Google+

InFamous: Second Son review

Solid
Back to Article

76 comments

  • ombranox - March 20, 2014 9:21 a.m.

    It's only as good as TitanFall? Blah.
  • LeTHaL.MiGRaiNe - March 20, 2014 10:47 a.m.

    1. the first 2 infamous games were boring... this one doesn't look any different than the last one. 2. Infamous will never be as good as Titanfall.... unless you're crazy.
  • LeTHaL.MiGRaiNe - March 20, 2014 10:50 a.m.

    looking at Metacritic, the game sites agree, Infamous isn't getting the same review scores as Titanfall, it's a bit lower.
  • Redeater - March 20, 2014 11:02 a.m.

    They're two completely different games. Who the christ cares what got higher? The only people that are going to give a shit are pea-brained console fan boys who are desperate to compare apples and oranges. (I'm pretty sure ombranox was just joking)
  • GOD - March 21, 2014 12:44 a.m.

    Yeah, but seriously, not as good as Halo: Reach? Wat.
  • Sinsational - March 21, 2014 5:32 a.m.

    --- The Joke <---- Your head.
  • Vonter - March 20, 2014 11:11 a.m.

    Different genres, it'll be like adding DKC:TF and saying is better, because its the most challenging single player campaign, and also better as a platformer.
  • Hig1134 - March 21, 2014 8:05 a.m.

    1. The first two Infamous games were really good, the review scores for both reflect this. 2. Infamous is definitely as good as TFall, maybe even better if you're looking for more than a rinse/repeat, bare bones, online only Call of Duty with mechs.
  • FoxdenRacing - March 20, 2014 9:20 a.m.

    So Coop, aside from 'longer'...what improvements would you make, if you were in charge of the sequel?
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 20, 2014 9:44 a.m.

    More dynamic stuff in the world. I felt like inFamous 2 did a good job of this--like taking down convoys and stuff. It's what makes an open-world game last.
  • LeTHaL.MiGRaiNe - March 20, 2014 10:51 a.m.

    there doesn't need to be a sequel. this boring franchise just needs to end and Sucker Punch needs to make a better game.
  • Trollkitten - March 24, 2014 4:43 a.m.

    Just because you personally find it boring doesn't mean that no one else should get to have it. Different people like different things. Besides, how many video games can you play in one lifetime, anyway?
  • F4G1TR0N - March 20, 2014 9:01 a.m.

    In all honesty, I am just happy for a new game to come out that does not have a last-gen version. I've been recently stuck playing shooters on next gen and have over-exhausted myself. This will be a welcomed change of pace haha. This and the fact that you can livestream your gameplay will make for an interesting experience. Also Troy Baker is hot... Infamously hot...
  • homestar99 - March 20, 2014 8:20 a.m.

    It's nice to see some educated comments about the game. Instead of a bunch of twats talking about TItanfall being better just for being on Xbox just to be dicks about it. Seriously, the games have fuck all in common, just 'cos you bought a console or game doesn't mean it's better 'cos you own it. Back to talking about inFamous, ditch the karma system. If anything, give the Telltale style of karma system that appears during cutscenes and influence that based on what you did in gameplay such as murder innocents. Don't display a karma meter and force me into specific powers for being a certain person. Let me have all the powers, pick dialogue options to change characters opinions of me, and have them judge me for my actions in gameplay. Make me question whether or not I'm right or wrong or good or bad. Let me be a man that doesn't have to be either a huge dick or a saint with no middle ground. Let me develop my character to be who I want and make me less binary.
  • winner2 - March 20, 2014 1:50 p.m.

    Best idea I've read so far and also best phrased.
  • rainn'sgaydar - March 20, 2014 8:06 a.m.

    I'll just file this under "Might as well since you bought a PS4 and Bravely Default is almost over."
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 20, 2014 8:17 a.m.

    This. Also it's fun, so there's no shame in grabbing it!
  • rainn'sgaydar - March 20, 2014 8:25 a.m.

    Sounds it! I quite enjoyed Saints Row IV, so I can handle plenty of open world sameness
  • homestar99 - March 20, 2014 8:34 a.m.

    Just hope it isn't as easy as Saints Row IV. Don't get me wrong, the game was fun, but there's something wrong with a game I can beat without dying on the highest difficulty setting.
  • rainn'sgaydar - March 20, 2014 8:41 a.m.

    I didn't have an issue with that, but I typically don't play games for difficulty, so that is probably why.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - March 20, 2014 8 a.m.

    "gameplay isn't as "Next Gen" as the visuals" What the fuck does that even mean? Unless you talking about Knack levels of gameplay I don't see what the problem is. There's barely any "Next Gen" gameplay at all, in anything.
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 20, 2014 8:14 a.m.

    The morality choices are still hyper-binary, and the gameplay is nearly identical to what it was in the last games.
  • homestar99 - March 20, 2014 8:25 a.m.

    I'm fine with more enemy beating inFamous gameplay but the moral choices could be better, I've got another comment on this page with a full opinion.
  • ren-davis - March 20, 2014 9:40 a.m.

    Did you expect them to drastically alter to gameplay? And if the gameplay is identical to the last two then how does that make it not next gen? What I'm saying is that you hear similar complaints between games on the same system and generation. Gameplay has the same basic components as it did two generations ago for the most part so I don't understand what you want from next-gen gameplay. I don't mean to hound you for your opinion, but I'm seriously trying to understand the meaning by next-gen gameplay. What would have made this game next gen to you?

Showing 21-40 of 76 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 21 2014 - PS4 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4
Genre: Action
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Sucker Punch
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Drug Reference, Language, Sexual Themes, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.