Google+

Sniper Elite V2 review

AT A GLANCE
  • Every gory, detailed kill
  • Customizable difficulty
  • The satisfaction of being a good ghost
  • Feels unpolished in some points
  • Some checkpoint scarcity at times
  • The game, if you play it like a Gears-style shooter

Yes, Sniper Elite V2 is a game in which, through an x-ray kill-cam, you can see a man’s testicles explode from the force of a high-velocity sniper rifle round. But the sooner you giggle that imagery out of your system, the sooner you’ll realize that such silliness is in stark contrast to the realism and quality that this game exhibits. It’s not always the most polished game, but overall, it’s a pleasantly fun surprise.

While the setting of V2 is the same as its 2005 Xbox-era predecessor, the premise is different. World War II is nearing its close, and the Germans are all but defeated. You are a lone American sniper creeping and crawling around ruined Berlin in an effort to stop the Russians from acquiring assets related to powerful V2 Rockets, hence the name of the game.

The mission isn’t the only thing that’s changed since the first Sniper Elite, though. The 2005 original gave you a limited number of saves per level; V2 has a well-designed (except for a few specific occasions) checkpoint system that prevents excessive frustration. The larger, emptier environments of the original game have been replaced with richer, more tactically conducive ones in V2. You won’t find as many missions either, but even that’s an improvement; V2 keeps the objectives varied and avoids tedium by condensing and refining the physical scope of the game.



Above: I think that red thing in the middle is sort of important

Speaking of scopes, one of the most satisfying gameplay aspects remains the sniping — which is what you’d hope for. The mission structure of finding a vantage point, lining up your target, and squeezing the trigger are disturbingly gratifying. The new x-ray kill cams aren’t there solely to gross you out, but to graphically educate you on what exactly is happening as a metal slug rips through a body at 2500fps. Whether it’s the destruction of the heart, lungs, or head (among many, many other possibilities), any fatal blow is displayed in slow-motion (with bullet cam) — not just so you can watch the exquisite detail of all the gory happenings, but also so you have enough time to fist pump in self-congratulation.

But don’t assume V2 is all scoped shooting; half of your time will be spent slinking in the shadows. Maintaining stealth is crucial en route to each objective or vantage point. You don’t have a silenced sniper rifle, but you do have stones for distraction, a short-range silenced pistol, and of course, the ability to snap necks from behind.


Above: You’ll have to move quietly to each vantage point — that means heavy use of your silenced pistol

Combining that tension of sneaking and the pressure of a single make-or-break shot makes V2 emotionally intense. You are one man against two armies, and it always feels that way. While the core mechanics are reliable enough to run and gun (you do carry an SMG, though ammo is scarce), the game’s joy comes from careful, cautious play. It’s not designed around playing Gears of War-style. If you attempt to, you’ll discover not only how important sniping is, but frankly, how much the other elements just aren’t sustainable as a third-person action shooter. If you want to kill your buzz, run and gun. If you want to enjoy the intensity of creeping around and pulling off gruesome shots, color within the lines. Guns blazing should be a last resort, but ultimately, how you play will depend on how you configure the difficulty settings — a few preset, plus 27 possible customizable configurations, affecting everything from realism to bullet trajectory and wind resistance – which ensures that whether you just want big kills or you want conditions closer to the real-world, you’ve got options.

More Info

Release date: Sep 27 2012 - PC
May 01 2012 - Xbox 360
May 02 2012 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Wii U, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 505 Games
Developed by: Rebellion Studios
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000
  • Ichigo_Paris_Kurosaki - January 1, 2014 12:28 a.m.

    I kept seeing the game in gamestop ive looked at it, turnd away, looked at it again and said naw lol i wish i would have picked it up when i had the chance but i got MH3U instead wich is an awsome game so im not to disappointed
  • talleyXIV - June 14, 2012 10:03 p.m.

    Don't call me CoD fanboy but this game would be much better as an FPS. It would really help with the clunkiness and overall heavy feeling of the game. I really like it though. Good rent
  • Balaska - May 4, 2012 12:21 a.m.

    This pretty much my perfect game, loved the first one, played the demo to death, had it on pre-order for a while now, just off to pick it up :D :D :D. Weekend wasted, Girlfriend annoyed, better buy her a present...
  • SpiritTemple - May 4, 2012 2:05 a.m.

    That's the spirit ^_^
  • BaraChat - May 2, 2012 4:49 p.m.

    The gore is a big turn-off for me. I mean, I don't care about blood and the usual "violent" stuff. But to make breaking bones and organs in slow-mo one of your selling points (à la Mortal Kombat reboot)? That's crossing the line. Other than that, the game looks pretty cool/fun to play.
  • ObliqueZombie - May 2, 2012 5:08 p.m.

    But that's exactly what happens, so it's not entirely unnecessary or "too far."
  • Shadow Of Death - May 2, 2012 6:31 p.m.

    You can turn that off if it really bothers you, you know? Actually you can increase or decrease the frequency that happens. I have it on default and it happens most of the time when I get a kill (particularly headshots).
  • RedHarlow - May 2, 2012 6:51 p.m.

    Nothing wrong with a little anatomy and wound ballistics lesson.
  • patbateman17 - May 3, 2012 6:06 a.m.

    Sorry a sniping game offends your delicate sensibilities. I think there are a few Kinectimals games out there that would suit you better? Seriously, don't be such a puss. The ballistics and the damage are "realistic" (of course some exaggerations I'm sure) - so what's the problem? Don't play a sniper game if you don't like it.
  • lazer59882 - May 3, 2012 10:16 a.m.

    don't be such an asshole. maybe that'd help.
  • patbateman17 - May 3, 2012 12:13 p.m.

    Lazer, don't just stare at it, EAT it.
  • IceBlueKirby - May 2, 2012 4:24 p.m.

    I didn't think I had any reason to check out this game until I bothered reading the review. I'll have to play the demo, but it sounds like it would be a cool game to play, and it seems to offer something quite a bit different from most shooters.
  • KingDjango - May 2, 2012 3:24 p.m.

    You'll also love shooting Hitler in his one testicle ((capcha onproo Baldwin~One time I headbutted a T-Rex and it combusted))
  • patbateman17 - May 2, 2012 3:27 p.m.

    Not if you didn't pre-order :( Damn! Also - does it really show just one??
  • BladedFalcon - May 2, 2012 7:06 p.m.

    It might be a reference to the "Hitler has only got one ball" song. XD
  • DictatorStan - May 12, 2012 2:56 p.m.

    Nope! Fun fact: Hitler and Napoleon each had only one testicle! -The More You Know
  • patbateman17 - May 2, 2012 2:42 p.m.

    God I've been waiting for GR's review of this game. Most of the other reviews have been pretty shitty, but I just feel like GR captures what I like a little better than other sites do (Castlevania:LoS being the only miss on my end). The demo is fun as could be and seems like it could get stale, but ultimately was enjoyable enough to replay again and again just for the killshots and xray cams. It's about time to play a game just because it's fun...that's also why I bought Rayman Origins :)
  • smcgarvey - May 2, 2012 3:16 p.m.

    I played some of it, too. I liken it to a great B-movie that punches above its weight. There's definitely some clunk to it (wonky AI, doesn't handle great outside of sniping, so you're screwed, Splinter Cell-style, if you're caught), but it's really, really fun.