Google+

The Ico and Shadow of the Colossus Collection review

Back to Article

43 comments

  • Darkhawk - January 25, 2012 9:30 p.m.

    SotC is one of the very few games I purchased new. Asking price? $35.
  • emofascist - October 9, 2011 9:11 p.m.

    Absolutely loved shadow of the colossus prolly one of the most enthralling games I had played on PS2 and so heart wrenching got my copy just yesterday
  • Octoboy - October 7, 2011 2:07 a.m.

    "there’s a definite satisfaction in bringing down something hundreds of times your size" No. There is not. And if you feel any satisfaction killing innocent, majestic creatures you cleary miss the whole point of the game, namely taking 16 lifes just to save 1 life. There can be no triumph whatsoever.
  • JSayonara - October 7, 2011 1:39 a.m.

    Classic my arse. The controls for this are terrible, what the **** is up with the view? Plus, it took me about ten minutes to work out that you had to JUMP and grab, all the game told you was grab. I gave up, I don't care if it's highly lauded, if they can't even sort the controls, I'm not persevering. If this is the best they can do when they remaster games to HD..ughh.
  • jackthemenace - September 10, 2011 8:53 a.m.

    I've never particularly given a crap about ICO, but, since this has Trophies and ICO bundled in, I'll wait for this to come down in price rather than just buying a PS2 copy of SotC. Oh, How I love my old, crappy, just-about-broken Backwards compatible PS3.
  • madmax21st - September 11, 2011 6:34 p.m.

    "never particularly given a crap about ICO". GTFO. Your kind is not welcomed around here.
  • philipshaw - September 10, 2011 3:41 a.m.

    Great review, but those games don't really need any more than 10 save slots, I always just used the one back in the day
  • Johnny6Gun - September 9, 2011 3:40 p.m.

    After discovering the beauty of the PS2 'tape trick', my copy of Ico works again, so I have no need for this. have fun, kids.
  • TriforcePlayer - September 9, 2011 3:23 p.m.

    Great review. Looking forward to Last Gaurdian
  • TheVoid - September 9, 2011 1:19 p.m.

    I must admit I'm rather surprised that Mikel only graced this review with one measely line regarding the upgraded visuals and 3d capabilities. As much as I appreciate the "in case you missed these the first time around, here's what you missed" approach, I would venture that most gamers interested in this package are those that are (at the very least) already familar with both games' concepts. Again, nothing wrong with retreading the covered ground for each game's mechanics, but I expect most people that flocked to this review anticipated much more regarding how the much-hyped graphics overall turned out in the end, especially for SOC, which chugged at a barely passable rate back when it was first released. Here are some questions I personally would have loved to have seen answered in this review: New textures - do they look good? How "HD" are we talking here? Framerate - has it been greatly improved? Pop-up - anywhere to be found? Does SOC retain it's atmospheric "landscape blur" despite the sharpened visuals? Is there "true" widescreen support? Is the 3D well executed? Bueller? Bueller? And whatever would similarly apply to Ico (which I've never played, but am familiar with, but not enough to speak to whatever graphical weaknesses might have been improved in the overhaul). Truth be told I already know the answers, having stumbled on a different gaming review site that had their review for this posted front-and-center earlier, having gone into these specifics at great length. Informative, sure, but I do love GR's writing the best (especially when Mikel is at the wheel) which is why I can't help but vocalize my disappointment after reading this review, especially considering the hype's focus on bringing SOC in particular to the next-gen console it should have debuted on in the first place. Btw, for those interested, the overhauled visuals apparently are good enough to warrent the purchase and replay, even if you own both games already. No need to go elsewhere if that is what you were hoping to hear.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - September 22, 2011 5:41 p.m.

    I think you'll find I addressed many of those points in paragraphs 3-6. (Except for the one about widescreen support - so yes, the camera's view of the landscape has actually been widened, rather than just stretched.)
  • Thequestion 121 - September 9, 2011 12:45 p.m.

    Aw yeah, so getting this
  • Celticlupin13 - September 9, 2011 11:54 a.m.

    Played SotC, and could never beat the Horse Colossus... Now's MY CHANCE!!!
  • MouseKlok - September 9, 2011 11:50 a.m.

    Great review Mr. Reparaz! I've been waiting to buy a PS3 just to play this and The Last Guardian. Looks like the wait is almost over!
  • shawksta - September 9, 2011 11:25 a.m.

    They are great games, but the truth is their just last gen games with fixed visuals otherwise its the same games as last gen with nothing new but Achievements and trophies that dont do anything much. HOWEVER, the fact that these 2 are together for a cheap price makes it worth it.
  • gilgamesh310 - September 9, 2011 6:45 a.m.

    Easy 10s. is anything ever not an easy 10 with gamesradar? And have games really gotten so easy today that the checkpoints wouild be a problem now? I didn't have a problem with that when I first played it. Is there that many console kiddies around, that everything hasto be made so easy?
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - September 9, 2011 10:38 a.m.

    Yeah, lots of games aren't easy 10s. This one, for example.

Showing 1-20 of 43 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 27 2011 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: SCE Japan Studio
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.