Google+

Rage review

Great
Back to Article

58 comments

  • AuthorityFigure - October 4, 2011 4:20 a.m.

    The environments look like what Fallout 3 should have been. Also, it's interesting to see that the PC-Gaming poster boy (and talented programmer, of course) John Carmack is now branching further and further out onto other, more 'inferior' platforms, as a PC standard bearer might say.
  • ObliqueZombie - October 4, 2011 7:20 a.m.

    You might wanna let your high-horses rest. They're looking a bit tired.
  • insidiousFox - October 4, 2011 8:54 a.m.

    Nothing he said was untrue, and it IS interesting to see Carmack branching out and adapting their newest tech for inferior hardware - id has always in the past only done PC development, and left console ports for third-party devs. It's interesting because Carmack is taking bleeding-edge tech and actually making it comparable to PC & playable on inferior hardware on launch day. Consoles ARE inferior to PCs, which is why RAGE doesn't look as good & play as smoothly on the consoles as it does on a decent PC.
  • LovingPanama - October 4, 2011 4:16 a.m.

    Oooooooooh snap, now I get the title. RAGE, like Road RAGE
  • Plan10FromOuterSpace - October 4, 2011 3:11 a.m.

    I actually just ordered far cry 2 for £3, the comparison at the end suggests it might have been a good call...
  • CitizenWolfie - October 4, 2011 3:01 a.m.

    I know an 8 is a good score but I was hoping for more really given that this was going to be the start of my "Autumn of Gaming." I was a big fan of FarCry 2 though so the comparison at the end may have just swayed it. 8 hours is a bit short for an open world game but I'm more likely to replay a shorter game to be honest on an achievement/hard run. Like Austin_SJ I was hoping for either a great score or a terrible one so I could make my mind up either way!
  • avantguardian - October 4, 2011 2:50 a.m.

    oh yeah, there's also the "most games are developed primarily for 360 and ported to ps3" argument...
  • Mooshon - October 4, 2011 2:31 a.m.

    I've had my eye on this for a while and it sounds like it's exactly what I'd hoped for atmosphere wise. Massive shame about the length though... although saying that, I am getting a bit bored of overly stretched out 40 hour epics.
  • shawksta - October 4, 2011 2:24 a.m.

    You shouldve compared it to Borderlands, anyway I might pick this up, the game itself seems great but apparently its story isnt interesting enough, but ill take my chances, I didnt understand half of the story in Borderlands but i still loved it. You gotta give Prop's to ID, their first game in THIS generation turned out to be pretty good and not crappy like most first timers in this gen.
  • BigBoss - October 4, 2011 2:06 a.m.

    Good review mate. I wasn't impressed with what I played at the Eurogamer Expo. I might have to give it a miss for now.
  • TheZigMan - October 4, 2011 2:02 a.m.

    The words in your review do not represent the score given to it. It seems that this is happening increasingly often on this website. Also I really wish you compared this to fallout 3, instead of Far Cry or Resistance.
  • CitizenWolfie - October 4, 2011 6:41 a.m.

    I sort of agree - nothing too bad was being said apart from a bit of an anticlimax to an otherwise solid game so I was shocked to scroll down and see the actual score. Something similar happened with the Dead Island review. Now I know 8 is a good score but does a disappointing ending really knock that much off an overall score? I suppose that's the problem with an "out of 10" score as opposed to a percentage more than the reviewers though.
  • TheZigMan - October 4, 2011 10:43 a.m.

    Yeh, I expected it to be a 9, Very good, but with the occasional misstep, as the review stated. I guess its as good as Halo Reach tho, (LOL i had to)
  • TriforcePlayer - October 4, 2011 1:56 a.m.

    NOPE
  • DualWieldingIsNotFeasible - October 4, 2011 1:54 a.m.

    Well, now that Redbox is renting games, I might spend an afternoon with Rage. Unfortunately, my ancient, first-generation 360 doesn't have 25 gigs TOTAL, let alone free. I guess I'll just have be like Michael Bluth and suffer the pop-ins.
  • taokaka - October 4, 2011 1:48 a.m.

    I'll get this once the game drought of next year sets in and this will be a steal.
  • Cruddi - October 4, 2011 1:28 a.m.

    Shame, I had high hopes for this... I might give this a miss
  • Austin_SJ - October 4, 2011 1:28 a.m.

    Interesting review, I was kind of hoping it would get a 10 or a 6 so I could know that I needed to get it or avoid it. It seems like it's got a nice amount of variation from your standard FPS, but lacks the polish that I was expecting an ID shooter to have. As it stands it seems like something I would like to play, but I don't know when I'm going to find the time or the cash for it.
  • Viklandian - October 4, 2011 2:06 a.m.

    True. If I have extra time to come back to this - and give up the 8GB required - I would've wanted something the size of, say, Fallout 3. It surprises me that no mention of the latter game was actually made in the review - weren't there comparisons originally?
  • DecoyOctorok - October 4, 2011 4:25 a.m.

    The only real similarity between the two is the post-apocalyptic setting. Rage is much more of an action game. I still can't shake just how much it looks like Borderlands though.

Showing 41-58 of 58 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 04 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Oct 07 2011 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Bethesda
Developed by: id Software
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.