Google+

Resident Evil 5 review

Excellent
Back to Article

90 comments

  • GamesRadarBrettElston - March 11, 2009 9:28 p.m.

    "That score doesn't represent the review at all. If a hyped game doesn't live up to its expectations, you guys shouldn't be afraid to give it the score it deserves." I say over and over that the co-op is excellent, and the gameplay is still immensely fun, it's just not the game-changer that RE4 was. I gave RE4 a 10, RE5 is a bit lower, hence a 9. I'm on my third trip through the game right now. It's a great time.
  • Phazon117 - March 11, 2009 7:22 p.m.

    Gaylo is one of the stupidest fanboy puns around. Nice review btw, GR.
  • Captain-Gorbster - March 11, 2009 5:55 p.m.

    Stickguy is completely right, i'm amazed that you didn't play CoD: WaW on one tv, because it looks exactly the same as the screenshot you have, cept it has a cooler background.
  • EvilNinjaSquibidyflop - March 11, 2009 4:18 p.m.

    After all the bad stuff you said, I'm surprised you gave it a 9.
  • ReaperOfDarkness - March 11, 2009 4:45 a.m.

    Hmm i find this extremely dissapointing. Survival Horror is the whole point of the series and why I fell in love with it in the first place. Not only is it not on a console I have it seems I wouldn't spend money on it anyways considering my limited income and far higher priorities. I see no reason to play a series if the series is simply the same engine and not much else for similarities. If I wanted action packed shooters or something I would get something else, not RE games.
  • stickguy259 - March 11, 2009 12:56 a.m.

    Wait wait wait... you guys can't think of one other game that splits the screen like that? Not one? Not... one...? Seriously? How about the game that you featured an expose' on just a few months ago, it has nazi's, and zombies, and it's Call of Duty: World at War. I was so ticked when I went to play World at War, and it split the screen like the picture shown above. When I played the RE 5 demo though, the picture was split like a normal co-op game, so I guess it must change in the actual game. Did you guys even play COD: WaW Co-Op on one TV?
  • gamerdude77 - March 11, 2009 12:15 a.m.

    and @ PixelSly they didn't talk about the story that much for spoiler reasons prob
  • gamerdude77 - March 11, 2009 12:13 a.m.

    Guys you keep comparing RE5 to RE4 if we wanted that then we would have wanted a comparison article. Its like comparing chocolate to vanilla!( not saying that ones better then the other) RE5 is a separate game the series and sure as hell should be treated as one. I know you were trying to show how RE4 improved on RE5 which is great but focus, and this article was great and will definitely help Resident Evil fans decide if this game is worthy to buy
  • nitrocole - March 10, 2009 6:12 a.m.

    cant wait for this game!
  • MisterPants - March 10, 2009 2:41 a.m.

    I was severely underwhelmed by the demo for this game. After playing RE4 until my controller literally broke, I can say I was expecting a NEW game, not Resident Evil 4: Escape 4 Africa. (I apologize if no one got the reference)
  • Valntyne - March 10, 2009 2:24 a.m.

    Nice review, i do have a bit of a problem with the "shoot but cant walk" thing but its minor, what i DO have a problem with, how the infected are called "Manjini" is it just me or its strangely similar to "Mangina" which its funny as Hell , well is it just me or somebody else has thought of it?
  • HungryBeaver - March 10, 2009 2:22 a.m.

    Looks like a great game. Good review. The zombies are called Majinji not Majini. Just to let you know ;)
  • Synster - March 10, 2009 2:21 a.m.

    So far, this Game has looked like a really Good Game to me, And although I'm a Resident Evil Noob ( Yeah. I'll admit it. I don't know Jack about Resident Evil. ), I know enough to fair well with the Story I think, Since I seemed to cope with MGS4 without playing any of those previous Series. But. The Gamebreaking deal for this game which -entirely- disappoints me is that it doesn't borrow the Moving-while-shooting mechanic. This game, Since it's more action-oriented, whether they knew it or not, would be -much- better with moving while shooting. Atleast with the Pistol. It's bloody annoying having to a run a good 50 yards, Quick turn, then shoot, and rinse and repeat. Tell me that isn't annoying.
  • PixelSly - March 10, 2009 1:45 a.m.

    Not scary? Thats a huge diappointment, half the fun of playing Resident Evil is the scare factor. I'll probably still end up buying it though.
  • Defguru7777 - March 10, 2009 1:33 a.m.

    Good review GamesRadar. But you barely mentioned the story. That seems like it'd be a big point for an RE game.
  • HoraceQS - March 10, 2009 1:04 a.m.

    What about the death animations? The demo's decapitations were not shown and although it's a minor point it would be a real step backwards as far as I'm concerned. The brutal deaths your character could suffer was essential to the horror feel of the game, which seems to have suffered.
  • H2A2I00 - March 10, 2009 12:44 a.m.

    not scary man that suks resident evil code veronica x was my favorite because it was so fukin scary
  • RonnyLive19881 - March 10, 2009 12:13 a.m.

    Why are people basing their opinions off a year old demo? Things have changed since then!
  • RonnyLive19881 - March 10, 2009 12:10 a.m.

    "I'm so mad that you actually complained about having to stop to shoot. Just... no." I KNOW! If they want to play Gears 3, Gaylo 4 or Killzone 3 they are obviously not fans of Resident Evil at all. Stoping to shoot, herbs and the Survival aspects are the only things that have survived from the first ones.
  • NelosAngelos - March 9, 2009 11:30 p.m.

    I expected it to borrow a lot from RE4, but never really this much. I'm also a little sad to hear the fact that the survival horror has basically just gotten a little less "horror" and a bit more "whips out mini-gun to shoot a fly buzzing in my face, while shouting guttural "HELL YES! DIE ZOMBIES!!!" It still looks entertaining and I liked the demo, the visuals are sharp as all hell. I'll probably have it as a "Hey man, wanna come over and play a game?" experience though. Nice review by the way.

Showing 61-80 of 90 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 13 2009 - PS3, Xbox 360
Sep 15 2009 - PC (US)
Mar 13 2009 - PS3, Xbox 360
Sep 18 2009 - PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
Franchise: Resident Evil
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.