Google+

Killzone: Shadow Fall review

Back to Article

22 comments

  • MrLipscomb - December 20, 2013 4:26 p.m.

    I'm deciding if I should get this game or not, even though I haven't played shooting games in a while. Lately I been getting involved with making money playing games https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EnxNiETpYF8
  • Squander - December 3, 2013 3:06 a.m.

    Before u read any further, be assured that I dont wanna spoil the fun --> KZ is an excellent game per se, it just gives me a hard time (which is also a good thing...) duuno how's it with you guys, I started the game on hard and its utterly frustrating - Enemies are imo too clever and two shots from nowhere already get u killed. I am aware that I have to wisely use the Owl (and I am doing so)...however, I've got the feeling that the game is playing with me, not vice versa. Proceeding so far is a matter of trial and error. I also often dont know what to do, guess its a next gen thing that on-screen information is as tiny as tiny can get (same goes for NFS:R)....my Bravia 42' is not a PC monitor where I stick my nose into
  • awesomesauce - November 14, 2013 7:39 p.m.

    did operation mode make it into Shadow Fall?
  • freeden - November 13, 2013 12:28 p.m.

    Already got my copy and can't wait to play. From the demo I saw on YT, this looks like a ton of fun, more so than the chapters before it and am great looking forward to it. I do wish the story and characters were better developed, but I'd rather spend an hour traipsing through the world of Killzone than ten through any CoD or Battlefield game.
  • larkan - November 13, 2013 12:20 p.m.

    Any time I see "excellent gunplay" as a positive for a generic console FPS, I thank the lucky stars I have a PC to play generic FPS games on.
  • archnite - November 13, 2013 8:50 p.m.

    This really made me laugh because of your simultaneous elitist and self-defeating attitude. Thanks bru.
  • shawksta - November 13, 2013 9:44 a.m.

    Great to see this help up great
  • MyCoolWhiteLies - November 13, 2013 8:55 a.m.

    Oh Killzone... if only the developers would bother to hire some real writers to give us a story and characters we actually care about, instead of wallowing in generic and forgettable sci-fi tropes. I played through 2, but I can't remember a damn thing from it. I'm getting this, only because I qualified for Amazon's buy 2 get 1 free deal, and I didn't want Knack, Angry Birds, or Injustice.
  • mothbanquet - November 13, 2013 9:48 a.m.

    I know right? With such stylish and distinctive visual design, steadily improving gameplay and bags of personality, you'd think it would be perfect for a gritty but moving war story, a la Band of Brothers, Hurt Locker or Brotherhood. Spec Ops: The Line showed how effective a modern day Heart of Darkness can be and there's nothing stopping Guerilla from giving us something really memorable.
  • MyCoolWhiteLies - November 15, 2013 11:01 a.m.

    Yeah, it's so frustrating to me to see so much time, money, and effort put into AAA games, only to have it ultimately feel bland because they couldn't be bothered to create a genuinely interesting story or because the lead designer fancies himself a storyteller. Seriously, get real writers. It's not expensive and it's a effort that can truly elevate your final product.
  • mothbanquet - November 13, 2013 8:49 a.m.

    Looks like a solid enough entry to a very good series. It'll be interesting to see where we go from here though, as by the sounds of it, SF adheres very much to the established game design structure, with the PS4's horsepower going into sprucing up the graphics alone. Hopefully they'll branch out in future instalments and push the design envelope a bit.
  • Joedirt1105 - November 13, 2013 7:32 a.m.

    You meant to say "only exclusive launch title". Knack doesn't count. Knack is garbage.
  • BladedFalcon - November 13, 2013 8:49 a.m.

    Resogun is an exclusive launch title, and it looks pretty legit.
  • Joedirt1105 - November 13, 2013 11:47 a.m.

    I'm sorry, I meant as far as first party exclusives go.
  • BladedFalcon - November 13, 2013 noon

    Resogun IS first party >_>
  • larkan - November 13, 2013 12:22 p.m.

    Yeah, nothing says next gen like a faux 3D side shooter, there aren't dozens of those out already.
  • BladedFalcon - November 13, 2013 12:31 p.m.

    That wasn't the point though. The point is that regardless, it IS an exclusive and a first party game, and a good one. Whether there are more like that in other places is completely irrelevant to the conversation here.
  • sleepyMexican45 - November 13, 2013 4:59 p.m.

    Good point. Luckily for Killzone theres a significant drought in 1st person shooters right now!
  • neosapien - November 16, 2013 6:20 a.m.

    LOL, do you even know what the word "Faux" even means? It means fake in french, so basically what you're saying is that this game is a fake 3D side shooter, which doesn't make sense! I know some people want to use fancy words like "per se" or "pseudo" to try to sound smart, but make sure you really know what it means otherwise your attempt at making your comments smart will fall flat!

Showing 1-20 of 22 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 12 2013 - PS4 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4
Genre: Action
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Guerrilla Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.