, but I'd a) say Infamous is more likely to hit PS+ free faster as it's first-party and they have more control over it, b) MGS: Ground Zeroes is basically a taster demo disc of MGS5 so it won't last you long, and c) if you're a South Park fan you'll think Stick of Truth is the best game ever made. I've finished it last night (reviewed it for another outlet) and I loved every minute of it. I concur with Coop entirely. It's not just a great South Park game, like Rocksteady's Arkham or Bioware's KOTOR it's a great RPG in it's own right.
  • CitizenWolfie - March 4, 2014 9:24 a.m.

    I guess I just know that with MGS, I'm likely to play it over and over again in different ways (like I did with the MGS2 demo) so that 2 hour play time can easily become 10-12. Perhaps I will give South Park a try (been a huge fan of the show since the first series back in the late 90s) and put Infamous on the "maybe" pile instead. The only reason I ended up playing the second Infamous is thanks to PS+ but it reminded me how much I loved playing the first one. You know what? It's probably going to be a coin toss...
  • The_Tingler - March 4, 2014 10:42 a.m.

    Yeah, that all sounds fair enough. South Park should last you around 15 hours if you do all the side quests (and they're all great so you really should), not gigantic compared to some RPGs but more than worth the money.
  • Apollus08 - March 4, 2014 4:21 a.m.

    God I can't wait to get this game after work. I'm gonna play till my eyes bleed
  • Kermit1970 - March 4, 2014 2:07 a.m.

    You forgot to mention that it's been censored in the EU
  • The_Tingler - March 4, 2014 8:05 a.m.

    Why would he? He's American, playing on PC where it's not censored even in Europe, plus that has nothing to do with the quality of the game.
  • Swedish_Chef - March 4, 2014 12:57 a.m.

    S")$SYHUE:7G54$@DF
  • Swedish_Chef - March 4, 2014 12:58 a.m.

    SORRY THAT WASN'T ME IT WAS A SPOOKY GHOST!!! IT'S ECTOPLASM!!!
  • universaltofu - March 4, 2014 12:54 a.m.

    Sweet.
  • StrayGator - March 4, 2014 12:45 a.m.

    How would you compare it to Costume Quest?
  • The_Tingler - March 4, 2014 8:07 a.m.

    Better in every way, and I loved Costume Quest. The fights are more involved, the jokes are more relentlessly funny, the structure is less repetitive, it's 4-5 times longer and there's actually an ending.
  • GOD - March 4, 2014 12:24 a.m.

    Hmmmm so in true RPG parody fashion I wonder if it has several post game bosses that are stupidly hard... there are too many possible bosses they could use for that. Now if only I had time to play this.....
  • GOD - March 4, 2014 12:26 a.m.

    Also, it's good to see that all the delays seem to have been worth it. I was worried this was one of those delayed until it gets ruined kind of scenarios.
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - March 4, 2014 12:27 a.m.

    No stupidly hard bosses that I ever found :D
  • GOD - March 4, 2014 12:34 a.m.

    To be clear I didn't mean something story related that was stupidly hard, but an optional boss like Sephiroth in Kingdom Hearts who is just there to be cool and ridiculously strong. Like a secret Mecha-Streisand boss ;D This works out well for you though, because now you don't have to worry about finishing before Dark Souls 2... unless you're already playing that too.... you dirty snitch you better not be....
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - March 4, 2014 12:38 a.m.

    Guess you'll find out on March 11, 9am PST ;)

Showing 21-40 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 04 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Ubisoft, THQ
Developed by: Obsidian
Franchise: South Park
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Mature Humor, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.