Google+

James Bond 007: Blood Stone review

Decent
AT A GLANCE
  • High-speed chase segments
  • Typically good pacing
  • The feel of a Bond blockbuster
  • Observing Bond fight
  • Convoluted plot
  • Low-speed gas escape sequences

In the first mission of Blood Stone you skydive onto a yacht, shoot a dozen or so enemies in their stupid little heads, and jump into a million-dollar boat for a high-speed chase. Not exactly what you’d call formulaic.

That is, until the second mission, when you fly onto a dock, shoot several dozen henchmen in their stupid little heads, and jump into a million-dollar car for a high-speed chase. Nice.

Each of the missions in the rather short campaign follows suit, sometimes spritzing a fancy “get chased by something big” sequence or an “escape a building full of lethal gas” segment. Most of the time it actually feels like a blockbuster, with a quick-pace and plenty of changes in scenery.

Blockbuster or not, the plot is boring as hell, which means almost as boring as Quantum of Solace. It has something to do with diamonds and gasses, like Ke$ha after Taco Bell. Controls don’t always match the excitement either – an early scene has you pressing A to dispose of a helicopter in a high-speed chase – not mashing A feverishly trying to fire a bullet into its whirring blades from the choppy water – just tapping it once. Takedowns, which function as the game’s melee combat, are achieved by simply pressing X to display a fancy animation of Bond doing all sorts of cool things while you observe.

Each takedown gains Bond a focus shot, which funnels all of CraigBond’s super agent powers into a direct headshot. Bond baddies have always been a little stupid, but there’s really no denying that Blood Stone’s enemies are strangely idiotic. They hide behind large explosive crates, toss grenades against walls, and interrupt gunfights to saunter over to whichever corner you hide behind (allowing for a takedown and focus shot). Even so, the game’s rather difficult on Agent and 007 modes.

Part of what makes Blood Stone difficult is that Daniel Craig isn’t the typical bullet-sponge protagonist. Sure, he can still take more bullets than 50 Cent and Wolverine combined, but a few good ones and it’s curtains. Which is why the way Bond opens doors is absolutely terrifying – just swings ‘em open and stands there as exposed as an exhibitionist on laundry day.

There were a few instances where grenadiers would spawn in the worst possible locations and make short work of our slightly tousled hair and D&G loafers, but for the most part the checkpoint system is well shaped. You’ll die lots without the help of typical Bond vitality and gadgetry though. In fact, Bond’s only gadget in the game is his “smartphone” which can do pretty much everything, from setting off car alarms and unlocking doors to retaining perfect service in the middle of a mineshaft.

Unfortunately, there’s just not enough here to keep you coming back. Once you’ve finished the campaign once, you can play through online modes or take a shot at an even more difficult campaign, but more than likely you’ll follow the Bond-film route and call it quits.

Nov 4, 2010

More Info

Release date: Nov 02 2010 - PS3, PC, DS, Xbox 360 (US)
Nov 05 2010 - PS3, PC, DS, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, DS, Xbox 360
Published by: Activision
Developed by: n-Space, Bizarre Creations
Franchise: James Bond
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Blood, Tobacco Reference, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
16+

We Recommend By ZergNet

20 comments

  • Agent36496 - March 27, 2012 1:26 p.m.

    I still need some time to understand the plot, but it's a good game. Daniel Craig makes a good Bond, and the story had good twists. The game could have used more manual action, but good nonetheless.
  • bball42242442 - November 12, 2010 3:44 a.m.

    ok you don't have to be a bond fan to review but he seems to want to hate it and everything Bond. You shouldn't have someone who's anti-bond and doesn't like the character or movies, review a game for it. His obviously negative opinion swayed his review.
  • TJP75 - November 9, 2010 6:18 a.m.

    I finished Blood Stone on the 007 setting on Monday and enjoyed every second of the game. I still believe Blood Stone is a 7-7.5 out of 10 game, despite whatever the metacritic average is. Based on feeback I've read on the large gaming forums such as NeoGAF, the majority of players willing to try Blood Stone are enjoying it. Cheers.
  • AGENTJORRRG - November 6, 2010 8:48 p.m.

    6 is pretty good. Might give it a look
  • Inthedistrict - November 6, 2010 2:53 a.m.

    I bought the game and I say a 6 sounds about right. For the most part I thought the previews made the game look well polished, which is most definitely not the case. There are a lot of bugs, the game feels rushed, and the AI is pretty bad. I don't dislike the game, but it frustrates me that these games could be much better if they were....well, better. The same goes for Medal of Honor...just make the damn games better! Come on people!
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - November 5, 2010 11 p.m.

    Gee, look at that: the game is averaging a 63 on Metacritic.
  • TJP75 - November 5, 2010 6:47 a.m.

    I still believe this is a high 7 to low 8 out of 10 game. The best review (but not the highest score) has been Gamespot's. One can only hope Activision doesn't close down Bizarre Creations.
  • Jesse1066 - November 5, 2010 5:06 a.m.

    AUGGHHH! ME TOO!
  • ShaneCedt - November 5, 2010 4:47 a.m.

    AUGGHHH I WANT ANOTHER BOND MOVIE
  • n00b - November 5, 2010 1:28 a.m.

    wtf i thought this was gona come out till next year. probably could have used to time too
  • Baron164 - November 5, 2010 12:43 a.m.

    Sounds disappointing but I actually liked Quantum of Solace. I'll pick this up when I can get it for $20.
  • CombatWombat101 - November 4, 2010 11:58 p.m.

    News flash, annoying fanboys: you don't need to be a Bond fan to review a Bond game. Furthermore, you shouldn't need to be one to enjoy the damn game. If the only thing making you enjoy the game is a blind love of Daniel Craig, it is not a good game. Period.
  • Z-man427 - November 4, 2010 11:36 p.m.

    BIG surprise there. Even the trailers looked horribly generic
  • bball42242442 - November 4, 2010 11:24 p.m.

    ok this guy obviously doesn't sound like a Bond fan, so why let him review this game? This is a pretty awful review and doesn't do much for me.
  • eyeKARUMBA - November 4, 2010 11:01 p.m.

    Honestly? A six? And yet you gave Kinectimals an 8? You're retarded.
  • ventanger - November 4, 2010 10:37 p.m.

    Kind of surprised you didn't take the editorial bait and say that Activision is desperately trying to squeeze "blood" from the Bond franchise "stone".
  • batmanboy11 - November 4, 2010 10:35 p.m.

    I guess its a good thing I decided to wait until Christmas to get this...
  • Tispian - November 4, 2010 10:26 p.m.

    Now that that's out of the way, why a 6? I didn't really think there was much in your review to indicate that it deserved a six. Is plot really that important to what makes a good game? MW2 and Halo 3 both have extremely convoluted plots and they got 10's. As for Bond fighting with minimal input, that and the lack of re-playability were (I think, I'm not a professional game reviewer) only really bad enough for a seven. You mentioned (more like glossed over, they weren't really covered at all) some online modes. Surely they would have extended the lifespan of this game? Unless they were really terrible, but we didn't know because they weren't reviewed.
  • Rovert 09 - November 4, 2010 10:18 p.m.

    Bizarre just shipped a game 6 months ago and are one of my favorite racing game developers. I hope Activision doesn't start bleeding good for nothing games out of them.

Showing 1-20 of 20 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.