Google+

MAG review

Solid
Back to Article

55 comments

  • Cwf2008 - February 19, 2010 5:38 a.m.

    @xboxrulez: Either learn to speak English or learn to use Google Translator. On subject of MAG, what a shame. Still, it must be enjoyable playing with 256 players, even if its rather generic
  • Ror444 - February 19, 2010 5:12 a.m.

    PS360 Rules!
  • mdiaz033 - February 19, 2010 4:37 a.m.

    @ XBOXRULEZ MAG may not be a good example for what i'm about to say but next time try reading a review for a ps3 exclusive that isn't on a game site that is funded and owned by microsoft. or are you too afraid to read reviews from people that don't agree with you?
  • layzerboy4 - February 19, 2010 2:56 a.m.

    i think its better than MW2 but not even close to BFBC. MAG is a really fun game and well worth it. i like the way you make fun of it but its a great game and i think you lowered how good it actually is.
  • Pocotron - February 19, 2010 2:32 a.m.

    Whatever happened to proper english? Oh, wait... This isn't the Escapist! I just wrote that cuz I'm bored. Didn't mean it seriously.
  • chuckgreene97 - February 19, 2010 1:53 a.m.

    why xbox fan read ps3 review becauce they bored with their xbox!!
  • Doctalen - February 19, 2010 1:27 a.m.

    Kind of disappointing, I was hoping this would be at least and average game (on my personal scale that is about an 8). Maybe I can get my friend to buy it so that way I know I have at least one person I know will make it some fun.
  • sklorbit - February 19, 2010 12:15 a.m.

    i bought it. its fun. not great though. MW2 definatly more fun and better in every way. BFBC2 will also be a lot better. again though, its not bad, it just has a lot of problems that end up making the game less fun. for example, yesterday i played on the same map 6 times in a row on domination. thats 3 hours of the same exact map and game mode. boring! also the controls still feel aqward to me even though im a level 28, and the aiming is just not as precise as it could be. if a persons head is sticking out behind cover, good luck killing him. if your gun is acurate enough to even fire in his direction, you will still shoot and bullets wont register on his head. gamesradars review stated that all guns are balanced, and while this IS a good thing, it also means that almost every gun in the game feels EXACTLY like the one before it with a slightly different skin. all of the factions have different traits for their guns, but after buying grip and sight they all end up having the exact same damage and recoil as the guns from any other faction. the guns also sound the same, specially sver, all the guns sound like an ak, so wen you unlock the ak103 it feels exactly like all the other guns you have. i honestly had fun playing this game, but i have also had a lot of moments where i felt like just playing a different game out of frustration. playing the same map over and over, or being kicked as squad leader just because some asshole wants to be it just sucks. the BIGGEST problem with the whole game is that its simply not worth 60 bucks. with only a few maps, very few guns and an extremely limited skill tree, i found myself seeing and doing everything mag had to offer in only a couple hours. maybe im spoiled by recent games such as MW2 or Mass Effect 2... either way, zipper should have added more to this game, it feels sorta like bf1943 in terms of content. i dont believe a single player mode would have helped, zipper needs to work on this ip, because i honestly dont care about the shadow war and definitly am not patriotic toward my faction. BFBC2 got a 9.5 from gameinformer, and honestly, ive played the demo for that game more than ive played mag. In summary, buy mag if your bored of your games like i sorta was, dont buy it to be blown away. if your still trying to figure out whether or not to buy it by now, just wait for BFBC2, dice has never let anyone down and im SURE their game will pack A LOT more content than mag. btw, xboxrulez is soooo gay and idiotic. i have an xbox and love it, but your the kind of person who i meet online and have to cuss out. ps3 and xbox both have something to offer, Mag is just not a great example of this. buy uncharted2, Metal Gear Solid 4, Heavy Rain, Resistance, God of war 3 is coming out soon, infamous, GT5 it never ends. never wrote this much before...
  • Cyberninja - February 18, 2010 11:49 p.m.

    @xboxrulez ha ha thats a good joke the only companys i am loyal are nintendo and sega just because they have my favorite games pokemon rpgs and sonic adventure. and i am 14 i have plenty of to grow up later unlike the offical high school drop out of the internet which is Xboxrulez who cant even spell rules corrently wait i am sorry i meant preschool drop out
  • Pocotron - February 18, 2010 11:41 p.m.

    Nice idea Yeager. Why I was so foolish to try and talk to numbnuts, I'll never know.
  • hardcore_gamer1990 - February 18, 2010 11:26 p.m.

    @Yeager1122 - He'l respond to you for that.
  • Yeager1122 - February 18, 2010 10:56 p.m.

    Everyone just ignore xboxrulez dont respond to him he just says these things to get attention.
  • MrPips - February 18, 2010 10:40 p.m.

    I think MAG is a little above GR's head.
  • Pocotron - February 18, 2010 10:30 p.m.

    Ah! Heres our PS3 fanboy! And the English language is hammered to death again (although its a bit better than some) Nothing against you Cyberninja, but you're only giving in to the flame bait set by the other fanboys!
  • Cyberninja - February 18, 2010 10:05 p.m.

    Xboxrulez guess what xbox loses if you hate fps i only like 2 fps which are bioshock and starwars battlefront tell me 5 non fps that are exclusive for the xbox if you can find any. the number for stupid fews dial 360 ax i wasnt expecting for this to be great so the score is justafy able.
  • Pocotron - February 18, 2010 10:05 p.m.

    I never really liked Zipper's work. Forgot to mention that among my HATE of trolls!!!!1!!
  • MailMan - February 18, 2010 9:59 p.m.

    i would have to say that if you want the premium edition of a massive team based shooter, then save for battlefield instead, sure mag has the "OMFG 256 PLAYERZ :D" but DICE have the experience to make this sort of game work
  • Pocotron - February 18, 2010 9:58 p.m.

    Oh look... Two xboxrulez. You're such fucking trolls, go to some shit site like IGN! Fuck you're annoying! At least you guys took your time, but all that hype built by you guys and I already knew what score you were going to give it.
  • bmswlfc90 - February 18, 2010 8:25 p.m.

    this game is getting quite alot of stick, and i think its brilliant, if played properly you dont just die, wait, respawn, repeat...i would say its aimed at a completely different fanbase than COD...COD is about "wow thats cool" moments, and you run around as fast as you can blindly firing off the buggest gun you can...i think its terrible and dont understand it...theres a satisfaction in winning and working as a team in MAG that no other game has managed to touch.
  • CreeplyTuna - February 18, 2010 8:07 p.m.

    also, to play this game u NEED a mic. if u dont have one its pretty bland

Showing 21-40 of 55 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jan 26 2010 - PS3 (US)
Jan 29 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Sony
Developed by: Zipper Interactive
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Violence, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.