Google+

Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor review

Back to Article

66 comments

  • homestar99 - September 26, 2014 9:49 a.m.

    To be honest, I don't give two shits about The Lord Of The Rings. Just isn't really my thing. But I'll applaud this game for two reasons. One, if Destiny is saying anything than Triple-A is going in the shitter and this game looks to change that. Two, it's a licensed tie in game and it's not the only good tie in from this year. It seems like tie ins are trying to amend themselves. At least this game will most likely have more replay value than South Park: The Stick of Truth.
  • Braindane - October 10, 2014 8:08 a.m.

    Played the game two hours now, and already bored. Sorry to all that think this is a great game, its really as easy as 'slash, slash, counter, slash.' then repeat.. that's the secret to the game, no matter how many guys you fight... (yawn).. Sad.. I was SO looking forward to this being a good game. It's nothing more than Assassin's Creed in Mordor.. if you like that kinda thing your in for a treat. Myself, I'm looking for a bit more. Enjoy.. if you can.
  • homestar99 - October 10, 2014 10:25 a.m.

    I felt the combat was a bit more in the vein of Batman than Assassin's Creed. And hey, it might not be the best game in the world for you, but it's still better than Destiny!
  • Braindane - October 10, 2014 10:57 a.m.

    Sorry, i've not played Destiny yet.. But if this is better, I'm a sad panda. Guess I'm just looking for a little more thought and diversty to play.. But I'm an aging gamer.. Its sad to see the old age die in gaming.. Slash, slash, perry... Yippy! 0_o I give up.
  • homestar99 - October 10, 2014 5:19 p.m.

    Don't blame you. If anything games have been in decline since the end of the PS2 era. You just have to lower your expectations. Or play Shadow of the Colossus five times in a row.
  • BaraChat - September 26, 2014 7:56 a.m.

    I'm 100% sure I'm not alone in these parts being a massive Tolkien fan (having read basically everything he wrote, being a regular on the Encyclopedia or Arda website, etc.). So I guess it's just normal I wanted this game to be very good. Based on the reviews I've seen so far, it seems to be the case and that makes me a happy man. Sadly it'll have to wait a bit, I don't have 70$ lying around at this moment.
  • winner2 - September 26, 2014 7:39 a.m.

    AAAWWW YEEAAAH. It's Friday, and I wake up to this? Today's gonna be a good day. Excellent review Lucas, and it sounds awesome. I'm definitely gonna get this now.
  • GR_LucasSullivan - September 26, 2014 12:48 p.m.

    Many thanks! And I can verify that it is indeed awesome.
  • universaltofu - September 26, 2014 12:45 a.m.

    Ever since the previews talking up the nemesis system I've been waiting on this one, just a bit longer for the ps3/360 version. By the sons of warvan!
  • Cruddi - September 28, 2014 7:04 a.m.

    It's a shame that the ps3/360 version has a stipped down version of the nemisis system, don't know what will be missing. Hopefully just the amount of different generated orc, i'm getting the ps4 version, but i will be looking at what was stripped out for the last gen
  • BladedFalcon - September 25, 2014 10:38 p.m.

    o.O Holly crap! I am honestly and genuinely surprised by the high praise this game is getting almost universally. Honestly, I never expected too much to come from it since most LotR games are solid at best, but never stellar. And frankly, it sounded like it would be little more than a Assasin's Creed rip-off. Specially since I wasn't really buying the hype behind the Nemesis system. Glad to be proven wrong though. I don't have a next gen system yet, but when I do, I'll be sure to give this one a spin.
  • _--_ - September 26, 2014 12:51 a.m.

    --yeah --last thing i was expecting for this month -- was to be COMPLETELY IGNORING THE FUCK out of destiny(what a crock of shit) --and googly eyeing a LOTR game --ive ALWAYS been the HUGEST lotr fan --but --ive NEVER been able to get into ANY of the games(because theres never been a real good 'top notch' one) --i did 'enjoy' lego though --but... --i just dont want to 'water down' my medieval fantasy needs --with witcher 3 coming up in a few months
  • BladedFalcon - September 26, 2014 1:01 a.m.

    The EA "Two towers" and "Return of the king" games for PS2 and Xbox were pretty alright for their time. But yeah, even those weren't anything spectacular. I'm in for this one mainly because of the combat. I'm just a sucker for that Arkham style of combat. And yeah... The moment Destiny was touted as a "halo: MMO" I immediately lost any semblance of interest. Seems like I did the right thing :P And yeah. Damn son, those Witcher novels are fantastic. Already finished Last wish and sword of destiny, and I'm smack dab in the middle of "Blood of Elves". Once I'm done with all the books, then I'll watch the movie recaps of the games, and only THEN I'll feel ready to get excited for the Witcher 3, lol.
  • _--_ - September 26, 2014 9:49 a.m.

    @Bladed --Im glad you like the Witcher novels --witcher 3 is gonna be PRETTY sick
  • universaltofu - September 26, 2014 1:46 a.m.

    I'm liking destiny a lot, this is the first shooter in which I've had an affinity for hand-cannons. Popping legionary heads off is satisfying in the same way confetti headshots in halo are. Mainly though is how after seeing Guardians of the Galaxy this comes along as the perfect conduit for my own space dancing.
  • xVENOMxREAPERx - September 9, 2014 1:18 p.m.

    Ok so the only reason I can think of for delaying the "last gen" is if they need to tone it down for the older consoles because they said that the older consoles would have less features in their version of the game. But why the hell is it being delayed for PC? PC gamers tend to have rigs that overpower the PS4 and XBone, so PC is definitely not "last-gen" in fact PC gaming has become more popular in the last couple of years. Why the delay?
  • Zeedar - September 26, 2014 1:07 a.m.

    Optimization?
  • xVENOMxREAPERx - September 26, 2014 8:27 a.m.

    Well not long after my original post I found this same article on a few other sites (Game Informer, IGN) and some of which did not mention PC at all and some state that PC is still launching the 30th. So now I have no reason to believe anyone really :P
  • shawksta - September 9, 2014 12:45 p.m.

    Interesting spread of release dates...
  • charlie-miller - September 5, 2014 11:48 a.m.

    so im kind of in a pickle should i pre order this(middle earth shadow of mordor) or destiny i loved the destiny beta but having played it realized how small it is when you don't play competitive multiplayer and take out the random events on the flip-side i love singleplayer games and have played fallout, borderlands sp, and other such franchises to death i can't decide what do you guys think i should also mention that i am not a big fan of the AC parkour system since it can be really buggy and irritating i also love the arkham games
  • Cruddi - September 27, 2014 7:35 a.m.

    to be honest I wouldn't bother with destiny I only play it now because I was tricked into buying the DLC pass so I wasted £30 on it and I WILL not waste money not matter how much I hate the game.
  • djkoz78 - September 4, 2014 5:33 p.m.

    Are we going to get to see Gandalf at some point?

Showing 21-40 of 66 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 18 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3
Sep 30 2014 - PS4, Xbox One, PC (US)
Nov 21 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PS4, Xbox One, PC
Genre: Role Playing
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence