Google+

Soulcalibur V review

Back to Article

28 comments

  • samsneeze - January 31, 2012 11:51 a.m.

    If it isn't as good as Soul Calibur II, then there really isn't any point in me picking this up anytime soon or at all really. Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown will be out on Xbox Live Arcade and Playstation Network Q3 of this year and Dead or Alive 5(My real "fighter fix") will soon follow that with its Winter release. So yeah, I'm going to pass. I may rent this at some point, though.
  • shawksta - January 31, 2012 12:13 p.m.

    I see where your coming from, but in general 5 is better through this gen, 2 was more open to all types of people, competitive, or just wants to have tons of fun.
  • samsneeze - January 31, 2012 1:04 p.m.

    Five is better because of updated visuals and online? I'm sorry, I'm not following you here. Even then, that's stuff I can do without since there is no point in getting something that I'll honestly only play for a couple of months before Virtua Fighter and DoA come along. They are fighting games that do it better than the rest in my opinion. I still play Dead or Alive 4 online semi-regularly and the game itself was practically a launch title for the 360. Whereas when Soul Calibur IV came out I played it for a few months and then sat it back on the shelf. Getting it now would be crazy. Paying sixty dollars for a series that I only kind of like and won't play very long would be crazy. And at best, by the time Virtua Fighter: Final Showdown comes out, the game will still be upwards of thirty dollars. The review says II>V (Even if it's just a bit) so I'm going with that to be honest. Now if the review had said something like "This Soul Calibur blows every other out the water and sets the new standard for 3D fighters" then I'd be hard pressed to go ahead and give it a shot. The way I see it, Virtua Fighter and Dead or Alive function better as fighting games. Their community may not be as strong Soul Calibur's(Mainly due to the fact that VF is viewed as "Hard" or "boring" and DoA is viewed as "lol boobz") but that doesn't really matter when it boils down to the fun and depth to be had with the Virtua Fighter and Dead or Alive series.
  • shawksta - January 31, 2012 10:41 p.m.

    Hey hold on, you misunderstood me, im not comparing SC to the other fighting games, each fighting game is unique in their own way, Virtua,Dead or alive, Mortal Kombat SF,MvC, ect. I never compare Fighters cause they each bring something different. Im ONLY talking about Soul Calibur for its series in this gen not with others in terms of new standards. 5 beats 4 by a longshot, thats it, 2 was technically more fun for everybody.
  • samsneeze - January 31, 2012 11:11 p.m.

    No think you're the one who misunderstood(I can see where you got that from). I was only giving examples as to why I wouldn't be purchasing Soul Calibur V. Soul Calibur IV just wasn't interesting as a game. Gameplay hadn't evolved much, the online community was terrible, story was bad, the guest characters were stupid. I'm not really saying Virtua Fighter and Dead or Alive are definitively better, but rather how they appealed to me, their release schedules and why Soul Calibur can't really grab hold of my interest. It's better than Soul Calibur IV "by a long shot", but is that really an accomplishment considering that it's still not as good as Soul Calibur II? I don't think so. It's like saying Final Fantasy XIII-2 should get all my money because people agree that it's better than Final Fantasy XIII(Which I thought was terrible by the way.). I'm sorry no, but that's silly. In all honesty though, there really isn't anything wrong with comparing games at all, especially fighters. So long as 2D and 3D fighters are kept separate and the comparisons are kept to variety, balance, and gameplay mechanics. Most people are completely shocked when they find out how deep a certain game can get.
  • shawksta - February 1, 2012 8:13 p.m.

    Hey its your opinion, im not gonna tell you what you should buy, if soul calibur isnt your things with 4 then thats fine, its your preferences. I dont want to go there with Final Fantasy, point given, 5 is better than 4, simple as that, Yoda and Vader were unnessesary. And its hard nowadays for any game of that matter to reach the awesome level of the last Gens.
  • ObliqueZombie - January 31, 2012 11:27 a.m.

    Gah, it's between this or Dark Souls for me... I'm leaning more towards this, because it won't require as much of a time-sink, and I haven't played a good fighting game in years. Yeah, I think I'll be picking this up soon! Maybe... unless Dark Souls is good... no wait! I can't! I have to balance college and SWTOR and either of those games... so maybe this? No, no! Dark Souls! HELP!
  • slickmcwilly - January 31, 2012 11:57 a.m.

    i can't speak for soul calibur, but dark souls is great, it's frustrating at times but it keeps bringing me back for more.
  • BladedFalcon - January 31, 2012 3:39 p.m.

    Well... Have you played a soul Calibur game before? if you have, what you are getting here is mostly the same with with prettier graphics, and super combo gauge and such. If you really like the series, or 3D fighter games in general, then you'll probably like this. With Dark souls however... I can GUARANTEE you have not played anything like it. (Except for demon souls... and i suspect you haven't.) Yes it's challenging, yes it's long, and yes it doesn't have much in the way of actual, spoon fed story. But the scale of the game, the setting, and the surprisingly fair, methodical combat and exploration are one of it's kind. Like slick, i can't vouch for SCV, but i CAN vouch for Dark Souls. I absolutely loved the game, easily one of my top 5 of last year. But well, more than the length, you have to ask yourself how much do you want to be challenged? Because DS will NOT go easy on you, but if you embrace the challenge and overcome it, it really does offer a gratification most games this generation simply don't have. However, if you want an accessible, fast and simple good time, SCV is likely to deliver that better.
  • ObliqueZombie - February 1, 2012 8:20 a.m.

    Good opinions guys, it's really helping! However, my ONLY issue with Dark Souls is this: I need to make time for other games, especially SWTOR which has a monthly subscription (however, recent birthday has granted my a few time cards, so no biggie there). One of my best friends has it, and he's told me NOTHING but good things about. So many good things, in fact, I started having the biggest itch to play it, and I almost sold a few games for it, despite my lack of money. The challenge? I know of this. I did extensive research on Demon Souls when it came out, and I couldn't WAIT to try it--and then I realized that I won't be getting a PS3, and my dad didn't want me touching his. So yeah. Then Dark Souls came out, and I couldn't WAIT to play it! The challenge, as well as the combat system and beautiful Gothic graphics, made me ecstatic to try it. But with Soulcalibur, well, I haven't played one since IV, and that was only a few times. I'm not too familiar with fighters, and I keep asking myself when was the last good fighting game I played? Never, I tell myself, and that seems a good enough reason to purchase this one. Plus with college and my other gaming addictions, Soulcalibur V seems to better buy. For now, at least, because Dark Souls is STILL one of my top Must-Play Games. TL;DR: Thanks for the advice, guys, it'll go into consideration when I go to GameStop!
  • revrock - January 31, 2012 11:18 a.m.

    I did not expect such a good score... I am truly impressed!

Showing 21-28 of 28 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Fighting
Published by: Namco Bandai
Developed by: Project Soul
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending