Google+

Shadows of the Damned review

Excellent
Back to Article

37 comments

  • Warfox9 - August 27, 2011 11:07 a.m.

    It's an awful game and it got 9!!!? Gamesradar gave it 9 just because of its penis jokes? I just don't get Gamesradar ratings at times. First 20 mins and I stowed the game away... to be forgotten as a nightmare!
  • inconceivable - June 30, 2011 5 p.m.

    Muy Muy Muy Muy Bueno! I'll definitely be picking this up when I have money again.
  • reson8er - June 27, 2011 7:52 p.m.

    Finished this on hard (heh heh) this weekend. Absolutely loved this game, looking forward to when I get some time to go through it a couple more times and get the Platinum. Fantastic Game.
  • eliguy83 - June 27, 2011 5:14 p.m.

    @jackthemenace Then you'll appreciate one of the homages partway through. I know I did ;) I finished this game last week and it was serious fun. I miss that there's no New Game+ too as that would have added so much to the replayability. And omg, I MUST HAVE THIS SOUNDTRACK. Seriously, this game has spectacular music.
  • FelNaRj - June 26, 2011 9:41 p.m.

    ma be this is a gamer to love or to hate , GT gave a 6.2 i think i was pretty dissapointed but this review give me the points i need it to decide on buying this game :D THANKS GR LIKE ALWAYS :D
  • jackthemenace - June 26, 2011 3:41 p.m.

    I MUST HAVE THIS GAME. Ever since the 'Enlarge your Johnson' trailer, and then the fact someone reffered to it as the "'Evil dead' of Video Games", I've been waiting for the review, because I was convinced something that awesome looking couldn't BE that awesome. And it is.
  • cguti91 - June 26, 2011 4:04 a.m.

    It's a great review for this game, I just got it and i can definitely recommend it it's kinda resident evil meets Robert Rodriguez' Planet Terror it gory, violent and a bit twisted, but in the best way possible, it even funny because it feels like it doesn't take itself too seriously but it still has what it takes to be enjoyable
  • DeathbyFira - June 25, 2011 9:58 p.m.

    So going to buy this :D
  • MysterEnygma - June 25, 2011 8:38 p.m.

    am I like, the only one that didn't care for this? sucks being the odd man out
  • warsaz - June 25, 2011 6:50 p.m.

    I want this bad!
  • FalconMbuster - June 25, 2011 5:57 p.m.

    Bought it, and I'm halfway through and LOVE IT. Garcia and Johnson have a hilarious comedic relationship. They act as if their on a road trip half the time, casually passing dick jokes back and forth. I will admit some bosses are confusing, but I personally enjoy puzzle-type boss fights.
  • Jaces - June 25, 2011 5:51 p.m.

    I'd love to pick this up but with the no replay value point I think I'll wait till it drops to half the price or might even just rent it.
  • Aletheon - June 25, 2011 3:34 p.m.

    This game is amazing. My only disappointment is lack of any sort of new game plus mode....but that's okay, I'll play through again on hard mode
  • TriforcePlayer - June 25, 2011 2:50 p.m.

    Won't be getting this.
  • philipshaw - June 25, 2011 2:36 p.m.

    Great review, want this game now but I will wait until I have the cash
  • hester2 - June 25, 2011 1:39 p.m.

    I think the difference is context. It's Hell, so you expect some messed up stuff to go down. The dark moments aren't used for comedy, either.
  • quincytheodore - June 25, 2011 7:26 a.m.

    Really? Nine and almost the same as Vanquish? Will check it out, thanks for the review.
  • StoneDreadnaught - June 25, 2011 4:40 a.m.

    I'm just happy that Grasshopper can proudly display a title that not only fits with their crazy pedigree, but also has highly functional game mechanics. And Suda 51 is getting close to Platinum Games in my book, in that I'll by pretty much everything they make, like No More Heroes and Killer 7. I just hope now that they use this dream team very gingerly, like have them make a game every 3-5 years so as not to water down the magic these guys can create.
  • hester2 - June 25, 2011 4:38 a.m.

    Yeah, I know the environment and humor was great, I just couldn't get past the awful, AWFUL RTS gameplay. I guess I was too spoiled by the PC going into it. It probably didn't help that I was expecting a challenger to Psychonauts (and if you say Brutal Legend, or any other game ever, was better than Psychonauts, I will challenge you to a real-life stick-sword duel). Completely off topic, ReCaptcha's are hard as hell to read when you're drunk.
  • Genericpenisjoketista - June 25, 2011 4:31 a.m.

    @Hester2 BRUTAL LEGEND WAS THE MOST CHARMING GAME THAT WAS EVERY EXISTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No, but for real, that game rocked my socks back and forth.

Showing 1-20 of 37 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 21 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Jun 24 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Grasshopper Manufacture
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.