Google+

Sleeping Dogs review

Back to Article

46 comments

  • Curtis_Stone - August 14, 2012 12:39 a.m.

    Great review, sir! Unfortunately, Sleeping Dogs (along with any other game that's come out the past few months) will have to wait until I'm in a better place to own them all! Glad to hear Square-Enix breathed new life into this and we can finally experience it!
  • Clovin64 - August 14, 2012 12:46 a.m.

    I was never really interested in this game unti now, but it sounds pretty impressive. Most open world games seem to be lacking in the combat department, but pinching the melee from Arkham City sounds like a sweet idea. I'll think about giving this one a look.
  • theinvinciblemick - August 14, 2012 1:16 a.m.

    So activision cancelled this game because they thought its not going to be good enough? I guess they were wrong
  • avantguardian - August 14, 2012 1:52 a.m.

    the best thing about this game has to be that it doesn't take place in new york;)
  • sternparez - August 14, 2012 5:11 a.m.

    Looks like Saints Row but without the horrible gameplay! I think I'll be picking it up
  • Rhymenocerous - August 14, 2012 5:14 a.m.

    The second page about the linearity of missions completely put me off. To me, it has the same problem as GTA4 - and that's a damn shame.
  • cwdd47 - August 14, 2012 5:34 a.m.

    What happened to the "is it better than"section? I always enjoyed that part of the reviews
  • Crypto140 - August 14, 2012 6:14 a.m.

    I want to know how the reviewer would compare this more in depth to the GTA series or the Saints Row series
  • GR HollanderCooper - August 14, 2012 3:04 p.m.

    It's more fun than GTA from a pure gameplay standpoint, and has better mechanics than Saints Row, even if the missions aren't as entertaining.
  • BladedFalcon - August 14, 2012 5:43 a.m.

    Hell yeah! I became interested and hopeful about this game almost as soon as the first gameplay video appeared. It looked like it had a ton of potential, and I'm so happy to know it didn't disappoint! :D Too bad I was right about the bugs and glitches XD which seem to be to go hand in hand with anything that's related to the true crime series >>; (Altough fortunately, they don't seem to be as frequent or as bad as those in TC: New York.)
  • Ravenwild - August 14, 2012 6:30 a.m.

    God those video reviews are awful. I'd like to have someone talk about what they think of the game not read something someone else wrote about the game.
  • winner2 - August 14, 2012 7:56 a.m.

    You say its got a compelling narrative, but without many memorable or interesting characters or missions? I'm confused. I can't see a game managing to pull that off for me.
  • BladedFalcon - August 14, 2012 9:11 a.m.

    A plot can be good and engrossing without having particularly memorable characters. I think that what they are trying to say here, is that the characters work well for the story that is being told, but they don't leave the impression, or are quite as colorful as the characters of, say, a GTA game. That, and as I understand it, Wei is actually a good character and compelling protagonist, it's just the rest of the cast that don't leave a mark.
  • winner2 - August 14, 2012 1:13 p.m.

    I how you're right and that this game is worth a buy later this year. Hopefully it brings appeal in its own way as well as GTA has with its characters.
  • BladedFalcon - August 14, 2012 4:25 p.m.

    Pretty sure it will. Like I mentioned it in the past, it's really not often that videogames have explored the whole undercover agent premise like movies have. So that alone makes it appealing to me both story and gameplay-wise, and seeing the reviews all around, it's safe to say that it nails it. Also, let's be fair here, I'm pretty sure the character's aren't half bad, but again, if your standard from the genre is GTA, even if you have decent characters, of course they are going to feel sub-par, considering the cast in the GTA game is one of their strongest points. (mainly because the overall plot is seldom taht interesting.) Plus, I dunno about you, but I am itching to try out the combat system. I mean, take the fluidity of Akrham city's combat, and add in the ablity to break bones, throw people into grinders, dumpsters, and electricity sockets? Hell yes please!
  • Evanesco - August 14, 2012 8:28 a.m.

    Good news then. I was getting this game because it looked entertaining enough to keep me occupied until Guild Wars 2's headstart on the 25th. The fact that it's awesome is just icing.
  • Darkhawk - August 14, 2012 12:34 p.m.

    Kudos to Ubisoft for crafting another brilliant original IP. I look forward to Sleep Dogs 2, which should hopefully do for the series what Assassin's Creed II did for them before.
  • BladedFalcon - August 14, 2012 12:41 p.m.

    Um... Ubisoft? This was published by Square Enix...
  • Dante1924 - August 14, 2012 6:11 p.m.

    I think he might have been thinking about Watch Dogs. Sorry Darkhawk, but while they both have "dogs" in the title, Ubisoft did not make Sleeping Dogs. He does have a point, however, about a sequel improving things on an Assassin's Creed II level. Make the missions more interesting, improve the story, and we'd have an amazing sequel! Hopefully, the game will sell enough to warrant a sequel...
  • avantguardian - August 15, 2012 1:18 a.m.

    this game actually isn't an original ip. it's the newest true crime game. that is, until it got unceremoniously dumped, picked up, re-named, and finished. for near vaporware, it looks pretty awesome, i gotta say.

Showing 1-20 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 14 2012 - PC
Oct 14 2014 - Xbox One
Aug 14 2012 - PS3
Oct 14 2014 - PS4
Aug 14 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox One, PS3, PS4, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Square Enix
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Use of Drugs, Sexual Content