Google+

Naruto: The Broken Bond review

AT A GLANCE
  • Superior scrapping
  • More than just a kid's game
  • Sexy Jutsu
  • Pervy Sage
  • Too many fetch quests
  • Fences and pressure pads

Kiddie game? Think again. Last year’s Naruto: Rise of a Ninja was startlingly strong. Buoyed by the positive response, Ubisoft’s Montreal brigade have gone back to the drawing board and crafted a sequel that builds a little sandcastle on top of the original and decorates it with Christmas lights before plonking a fairy on top. It’s hardly even a surprise anymore when we tell you that The Broken Bond is ace.

As a direct continuation of Rise of a Ninja, this Naruto demands a certain level of social correctness with the murder-and-sexual-innuendo-laced ‘toon. Coolly, though, and in keeping with our bushy-tailed hero’s newfound fame, you’ll now get access to some sweet abilities straight off the bat. Expect from the start to sail across the tree line, run up walls, sprint over lakes and punch through walls…

There’s also a new comrades system, so as our whiskered hero runs into show stalwarts like Sasuke, Shikamaru and Choji, they’ll join his merry band. This not only allows access to character-unique Jutsus, but affords more elaborate puzzles than the game’s predecessor – though we still found ourselves faced with rather more spiked fences, pressure pads and fetch-this quests than we’d have liked. In a neat twist, team-mates can also be tagged into battles, adding to the already extraordinarily capable fighting engine. There, the very same Jutsus that helped you navigate obstacles in the free-roaming bits are suddenly reborn as powerful attacks. To top it all, the game’s a real looker – easily trumping stablemate Prince of Persia in the cel-shaded swishness stakes.

Spread the good word: Naruto is about as good as kids games get. Actually, scrap that – it’s a disservice. Chances are you’ll fall hard for Naruto even if you don’t give a fox’s ass about the cartoon... Blimey, we can’t believe we just wrote that.

Nov 18, 2008

More Info

Release date: Nov 18 2008 - Xbox 360 (US)
Nov 21 2008 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft Montreal
Franchise: Naruto
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

22 comments

  • crazyshemai - November 19, 2008 12:51 a.m.

    FIRST! glad to see an anime game get a good score, but did u guys review Ultimate Ninja Storm on the ps3?
  • keighnyn - December 8, 2008 11:23 p.m.

    i have it and its wicked awsome
  • Akiira - November 24, 2008 11:29 a.m.

    being as how the vast maajority of naruto fans watch the dubs i think i hit the mark right on so u all can suck a dick and be pretentious know it alls elsewhere.
  • raWfodoG - November 21, 2008 4:05 a.m.

    I'm with crazyshemai, I like that this game got a good review because I'm planning on getting this holiday season but...How come there is no review for Ultimate Ninja Storm? Don't tell me that no one on the staff has played it yet...
  • idlemindkiller - November 19, 2008 9:59 p.m.

    agreed maxstats, akiira missed the mark there. im tired of having to explain this to people who just dont get it. know your facts before you speak up. looking forward to crushing this game. well after i beat fallout 3 a few times. and gears 2, and maybe fable 2 again. damn, looks like ill be busy for awhile.
  • Hunter2458 - November 19, 2008 6:29 p.m.

    Except for the fillers... :D I can't wait for this to make it to the Shippuden arc :3
  • Maxstats69 - November 19, 2008 7:08 a.m.

    The Anime is not for kids. The DUB may be geared towards kids but not the Anime as a whole. The Anime tightly follows the manga so you don't miss anything by not reading the manga. In other words, Akiira doesn't know of what he speaks. Rock on, looking forward to renting this one from Gamefly . . .
  • Akiira - November 19, 2008 5:50 a.m.

    the anime is definately a kids show and thats why it sucks. if you wana be into naruto just read the manga. i am glad they didnt skimp out on the game tho.
  • Wartooth909 - November 19, 2008 3:24 a.m.

    Never really got into the show but was shocked by the notsuckyness of the last game, but I dont think this will be on the top of my list. To many other big titles to buy right now.
  • Defguru7777 - November 19, 2008 2:31 a.m.

    Quite surprising. But Naruto isn't a kid's show. It's just on a kid's network with some language cut out. Quite an awesome show.
  • Zeos - July 25, 2009 6:21 p.m.

    Nice to see you guys actually reccommended this game and didn't blow it off for being a supposed "kids anime game". Though if Naruto is a kids show then thats a pretty dark kids show, especially part 2: Shippuden.
  • Akiira - February 26, 2009 2:35 a.m.

    or till your old enough to realize the naruto anime is for kids lol. cmon u asked for that one.
  • Ishtom - February 21, 2009 9:46 p.m.

    First off, Akiira: SHUT THE HELL UP! Second, there is already a shippuden game... Although you'll never find it in american or western civalisations. Only online. Naruto ultimate ninja shippuden accel 1 and 2. Number 2 is alot like Ultimate ninja 4 only that you keep the fore/back-ground fighting. Anyway this sounds like a pritty cool game, and as much as i'd love to play, I probably won't til i'm old enough to own a place of my own...
  • Akiira - February 11, 2009 2:31 a.m.

    lol yes i have seen the jap version and my oppinion remanes the same. perhaps you just come from a crazy conservative christian nutbag home and think that things like woman waering skirts is also offensive.
  • Akiira - December 24, 2008 10:17 a.m.

    the dubed naruto is for 13 year old boys so if your 10 i can see how you might think its not a kids anime. and the fact that you cried while watching a cartoon for kids doesnt bode well for any possible argument that you are over ten.
  • Nikiicha11 - December 14, 2008 2:26 p.m.

    As much as i love Naruto, I didnt like the first game so much... It was the same thing over and over again.. But, judging from this review, the broken bond seems a good game. so here goes...
  • Nikiicha11 - December 14, 2008 2:24 p.m.

    Oh? Akiira? getting a bit aggressive??? xD I watch the anime in Japanese. It is not a kid's anime, its just on the kid's network (as Defguru7777 said). It does have some really strong and...well emotional scenes xD... ive cried A LOT OF TIMES in some parts.
  • dulaisagamegod - April 15, 2009 4:17 p.m.

    dude i agree what happend with ninja storm i played it a bit now im waiting to get it from gamefly and hope its as good as people say.
  • tobe_jamie - January 11, 2009 2 p.m.

    Akiira have u watched the Jap version of the show if not plz be quite, there is more then the word damn in it. there are scenes that might be offensive for the younger audience aswell,
  • Akiira - January 11, 2009 6:18 a.m.

    "ok get it straight gamesradar, naruto is not a kids show. its on later at night, has nudity and language removed and sexual humor, blood and other things that make it more "adult friendly"" "plus intense action sequences and a lotta badmouth" lol idk what secret version your watching but it doesnt have any nudity at all no real bad mouthing at all, beside they might say dam once, and the action sequences are no different then any other anime kids show aka overly drawn out with repetitious talking and flashbacks to previous episodes. i suppose to a 14 year old narutos sexy jutsu might seem grown up and the little trickles of blood that occasionly happen as well but get real its clearly a show for kids.

Showing 1-20 of 22 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000