Google+

Ryse: Son of Rome review

Back to Article

44 comments

  • saucymonk - November 21, 2013 6:32 a.m.

    I am so getting this. It looks amazing. PS4 could not achieve anything anywhere near as good as this. XBONE RULES!!
  • freeden - November 21, 2013 7:23 a.m.

    Don't worry, the next God of War will be leagues better than this, just as all of the past GoW games were.
  • Jackonomics - November 21, 2013 2:41 p.m.

    Last I checked GOW Ascension was nothing but Visuals while the gameplay was shit because they used the same weapon but with different elements.
  • nash1991 - November 21, 2013 3:02 p.m.

    Again, not true. GoW: Ascension got a lot of flak not because its gameplay was shit, but because after GoW 3, you couldn't really enjoy killing lesser Gods and characters. The gameplay was more or less the same it has been since GoW 2 and 3 and it was a solidly built game. Just not as exciting as GoW 3 was its downfall.
  • Jackonomics - November 21, 2013 5:55 p.m.

    No God of War 3 (atleast to me) felt like Zelda, you get new weapons almost everytime you fight someone major and as you said with the whole gods thing. Acension didn't go from there, it stuck with the blades and just added more elements to them.
  • talleyXIV - November 21, 2013 4:16 p.m.

    Isn't that exactly what Ryse is? Visuals and the same weapon over and over.
  • Jackonomics - November 21, 2013 5:56 p.m.

    I don't see any reason to call it better
  • freeden - November 21, 2013 4:17 p.m.

    I didn't play GoW Ascension. Not really all that interested in prequels for the series, especially since GoW 3 basically completed the original trilogy in epic fashion. As I understand, a 4th GoW is coming which will essentially create a new trilogy. Afterall, they did leave a massive cliffhanger at the end of 3, so we all know a new, proper sequel is coming.
  • talleyXIV - November 21, 2013 4:15 p.m.

    Even though the PS4 technically has more power?
  • pl4y4h - November 21, 2013 6:21 a.m.

    Watched some gameplay and I can safely say this game bored me after about 10 minutes
  • Eightboll812 - November 21, 2013 6:07 a.m.

    --"Characters have a level of degree you haven't seen from a video game before," --"you'll be stunned by how much better Ryse looks than anything else you've ever played." Did those sentences intend to end with "on a console"? So you are saying, a PC enthusiast hasn't seen a video game with this level of degree or that looks this good. Ever? Just looking for clarification, because I do believe you when you say it looks extremely beautiful. I just don't believe the hyperbole in which it's expressed. So this game compares to a modded Skyrim on a PC like what was described as "like a next gen" game in a previous GR article? Or some other current set piece game on PC?
  • mothbanquet - November 21, 2013 8:32 a.m.

    I've got Rome Total War II running on max and I get to see this x5000. Nothing like seeing thousands of little Marius' running around, hacking each other to pieces. And you get to recruit naked blokes, too!
  • Jackonomics - November 21, 2013 2:39 p.m.

    Must you always bring up PC? Isn't it already bad enough that every single multiplat game has PC superiority? Stop holding your shitty pride nobody fucking cares about
  • Eightboll812 - November 22, 2013 9:52 a.m.

    When someone says its the looks better than anything else I've ever played, yeah, I'm going to compare it to PC. In your own immortal words... DEAL WITH IT! lol.
  • BladedFalcon - November 21, 2013 5:51 a.m.

    From what I watched from the livestream yesterday, this sounds about right, with a slightly higher score for my money, since to me, challenge IS most definitely important. Still, yeah, the game did look gorgeous, the presentation was great, and the combat worked fine... Only problem is that I felt I was watching the exact same match unfold every single time without much variation whatsoever, and that there was nothing else to the gameplay other than move forward and slice some dudes. Basically, a well crafted game on a technical standpoint... just not a very well designed one when it comes to gameplay and level variety.
  • MeanwhileGuy - November 21, 2013 5:47 a.m.

    Judging from the pronounced response of "Meh" from Metacritic, seems you guys are one of the only positive reviews. And I'm sorry, but if you fail a QTE prompt, the animation should not play out. Them's the rules. And nice visuals and a half-decent story should not take balance for repetitive, boring combat and a massive amount of linearity, so I'm thinking the reviews giving it 6's are slightly more accurate. Judging by GR, looks like the Xbox One isn't exactly enjoying a decent start for its exclusives. I mean, two 7's for Dead Rising and Ryse, and an 8 for Forza isn't really spectacular.
  • Trg564 - November 21, 2013 2:30 p.m.

    It's not looking fantastic for launch games on either console. I reckon the best bet is to wait until about March.
  • Jackonomics - November 21, 2013 3:50 p.m.

    " And nice visuals and a half-decent story should not take balance for repetitive, boring combat and a massive amount of linearity, so I'm thinking the reviews giving it 6's are slightly more accurate. " Tell that to the last of us and Gone Home, and the Walking dead and every other game people overlook their crappy game play atleast the exclusives are still good, and didn't become an abomination like Knack did and don't forget Killer Instinct doing solid as well. PS4 only has Killzone going for it in terms of exclusives.
  • antiAntag0nist - November 21, 2013 5:09 a.m.

    Solid review
  • Redeater - November 21, 2013 5:05 a.m.

    I'll be honest, after the scathing previews this received I'm shocked it is scoring 6's across the board so far....
  • Decabo - November 21, 2013 3:44 a.m.

    So basically, it's a short, repetitive, ultra-linear, shallow game. But it gets a good score because it looks pretty and has a decent story. I guess different people play games for different reasons...
  • jh4911 - November 21, 2013 3:58 a.m.

    It's like you didn't bother to read or watch the review.

Showing 21-40 of 44 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 22 2013 - Xbox One (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox One
Genre: Action
Developed by: Crytek
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Sexual Content