Google+

PixelJunk Monsters Deluxe review

Great
AT A GLANCE
  • Cute graphics and bouncy music
  • Great value
  • Perfectly designed for portability
  • Uneven learning curve
  • Dangerously addictive
  • Doesn't add anything truly new

Like the creatures that slowly crawl towards your helpless tribe in the game, PixelJunk Monsters can sneak up on you. Those deceptively cute graphics, the bouncy music and the initially gentle difficulty curve draw you in and before you know it you’re addicted.

Deluxe is billed as the ultimate edition of the game collecting together the original PSN tower defense title, its expansion pack, and additional levels and content. It’s an ideal fit for the PSP, and at the cheap price for the whole pack, it’s a great value too. The stages are just the right length for short journeys and the simple interface transfers painlessly to the handheld’s maligned button layout. No need for a second thumbstick here.

Though not flawless – that shallow learning curve quickly rockets up to impregnable cliff face – it’s the perfect pick up and play title for strategically minded PSP owners. Just be careful not to fall into that ‘one more go’ mindset whilst travelling. You might save the village but you’ll almost certainly miss your stop.

Oct 9, 2009

More Info

Release date: Oct 01 2009 - PSP (US)
Oct 01 2009 - PSP (UK)
Available Platforms: PSP
Genre: Strategy
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
7+

11 comments

  • lilyeister - April 12, 2010 2:16 a.m.

    If the review isn't enough, just download the PSN demo. Scarily enough, I found even those two levels addicting.
  • idlemindkiller - December 18, 2009 4:21 p.m.

    @wonsauto this review sucks so shut up.
  • WonsAuto - October 12, 2009 6:50 p.m.

    @mrandydixon No, my point is that it's a pretty standard tower defense game, and any nuances can be easily picked up by going to YouTube or GameTrailers and looking at gameplay videos. You can't always expect super-in-depth reviews from anyone, especially a downloadable game. Sometimes you gotta roll up the sleeves and pick up the slack yourself.
  • mrandydixon - October 12, 2009 6:44 p.m.

    @ WonsAuto So... We should stop reading the reviews and just hit up Metacritic then? I think that mindset is something sites like GR try to rally against... The whole point of putting up a review is because it can let us in on the nuances of a game in a much better way than a simple "8" can. Otherwise it's just a score, and something anyone with a numpad can do.
  • WonsAuto - October 12, 2009 5:37 p.m.

    It's a tower defense game... how deep of a review do people need? Whether they're any good or not is the biggest difference. Look up some videos if you need more; just because it's the "official website of the Internet" doesn't mean it's the only one. ;)
  • crumbdunky - October 12, 2009 10:08 a.m.

    Agreed.Undrwhel from a wevsite who, inlike nard copy mags, doesn't have yo butcherews like this down to fit what little column space they have left. The rsult is an uninformative review that has no info in it which could actually tell you if the game is your cup of warm brown. Hell, if money's the issue just send the games to one of us! We'd be grateful and you'd get a longer review to boot! For nothing! Face it GR it would NOT be any worse than this effort, could it?
  • Da-Ku - October 12, 2009 6:09 a.m.

    It's a good job your features are usually up to scratch cause other than your "super reveiws" i'm afraid these don't cut it, sorry
  • mrandydixon - October 12, 2009 4:05 a.m.

    Seriously, that's all we get? GR realy needs to stop reposting magazine reviews, because though they might be perfect for a sidebar in a paper edition, HTML text, last I checked, offers a lot more space for little to no cost, and your readers expect more. Good thing I already know what the game is about (and am planning on buying it), otherwise I'd be lost.
  • Frexerik - October 11, 2009 2:13 p.m.

    agree, i still have no idea what type of game this is... crap review..
  • Maxstats69 - October 10, 2009 10:45 p.m.

    Yet another review that reveals nothing about the game. Talking about the bouncy music and button layout, try covering game mechanics and what it is you actually do in the game. Review 2/20
  • TwistedTinkerToy - October 10, 2009 2:05 a.m.

    Since when is being addictive a bad thing? Let alone a thing to hate?

Showing 1-11 of 11 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.