Google+

Mass Effect 3 review

Excellent
Back to Article

126 comments

  • FauxFurry - March 6, 2012 1:33 p.m.

    Nein/10? I guess that means that everyone should rush out to go buy a used bootleg copy using stolen dubloons on the back of a shanghaied galleon from the saltiest of cyber-sea dogs, then? It is only fair since everyone must have perfection in all things at all times and that falling short is an invitation to abject failure, right?
  • xarab4lyfex - March 6, 2012 9:14 p.m.

    No, but it's fair since they're trying to rip us off with Day 1 DLC. If I didn't hate this series, I would pirate the hell out of it, just because of that Day 1 B.S.
  • Mezolitik - March 7, 2012 2:07 a.m.

    It's not fair. You can't justify stealing something because it hasn't been released in precisely the format you wanted. Personally, I like Day 1 DLC. For one, you don't have to buy it on Day 1 or even Year 1. It's just extra content when you need it. It's also free with certain editions of the game.
  • xarab4lyfex - March 7, 2012 10:12 p.m.

    "You can't justify stealing something" Tell that to EA/Bioware for stealing a playable partner from the game and charging 10 dollars for it, when it should already be included in the game. I like to think of it as evening the odds.
  • mray7 - March 9, 2012 1:48 p.m.

    "I like to think of it as evening the odds." Nope....you like to think of it in a way that makes you feel like you aren't doing anything wrong.
  • xarab4lyfex - March 10, 2012 1:14 p.m.

    Oh i get it, so it's okay when Bioware releases day 1 DLC, but when someone like Capcom does the same thing THEN it's wrong. Do you guys realize how retarded you sound right now? People that buy this shit are the reason that day 1 DLC still happens. And yea, I called Mass Effect 3 shit. Because ifuxwitit.
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - March 6, 2012 12:26 p.m.

    Oh god...this is gonna get spoiled for me, I just know it. Please, if TDar ever gets back up, don't spoil anything, please! I still have to replay the first 2!
  • ZiltoidTheOmniscient - March 6, 2012 10:52 a.m.

    Aw man I can't wait!! Unfortunately I live in Europe so I'm gonna have to wait a few more days but it'll be well worth it. Have to say, I'm not a huge fan of this new format of reviews with a video accompanying it. This review seemed quite vague and didn't really provide the insight I was hoping for. Also, it feels weird hearing Hollander read a scripted review on video, since I've become so comfortable hearing him and the other GR writers just act so casually on TalkRadar, this just seems very strange and stagnant in comparison...like seeing someone you know really well acting in a play. I understand the need for a predetermined script in a video, but I think you can be much more expressive and go into more detail in writing.
  • flare149 - March 6, 2012 10:49 a.m.

    Too bad the loyal fans who dedicated their time to the previous two games can't carry Shepard over... WHY BIOWARE!? Seriously, how could you mess up the face import!?
  • Money - March 6, 2012 9:51 a.m.

    7/8 outta 10 max for me, you just seem to have gave it more because you like the previous games. But the written part of the review was good, even of you did dwell on ME2(which was terrible)too much
  • NOGIRLSIWANNAJETPACK - March 6, 2012 9:14 a.m.

    The screenshots told me it was a 10 so you are soooooooo wrong! BOOOOOOOOOOO Nobody likes Holander Cooper. Lay him off! FANBOY RAGE. (This was a joke. Coop rules! I trust his judgment)
  • shawksta - March 6, 2012 8:56 a.m.

    Awesome review, glad to hear it doesnt dissapoint, sucks I have to wait till the weekend to pick it up good thing my Gamestop holds on for forever. *Massive Facepalm* GR, make sure you add Mass Effect 3 to the 2012 ”Fanboys loosing it” section. its obvious GR doesnt know how to review games, how dare they give an awesome game an awesome score of 9/sarcasm
  • jackthemenace - March 6, 2012 7:37 a.m.

    I'm almost definitely not going to end up getting it any time soon, which is a huge shame, but I'm certainly going to pick it up at some point, probably next month- which should give me just long enough to plow through ME1 and 2 all over again ;D
  • FOZ - March 6, 2012 7:19 a.m.

    Mass Effect 2's final mission was just a checklist. If a character is loyal, they won't die. If your whole squad is loyal, the only "choices" that will matter are who puts up the biotic barrier (anyone other than loyal Samara or loyal Jack and Thane dies) or not putting armor on the Normandy (Jack dies). Your choices are actually completely irrelevant as long as you completed the loyalty missions. So even though I'm not a fan of "Galactic Readiness," saying it's not tied to your choices in comparison to previous endings isn't really a fair criticism. Still not sure about this game. What I've seen looked kind of dull, and at times downright stupid.
  • db1331 - March 6, 2012 7:59 a.m.

    Not true. I sent a loyal Mordin through the vents as my tech specialist and he died trying to get the door shut.
  • FOZ - March 6, 2012 8:26 a.m.

    Then add "Anyone but loyal Legion or loyal Tali will die." There's a whole chart for this. Only those two events really make a difference, and all you have to do is think for a second and send the person who makes the most sense. Tali is a Quarian, Legion is a robot, both have AI Hacking and drone. Mordin, meanwhile, is a scientist/ doctor.
  • db1331 - March 6, 2012 8:38 a.m.

    Oh I knew he would die. That's why I sent him. I hate Mordin.
  • Darkwun - March 6, 2012 9:26 a.m.

    LOL! gonna send a few to their deaths on my 4th playthrough... just for disparities sake
  • BladedFalcon - March 6, 2012 9:46 a.m.

    ...Why doesn't that surprise me? XD
  • xarab4lyfex - March 6, 2012 9:20 p.m.

    Hell I didn't even finish the game, but I can agree. I hated Mordin too. If I had played that suicide mission, Mordin would easily be the first to die.

Showing 81-100 of 126 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 06 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: BioWare
Franchise: Mass Effect
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Mild Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.