Google+

Homefront review

Solid
Back to Article

71 comments

  • raisonbread - March 16, 2011 11:35 a.m.

    I might as well get Rango...
  • gazdog9 - March 16, 2011 10:40 a.m.

    Well written review as usual . I wonder why Mikel felt the need to split the review into Single and Multiplayer ? . I realise that the temptation is to review them as two seperate entities but it's just one game on a disc .You can't go and buy the multiplayer seperately . Maybe this is the way to go in future ? Review the single and multiplayer parts of games seperately .
  • chicgoods19 - March 16, 2011 9:53 a.m.

    Wonderful. Share a website with you , put this url in google sirch (http://www.chic-goods.com/ ) Believe you will love it. We accept any form of payment.
  • Kaizo616 - March 16, 2011 9:45 a.m.

    Another, the singleplayer is meh bit give the multiplayer a go, game huh? Am I the only one that's sick of these? I want quality single player games dammit!
  • Spybreak8 - March 16, 2011 9:23 a.m.

    Great review Mikel. I love Super Reviews, one of the main reasons I read this site (aside from Top 7s of course). Unfortunately I'll have to wait on this game, kinda broke atm.
  • J-spit - March 16, 2011 6:56 a.m.

    But.....I love White Castle. (sniff, sniff)
  • FreedomPhantom - March 16, 2011 6:32 a.m.

    This is definitely one I'll have to rent. I was really excited though. and to cthulhuswrath, you're annoying. This game might have full servers, but that could be because it recieved so much hype. Maybe it has full servers of very disappointed people?
  • practicallyhitler - March 16, 2011 6:05 a.m.

    Excellent review, Mikel (as usual)! That said, one quick bone to pick: What is supposedly so great about this story? Frankly, I've always thought Milius was kind of a hack, with (at best) a deeply flawed understanding of global politics. So far, I haven't seen or read anything about the game's plot that makes me want to reconsider. It mostly sounds like a rehash of "Red Dawn" with North Koreans dropped lazily into a pair of Russian combat boots they haven't got a chance in Hell of filling. Is there something here I'm missing? anyway... video games: The multiplayer does sound pretty interesting. A less twitchy COD experience sounds kind of cool. How does the vehicle combat stand up to something like Bad Co. 2?
  • beezn - March 16, 2011 6:03 a.m.

    I had hopes for this title, I preordered it from Best Buy mostly for the game but partly for the free Bluetooth headset. I play only campaign as multiplayer is too annoying to deal with. The 4-6 hrs of playtime is just not good enough for me, I will be returning this game and preordering Mass Effect 3.
  • FlyinHawaiian13 - March 16, 2011 5:26 a.m.

    @Killburn. Movies don't cost 60 dollars a pop. I can only buy so many games a year, and I want those games to be the best and most fun games in their genre. I don't need 4 shooters, black ops, battlefield, and reach are already filling that spot.
  • masenjo - March 16, 2011 5:16 a.m.

    I'm about 1/2 way done with the Campaign, content wise it's good, length no. Multiplayer is why you buy it.
  • initialreaction - March 16, 2011 5 a.m.

    What a disappointment. The only thing that makes me interested in this game is the story of the single-player campaign. I'm not a multiplayer gamer. Maybe I will rent it.
  • FauxFurry - March 16, 2011 4:49 a.m.

    All I wanted to do is play one of the Wolverines but that longing will sadly go on wanting for however much longer it takes to get a straight Red Dawn adaptation. Blasted original stories...rassum frassum! I guess that Marvel Versus Capcom 3 and X-Men:Origins will have to do though I can't shake the feeling that something is amiss. That Logan guy is about the right height for the part, but somehow I don't think that he's a high school lad turned guerilla. I don't think that he's a teenager at all! I'll still probably check this out somewhere down the line,maybe after a price-drop or two, as Un-patriotic as that may be. I've got too many Canadian and Japanese games to play before then. Milius looks to have come through on his end of the paranoid fanatasy but he can't hold up an entire videogame production any more than he could an entire film.
  • Kilburn474 - March 16, 2011 4:45 a.m.

    Sadly, this is all too true -> http://www.halolz.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/halolz-dot-com-movies-vs-videogames-reviewscores.jpg
  • Kilburn474 - March 16, 2011 4:40 a.m.

    Since when is a 7 a bad thing? Jesus... The gaming comunity needs to pull their head out of their collective ass.
  • Redeater - March 16, 2011 4:25 a.m.

    Wow I am suprised with all the hype this game had that it turned out to be just ok. Oh well you can't argue with metacritic. I might pick this up when it drops down to $10.......on second thought maybe I might just rent it. 4-6 hours...yeesh.
  • CoryM1134 - March 16, 2011 4:17 a.m.

    Cthuluswrath is the embodiment of why I'm spending less and less time over at IGN. If you want to have that sort of discussion over there, buddy, I'm sure they'll accommodate you. Good review, sounds like a nice way to kill an evening. I'll check it out when its cheaper.
  • AmbassadorBlanka - March 16, 2011 4:12 a.m.

    Did anyone else see that the only lowercase letters in cthulhuswrath's post are ign? I'm calling shenanigans and think she is subliminally advertising.
  • garnsr - March 16, 2011 4:08 a.m.

    Are they planning DLC to flesh out the campaign? This seems so short that they must be, which would be a different outrage than only having a four hour campaign total.
  • Claymore17 - March 16, 2011 4:04 a.m.

    Thanks Mikel, great review

Showing 41-60 of 71 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: THQ
Developed by: Kaos
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.