Google+

Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare review

Back to Article

28 comments

  • homestar99 - February 25, 2014 5:18 a.m.

    Eh, didn't really know what to expect from that review. I'd complain about the fact that it's not on PlayStation consoles but I know the exact reason why. It's a multiplayer game and at this point console specs are about the same so due to Xbox having a better online service it is also the console that you buy if you like multiplayer. I bought a PS3 and PS4 'cos in most cases I think multiplayer can go fuck itself up the arse. To put this in a more legible format: PS4 + Xbox One = About the Same Specs PS4 = Optimal Single Player Utilization Xbox One = Optimal Multiplayer Utilization The game looks okay, it's nothing new but while the review said microtransactions are on the way, it worries me. First, of course microtransactions are going to show up in a game made be EA, those cunts. Second, if some of the classes have balancing issues then what happens when microtransactions enter the fray? If you bothered reading this far then congratulations, you may now reply about something.
  • shawksta - February 25, 2014 9:54 a.m.

    The game doesnt have microtransactrions, but they did say they will consider them in the future. Basically its like Battlefield 3 Nobody made much of a fuss about Battlefield 3 getting microtransactions because by the them most people already unlocked everything.
  • homestar99 - February 25, 2014 5:22 p.m.

    I know it doesn't have microtransactions. EA will probably add some later anyways was me point. It might fuck everything up. It certainly ruined PvZ 2 with the microtransactions and art style change. I honestly imagine that PvZ 2 doesn't exist. DLC and microtransactions can break a game, and I equate EA and fucking up as an entire universe worth of stupid. Eh, time will tell.
  • shawksta - February 25, 2014 7:05 p.m.

    I know. The difference is that PVZ2 was otherwise built for and with Microtransactions, the entire game was too tedious and forces trying to get Keys and plant food to be REALLY annoying and tedious to otherwise encourage buying them. Garden Warfare however has itself built for getting everything in the game without having to resort to any real purchases. What you do in the game is great enough. The difference here is that Microtransactions is a second thought. Its arguable that Popcap cared more about Garden Warfare than they did with PVZ2, i feel PVZ2 was otherwise forced by EA. But hey who knows, all i know is im enjoying the crap out of GW and arent feeling any force to buy things or feel they are giving me too much work like they did PVZ2
  • homestar99 - February 25, 2014 10:34 p.m.

    I can see how that makes sense. I don't own a Xbox 360 or One, or a good gaming PC. It looks fun and colorful (and that counts for a lot in a era plagued by brown and grey industrial areas). To conclude, Fuck Microtransactions, Fuck EA, and have fun playing Garden Warfare. Also, when did Popcap become a subsidiary of EA? It seems like EA used Popcap as a puppet in making PvZ 2 and Garden Warfare was Popcap bitch slapping EA for ordering them around and letting them have control. So EA said, fine, you can have it your way, but it has to be a shooter 'cos we rushed BF4 out the door.
  • shawksta - February 25, 2014 11:22 p.m.

    Around early 2013 they were bought and then shown at EA press conference.
  • GOD - February 25, 2014 12:21 a.m.

    If I were getting an X1, this is what I would want to play on it. I'm not even a fan of plants vs zombies but this game is really appealing to me.... I really wish I could play this :/
  • Jackonomics2.0 - February 25, 2014 12:37 a.m.

    It's for 360 and PC too you know
  • GOD - February 25, 2014 12:40 a.m.

    I don't own a 360, and even if I thought my PC could play this, the PC version doesn't come out until later..... Spring 2014, so that's soon, but who knows how long.
  • shawksta - February 24, 2014 11:46 a.m.

    Really excited for this, buying and playing it tomorrow regardless. Also I cant wait to try the 4 player online coop, this is essentially the Tower Defense flavor of the game other than Gardens and Graveyards. As tofu said, love PvZ and TF2, a fusion is only gonna be fun. And honestly im exited for Kinect for once, Boss mode looks really fun.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - February 25, 2014 12:21 a.m.

    Your lucky, DK and this game, enjoy it.
  • universaltofu - February 24, 2014 11:42 a.m.

    I love TF2, love PvZ, hope this turns out to be better than your... GARDEN VARIETY shooter hohoho.

Showing 21-28 of 28 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 19 2014 - PS4, PS3
Jun 24 2014 - PC
Feb 25 2014 - Xbox One, Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, PS3, PC, Xbox One, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Crude Humor