Google+

007: Quantum of Solace review

Decent
AT A GLANCE
  • Quietly cleaning out goons
  • PPK headshots - they take us back
  • Bond's music
  • Tries too many game types
  • Stealth is insultingly easy
  • Rigid combat

Never has a title been more apt. Quantum of Solace is but a quantum of the movie; of the 15 stages only five are from Bond’s latest. The other ten are Casino Royale moments. From the outset Quantum has been sold on the strength of combat options. Want to creep through enemy-infested locales breaking necks and pulling off silenced PPK headshots in true GoldenEye fashion? Be Bond’s guest. Want to storm in with an arsenal nicked from COD4? He’s happy to oblige.

Nice of Treyarch to put on such a comprehensive murder platter, but none of it’s that appetizing. Silently aerating a skull from five feet is fun, but stealth is confined to specific moments; scripted encounters denying you the pleasure of clearing out an entire level with 15 bullets. Stealth is insultingly easy, too. When the enemy hoards do arrive, the game becomes Call of Duty-lite, albeit with a cover system straight out of Rainbow Six Vegas. The guns may hit with the punch of COD’s life-enders – enemies even flash with the same white crosses – but enemies are programmed with a strange breed of cowering AI that turns fights into a turkey shoot for any seasoned FPS fan.

Stick to cover and the AI makes more sense, lobbing grenades to flush you out and attempting flanking maneuvers. It also allows Treyarch to show off their creepy Bond model, a waxy version of Daniel Craig kitted out with the roving eyes of a madman. Saying that, actor likenesses and voices do keep the filmic quality up. If only the combat was less rigid; there’s very little GoldenEye experimentation to discover.

What playfulness Bond lacks in gunplay, he makes up for in globe-trotting. From stalking in a Prague opera house to the casino in Montenegro to a striking finale in an eco-hotel, Quantum blows raspberries at COD: World at War. Sadly, some locations are wasted on gimmicky film re-enactments: the building site chase and a poisoned stumble through Casino Royale are piffling two-minute distractions. This was the perfect opportunity to finally break the curse of GoldenEye. Alas, digital Brosnan remains the king by some distance.

Nov 5, 2008

More Info

Release date: Nov 04 2008 - Xbox 360, PS3, PS2, PC, Wii (US)
Nov 04 2008 - Xbox 360, PS3, PS2, PC, Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PS2, PC, Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Eurocom Studios, Treyarch
Franchise: James Bond
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Violence, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
16+

We Recommend By ZergNet

16 comments

  • oryandymackie - November 8, 2008 7:13 p.m.

    I TOLD everyone this would suck. But did this stop anyone? Why is ReCAPTCHA so random?
  • johndorean - November 8, 2008 6:20 p.m.

    i loved every minute of it my only complaint is that it was waaaaaay to short:( and not enuf quantum oh yh and sean connery should have played bond even at 8000 years old he could kik craigs ass!
  • bron1417 - November 6, 2008 7:47 p.m.

    i was looking foward to this game to break the curse but oh well maybe next time.
  • Bronzus - November 6, 2008 7:27 p.m.

    a crap movie tie-in, how fucking unprecedented.
  • celeg0116 - November 6, 2008 1:53 p.m.

    The online play is ok, it's not great, not a breakthrough in gameplay or ideas, it's just ok. Two things really bother me about it though; the lack of split-screen, which I could have sworn we were promised, ans some major clipping issues. I don't know if the clipping is limited only to the PS3, but it's pretty bad.
  • DeathByGamer - November 6, 2008 11:08 a.m.

    I had really high hopes for this game..
  • AMayer - November 6, 2008 2:39 a.m.

    Ya, I'd say this is a rental for me, but only because they said the stealth was like Goldeneye. Ahh, memories.
  • muffchild - November 6, 2008 7:34 p.m.

    lol, even the commercials made the game look like a scripted piece of sheet. I'm going back to fallout3.
  • jimsondanet - November 6, 2008 11:11 a.m.

    lol i knew it would be crap
  • BoondockSaint54 - November 6, 2008 2:32 a.m.

    I heard the online play was pretty good from a different site. I wonder why they didn't even bring that up in the review? I still might rent it just for the single player portion, though.
  • crazyshemai - November 6, 2008 2:21 a.m.

    woot my first FIRST!!! hehe ^_^ too bad this game wasnt as good as promised tho
  • danielthomas - April 11, 2009 10:37 p.m.

    lol i love this game but i wish in single player there was more quantum of solace and less casino royale
  • firewire95 - December 29, 2008 5:13 p.m.

    I thought the game was pretty good.Sure, it did seem pretty similar to all the other 1st/3rd person shooters out there, just with some new maps, but It wasn't all too bad. I thought the graphics were nice, the reality was head on. Like the sniping, it wasn't just a steady cross hair shot, that was all over the place, they put in reality when they gave the option:Hold Breath. Anyone know what I'm talkin' about? It was no work of genius but If you're lookin' for some time to go right ahead and massacre people in a virtual world, (and don't own Halo) this is a pretty good game besides the fact blood didn't exist at all in the gameplay.... still I think I've made my point.
  • ilike2pwn - August 31, 2009 12:45 a.m.

    dude i dont care what any1 says i love this game
  • MitsuharuSan - January 30, 2009 12:57 p.m.

    Thankfully it's not Goldeneye, a 12 or something years old game that aged PRETTY badly. It was fun back in the day. Today? Why keep mentioning it? It's just like what happens with GTA: SA, people overrate it to heaven and then every following game is measured by it. C'mon. Leave the memories alone! PS.: Not saying that this game is good, though.
  • RussianGangster101434 - December 14, 2008 12:34 a.m.

    Single player has WAY TO MANY SAME DAMN GUNS!! and multiplayer is crap, if u use a shotgun u dominate.

Showing 1-16 of 16 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.