Google+

Shadows of the Damned review

Back to Article

37 comments

  • Darkhawk - June 25, 2011 3:24 a.m.

    I'd take this review more seriously if you hadn't posted a fawning interview with Suda 51 a few days before.
  • Yeager1122 - June 25, 2011 3 a.m.

    Glad to see that this game is good will defintley be picking it up when i get the chance.
  • V22Dreamcast - June 25, 2011 2:58 a.m.

    Great well-written review. Planning to pick this up soon or wait for the eventual $10-$20 dollar price drop. I loved No More Heroes and glad to see another great, fun, crazy Suda 51 game, combined with the great talents of Mikami and Akira Y.
  • hester2 - June 25, 2011 2:40 a.m.

    @austincharlesbond It's hard to compare since the two are so different. If you liked the gameplay of Resident Evil 4 (well, really Dead Space since you can move while aiming) and the humor of No More Heroes, you'll love this. Even if you didn't like the humor of No More Heroes but love grindhouse films and/or the Evil Dead series, you will love this.
  • austincharlesbond - June 25, 2011 2:25 a.m.

    Is it better than No More Heroes 2?
  • hester2 - June 25, 2011 2:11 a.m.

    I will never understand why I agree with literally every review I've ever read on this website. Well, I guess not "literally." I hated, and I mean HATED, Brutal Legend. Other than that, 100% agreement.
  • tofu666 - June 25, 2011 2:05 a.m.

    I really like the game and can say it is better than RE5. I have told my friends to buy this full price as I know this won't sell a lot. We all know worse, generic, and boring games sell more than this game probably will this week. I want games like this to be supported, but who knows, maybe it will sell well. If not, I want to create the "Play Shadows of the Damned" pin.
  • 510BrotherPanda - June 25, 2011 1:57 a.m.

    "Virtually no replay value" I dunno, Henry...ANY game has decent replay value if you let it settle for a while. Like going back to play NES and SNES stuff on their original consoles instead of the 3DS or Wii... Nice review, regardless. It's a shame that I'm not really a shooter genre fan, or have the system to play it on....
  • lordgodalming - October 2, 2011 2:46 p.m.

    I'm with you on this replay value thing. If a game is fun, it has replay value.
  • Technomancer - June 25, 2011 1:45 a.m.

    As much as I hate to say it, this game is destined to be a cult hit, and not just because of the potential consumer response. There are two Gamestops in my town, they only got in 1 copy between the two, and that was my pre-order.
  • Ampatent - June 25, 2011 1:08 a.m.

    Hmm, I'm surprised you didn't make any further comment on the games story. I know it left me somewhat confused even after I finished it, but I guess it was just me then. Not sure about a 9, an 8 sounds better by the GR score, but it's certainly worth picking up and playing either way.
  • Letter11 - June 25, 2011 10:44 a.m.

    I really loved this game, and it's nice to see a review that takes its overwhelming personality into account. I can't remember the last time a game made me laugh so much. (Maybe a Doublefine Game?) Little things like the story books that Garcia and Johnson narrate add so much. And after listening to Tdar I gotta say I agree that the "light sushi" moments (or whatever they're called) have the best music. I didn't play Duke Nukem forever but just watching the video of the "impregnated" girls part came of really disturbing to me. Interesting how this plot also its has dark moments but still retains its hilarity. Maybe because Garcia actually cares what happens to Paula? I'm glad I bought it and I hope it sells well, I just wish there was a New Game+ option. I really wanted to play through until my weapons were maxed out and emasculate some demons. Awesome game. Sequel Please.
  • asspills - June 25, 2011 2:12 a.m.

    I think I might buy this game in place of renting it, -mostly so that the developer gets my dollar. I'll buy it, play it, love it, then be done with it. But this kind of game needs to be supported.
  • Cleanser247 - June 25, 2011 1:09 a.m.

    Don't worry about the review being late Henry! I totally understand why, and it's not a problem at all! Great review by the way! I enjoyed reading it! Keep up the great work! : ) Oh, and P.S. I loved when you sang the "10 cents a dance" Bioshock 2 song on this weeks Tuesday TalkRadar! Not only did it bring back memories of me playing Bioshock 2, but it also made me smile as well! : )
  • FrozenImplosion - June 25, 2011 1:07 a.m.

    GAH :( I've been looking forward to this soooo much but I can't play it yet. THIS IS SO FRUSTRATING. Great review though, not that I had to be convinced to get it though haha
  • DualWieldingIsNotFeasible - June 25, 2011 1:04 a.m.

    I'm playing through this right now and loving it. The interplay between Garcia and Johnson is absolutely hysterical and the gameplay is refreshingly different from anything I've played for a long time.
  • Phazon117 - June 25, 2011 1:03 a.m.

    Definitely picking this up. Quite the convincing review, Henry.

Showing 21-37 of 37 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 21 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Jun 24 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Grasshopper Manufacture
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+