Google+

Metroid: Other M review

Back to Article

88 comments

  • malcolmoujiaran - September 14, 2010 6:40 p.m.

    Nope, I do not agree with the review for many reasons. One, of many, is the switch from 2D to FPS is a "drag" as the author and others put it, but only when the player is playing smart or is being lazy. Good timing and creativity will yield bad ass moves from Samus when finishing enemies. One reason for this is that while in FPS Samus can also dodge an enemy's fire or attack. Nintendo and Team Ninja's collaboration works fine, nobody working on "Other M" ever said the game was going to be more than what people expect. We need to seperate Prime fans and Metroid fans, and address thier issues and expectations seperately. And don't forget to seperate people who have heard of about the Metroid franchise, but never played any of the games.
  • MaynardJ - September 9, 2010 4:46 p.m.

    I'm still buying it. Someday.
  • batmanboy11 - September 5, 2010 3:18 a.m.

    I haven't had a chance to play it for myself yet, but I've been watching my brother play, and from what I've seen, I'm not going to argue with the review.
  • onilosmada - September 2, 2010 4:19 p.m.

    I'll try it out, but i wasn't expecting anything spectacular. Hopefully Donkey Kong and Kirby are fun.
  • babyhenchy1 - September 1, 2010 9:29 p.m.

    @GamesRadarBrettElston The problem is that some people think that it sends a sexist vibe that Samus is seeking the approval of her former commanding officer and showing a lot of emotion. I haven't gotten that vibe yet but then again I haven't finished the game.
  • Guardian88 - September 1, 2010 2:31 a.m.

    If you want to know more about Samus's past, read the manga. The manga even tells about the very origin of Mother Brain and the reason why Samus hates Ridly.
  • philipshaw - August 29, 2010 2:19 p.m.

    Great review Brett. From seeing videos of this what you say about the game not gelling seems so true. I think I will just wait until this comes down in price and then get it. I don't get my student loans in until the end of September so I will get the game then if it has dropped in price,thanks for saving me money
  • cheezitmonster - August 29, 2010 1:22 a.m.

    I know that it a good game , but I think that what stopped it from being all it could be was team ninja. just look at their main franchises; Ninja Gaiden and Dead or alive, both known for their exploitatation in women. And you can see it in the game; they over sexualized her by having her outide of the power-suit for longer periods of time, and making her butt and boobs too big. They also made the most notorious bounty hunter in the galaxy an oversensitive cry-baby.
  • Crabhand - August 28, 2010 6:57 p.m.

    I'm sticking with my preorder, but I'm likely to sell it back to Gamestop after I beat it. I'm sure it will be fun, but I doubt I would play it again.
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - August 28, 2010 5:54 p.m.

    I'm happy to see so many people acknowledging that 7 is not a "bad" score. This isn't a "bad" game at all, it's a good game with a few flaws that will irritate people to different degrees. Personally I could never see giving this a 9 because of the reasons I outlined - but other people won't mind some of the stuff that drove me crazy, so there you go. I am perplexed by other reviews that say the story is the weakest link. It sure is in the beginning and middle, but if you're a big time Metroid fan and know the non-Prime games well, the story hits every fanboy button you could ask for. IMO!
  • Peloun - August 28, 2010 4:43 p.m.

    that low? Ima still get it
  • Imgema - August 28, 2010 4:38 p.m.

    I'm about 5 hours in the game and i pretty much agree with everything this review says. I am a bit disappointed but after reading this review, i can't wait to reach the final moments.
  • Grif - August 28, 2010 4:22 p.m.

    Well shoot, I was hoping for a great Metroid game, but now I think I'll have to pass. I'd rent it if I had time, but you know how limited time is.
  • GameManiac - August 28, 2010 3:42 p.m.

    Hmm... Meh, I'll still buy it, just not immediately. I'm still considering the Metroid Prime Trilogy before Other M, and LoZ:Twilight Princess before the MPT. But before all that, I want to finish Super Mario Galaxy 2 100%. (God I love that game.)
  • mahabat - August 28, 2010 3:16 p.m.

    haha just read the mp3 review and gamesradar i dont know if you remember, "This is the final prime game, however, and its easily the best, with a formula thats been tweaked and pruned to its most perfect point. Now please do something new before we all get tired of it." so I guess we have you to blame for this
  • EnragedTortoise1 - August 28, 2010 2:05 p.m.

    Gah, f*ck, another rental.
  • Jahbu - August 28, 2010 1:13 p.m.

    LOL...so people arent gonna buy the game now?...people really need to lighten up a bit!
  • Metroidhunter32 - August 28, 2010 11:39 a.m.

    *sobs*
  • Ultima - August 28, 2010 8:07 a.m.

    This is one one the lower scores on Metacritic so you may enjoy it more than the reviewer did. Some sites have given it 9/10. It currently scores 80 overall.
  • zer0hvk - August 28, 2010 6:49 a.m.

    @Gavo you, sir, know what you're talking about. METROID DREAD!!

Showing 1-20 of 88 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Team Ninja
Franchise: Metroid
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.