Google+

Minecraft 1.0 review

Excellent
Back to Article

46 comments

  • larkan - December 15, 2011 11:03 a.m.

    Tried it, boring compared to Terraria. At least in Terraria you actually get to have FUN.
  • huntreilly25 - December 15, 2011 9:23 p.m.

    Terraria and Minecraft are fun for different reasons, so I can see both sides. Terraria has better dungeons and mobs while Minecraft is wayyy better in terms of what you can create and build.
  • comaqi - December 15, 2011 12:32 p.m.

    I've been playing this game on and off since the alpha and I still love it. I can't recommend it enough! Great review!
  • ChaosEternal - December 15, 2011 12:56 p.m.

    Agreed! I must have sunk hundreds of hours into MC at least, if not 1000+. I started playing of October of last year, and had a massive amount of fun until I stopped playing in May to do other stuff, like sleeping. CAPTCHA:München, yeentsu I'm not using a German keyboard CAPTCHA. :P
  • cj12297 - December 15, 2011 1:25 p.m.

    There is TalkRadar minecraft server you know. We're on Twitter @ TDardMinecraft . Ask Cleanser 247 on the forums or twitter to be allowed on. I think he's knee deep in skyrim right now though...
  • kor2disturbed - December 15, 2011 1:41 p.m.

    I own this on the PC and I love it, but I am really just waiting for the console release next year. I'll probably get more enjoyment out of the console version plus I'm going to assume that connecting to multiplayer world are going to be a bit easier. The only thing I'm not sure about is how much will it cost? Is it still gonna cost $25, Or will it be around $15? If so I'm worried that they might take some of the features out. ReCaptcha: adsgettingOld All one word, I'm not kidding.
  • kiing8kong6 - December 15, 2011 3:58 p.m.

    Lmao that is an awesome ReCaptcha.
  • huntreilly25 - December 15, 2011 9:21 p.m.

    I agree, I am excited to play minecraft on 360 (mostly because I don't have a computer that can handle it) but nonetheless, it'll be a day one buy for me.
  • Dmancapri - December 15, 2011 2:06 p.m.

    SO ITS BETTER THAN HALO REACH?@?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?! :) Just kidding, spent more hours in minecraft than any other game
  • BIOSback - December 15, 2011 4:09 p.m.

    Minecraft=Skyward Sword?
  • Cwf2008 - December 15, 2011 5:49 p.m.

    I think I'd enjoy it a lot more if the recent updates didn't make it lag like a bitch on my computer.
  • Net_Bastard - December 15, 2011 8:14 p.m.

    Optifine mod. I had the same problem until I downloaded that. Also you can allocate more RAM. reCAPTCHA: Igothe Original What original thing did I get?
  • talleyXIV - December 15, 2011 8:35 p.m.

    I literally play Team Fortress 2 with no frame rate lag whatsoever however the recent Minecraft keeps crashing. That's why this game deserves a 7. If he would've stopped the updates at 1.7, it would be an amazing game. The enchantment tables and the end, are two of the worst things about this game.
  • lazer59882 - December 15, 2011 8:36 p.m.

    i don't get this game. its literally just a sandbox for you to build your own game. how this could get a 9 is beyond me, but then again i shouldn't expect any better from the same media that thought little big planet was some kind of gaming revolution, when all it was was tools to build your own game.
  • huntreilly25 - December 15, 2011 9:18 p.m.

    have you tried the game? I would respect your dislike for the game if you had actually played it and were able to give concrete reasons for your dislike rather than just "not getting it". I understand that not everyone is going to like the game, but don't judge something before you give it a try.
  • gamebrain8505 - December 15, 2011 11:08 p.m.

    Well, actually it's not about making your own game like LBP, there is a story, there are many things wich you can not control, there are monsters, dungeons and such things to stimulate you. So, rest asured, this is not the "infinite resource, infinite possibility" thing, unless you specificly want it to be that.
  • jackthemenace - December 16, 2011 9:20 a.m.

    So, is the console version as expansive as this? And if it's NOT, is it available on Mac?
  • Person5 - December 16, 2011 4:54 p.m.

    the console version isn't nearly as expansive as the pc version (though this is the game you MUST play on a computer) there isn't a download client for mac OS that I've seen but you should still be able to play it in the browser until one is made
  • Pwnz0r3d - December 16, 2011 10:34 a.m.

    The hilarious thing is that I can only play Minecraft on medium/low settings on a pc that can handle TF2 on high on a 100% crits server with no problems. On Minecraft, it chugs a LOT, especially at night, during a rain shower, and the Nether. Its even hard to play in sandbox mode because flying makes this thing go soooo slowwww.
  • psycho ninja 4 - December 17, 2011 11:52 p.m.

    For some reason a lot of people i know hate minecraft. never found out why though. sham my computers to crap to run it.
  • Jalen-Steele - January 1, 2012 8:28 p.m.

    Minecraft in my opinion is actually really boring at first but after you get settled and start mining to the point where you get diamond thing it gets really fun. I didn't like it at the start too, but it grew on me, and if your like "Tobuscus" you can really have fun with it. I personally love the creepers, they can actually help you out if you need to dig a hole.

Showing 21-40 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 18 2011 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC
Genre: Simulation
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Fantasy Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.