Google+

Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII review

Mediocre
Back to Article

89 comments

  • hintzke - February 12, 2014 5:44 a.m.

    For those that think Lightning is the most boring/worst character of the series, you have to first understand one thing. 1. This game is not made with a thought towards Western gamers. I lived in Japan for four years, and I can assure you that they LOVE their Lightning. So while some of the Western gamers may not care for the series, just remember, it wasn't made for you to begin with.
  • sephex - February 12, 2014 2:33 p.m.

    I think Lightning is a great character and I like her, but the games are not for me. At first, XIII was fun. Not great, but easy to pick up and beautiful. But they have to let it go. I mean its the third installment in the series and its super-boring. Meanwhile I could care less about the world or the trouble they're facing. Just move on. Final Fantasy XV, XVI, XVIII whatever just move on.
  • amilia-perez - April 3, 2014 10:20 a.m.

    If it wasn't made for us westerners, then the game shouldn't have released here in the first place. If they chose to do so without modifying it to our tastes, then they are fair game for criticism.
  • Outofmanyone - February 11, 2014 3:54 p.m.

    Well, I was on the fence about this but what the hell, I ordered it. I got Platinum on both FFXIII and XIII-2(which was actually fun) so, I might as well just finish out the series. To be honest, I have no idea where the story is now.. The second game was all over the place but oh well, at least it was fun.
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 11, 2014 5:12 p.m.

    Even though I wasn't always enjoying Lightning Returns, i was glad I played through to finish out the trilogy ^_^
  • Cyberninja - February 11, 2014 2:55 p.m.

    I enjoyed the demo so I will probably enjoy the full game
  • profile0000 - February 11, 2014 12:47 p.m.

    I really enjoyed XIII when it released. Over the last week, I've been having a good time beating XIII-2 as well. That being said, I honestly feel like the only reason I'm getting LR is to finish the series. I don't really have a drive to see the Lightning's story conclude, or play around with the cool new battle system or any of that. Despite genuinely liking the series, for some reason I only want to beat Returns just so I can finally be done with the XIII universe. The XIII universe feels like has been going on for ages with XIII taking 5 years to develop, XIII-2 being specifically made to address some specific issues of XIII and LR releasing to tie a few double-knots onto the loose ends of the FF XIII plotline or whatever. As a fan of the XIII games, I'm happy LR will be the last of the series. It's been almost 8 years since XIII was first announced in '06. It'll be good to just be done with it.
  • Moondoggie1157 - February 11, 2014 12:02 p.m.

    I didn't expect a high score, as I know a lot of people aren't fans of the FFXIII universe. I've really enjoyed the arch so far, despite the convoluted story, hell I platinumed FFXIII-2 (not a hard feat, I'll admit, but it never felt like a slog) and am still Gil farming in FFXIII. I'll definitely be picking up Lightening Returns, I just wont be buying it new like I did the past two games. Given how quickly XIII-2 dropped in price, I know I won't have to wait long. I would have taken the review a bit more seriously if it wasn't written by Ryan who's admitted to disliking the FFXIII universe. No knock against him at all, just in the future maybe get someone without a bias to review an already polarizing game. I don't expect the game to be fantastic, but after playing the demo and messing around with schemas and battle controls, I think a 'mediocre" rating is a bit low. Not to mention the fact that the story line is a strong point and apparently ends the series on a high note... That's a pretty big win in my mind. I'm starting to wonder if it's just become a fun past time to bash the XIII trilogy. Then again, I may the be one who isn't seeing straight... I couldn't bother to play more than a few hours of FFV nor FFVII, right now I'm trying to act excited while playing FFIX, I just can't seem to stay interested in the characters... I'm going to pick up III, IV, and VI soon, from what i've played of them, I liked them. FFX is still a high point for me... Despite the weird ending. Ah well, I was meaning to do another Legend of Dragoon playthrough anyways, and I really want to start Bravely Default. So hopefully by the time I'm done with those, Lightening Returns will drop a few dollars.
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 2:19 p.m.

    It's not a fun pass-time, nor a trend to bash something when it actually sucks, y'know :P But yes, play FFVI instead, much better RPG all around.
  • Moondoggie1157 - February 11, 2014 3:13 p.m.

    Oh it doesn't suck that bad... Mind you, the quality doesn't compare to LotD or FFX, but I'd go as far as to say the XIII arch is better than VII or IX, that's just me though.
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 5:41 p.m.

    ...Yeeeah, that's just you :P I mean, I'm actually not a fan of either FFVII or FFIX, but even then their plot and gameplay was better than FFXIII in my opinion. I'm sorry, but IMO FFXIII does represent the worst aspects of what linear gameplay can do, it dumbed down and pretty much eliminated any sense of exploration, the battle system was either love it or hate it, (In my case it was hate, I don't like at all how it all feel like I'm just indirectly influencing battle rather than making straight decision all the time.) And with the sole exception of Sazh, all the characters were obnoxious in one way or another, Lighting with her bitchy and intolerant attitude, Snow with his singleminded energy and bravado, Hope with his angst and mopey-ness, And Vanille with her fake cheerfulness and bubbly demeanor. Throw that along the fact that once you get the plot straight, there's really noting deep or memorable about it, and worse, it breaks it's own rules left and right, and the ending is downright insulting in how cheap it is. ("Hey, remember how we established since the beginning AND hammered trough the entire story repeatedly that characters marked either had to complete their focus or turn into monsters with no way of being saved whatsoever? FUCK THAT NOISE. Instead, the power of friendship solves everything and revive the entire party for no fucking reason!") I
  • Moondoggie1157 - February 11, 2014 5:44 p.m.

    Fair enough haha I'd defend it, but I honestly don't feel like typing that much :P Forever alone
  • Vonter - February 11, 2014 9:19 p.m.

    .... I don't think that comparison is fair does games have better value in either character or story and shock of all shocks the sidequests don't suck in those games. I can mainly speak in defense of IX but that game was a romantic setting with characters that were both charming and deep and you actually care for them, I'm just guessing here, but if the third game is just the protagonist doesn't that mean the other characters were disposable. Because looking from outside it looks that way.
  • sephex - February 11, 2014 4 p.m.

    FFX when things started to go down.
  • Moondoggie1157 - February 11, 2014 4:20 p.m.

    Really eh? I couldn't stand VII and IX is boring as hell thus far. X was the first FF game I actually enjoyed, ah well, to each their own!
  • BladedFalcon - February 11, 2014 5:42 p.m.

    Yes and no, FFXII was pretty decent, not amazing, but enjoyable regardless. And i personally liked it better than FFVII and FFIX
  • sephex - February 12, 2014 5:01 a.m.

    FF XII was decent, yes. But the story was subpar. I didn't care the least about those characters or the story itself.
  • BladedFalcon - February 12, 2014 9:03 a.m.

    I'm not going to defend the story, but don't talk shit about Balthier, he was awesome. In fact, honestly, what brings FFXII up for me more than anything is Balthier and Cid, the main plot might have been sub-par, but everything involving those two was absolutely fantastic.
  • bigwill1221 - February 11, 2014 5:42 p.m.

    Hmm swear it's not all those ff7 spin offs?
  • sephex - February 12, 2014 4:59 a.m.

    X-2?

Showing 21-40 of 89 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 11 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Square Enix
Franchise: Final Fantasy
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence, Mild Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.