Google+

Heavy Rain review

Solid
Back to Article

125 comments

  • charana - February 16, 2010 9:13 a.m.

    I respect your opinion regarding Heavy Rain. However, coming across your shower comparison I became completely thrown off. This game may not be interesting to you, but the quiz I enjoyed taking at the start of your review, has me wondering if you had mostly C's? Wow, your review just went down the drain, now I must find out for myself.
  • Darkhawk - February 16, 2010 1:20 a.m.

    Exactly what I figured. And apparently the bad European voice acting is ridiculous, too. Just what I was afraid of from a David Cage production. He needs to hand writing chores over to real writers, and focus on gameplay instead. recaptcha: tennis their
  • austinite04 - February 15, 2010 9:59 p.m.

    I played the demo, and the coolest thing is every time you start the chapters over you get new responses, new events happen.. It's not a normal game. I LOVE IT. (yes I wanna marry it,lol) Just kidding... lol.... anyways I really was blown away by the detail, my mom thought it was a movie. We just saw Avatar so she really couldn't tell the difference. I give this game/movie a 10.
  • Yeager1122 - February 15, 2010 7:19 p.m.

    Just read through all the comments its unbelievable the amount of fanyboism here its just there opinion doesnt mean you cant still go out and buy the game if you want to.
  • WrathLord03 - February 15, 2010 9:46 a.m.

    I'm sure the game has gotten a lot of good reviews, although its the simplistic gameplay that puts me off. While it may be immersive, wonderfully told, gripping and all those other words associated with movies, it isn't really a game. As GR has said, it's pretty much a point and click game. I've played the demo and there are only two gameplay aspects - walking and QTEs. In that sense, the game deserves a 7 for not being as much of a game than rather a movie that lets you choose how its going to continue. I thought the QTE in the demo was brilliantly executed (where you fight Troy) and well thought through, although - as I must stress being someone who likes games - there isn't enough gameplay. It may just be that there's nothing to be good at - in a shooter, for example, you can get a lot of headshots but in Heavy Rain those gameplay aspects don't apply. As GR said (or something like it) 'it's not really a step forward in gaming narratives'. That's why it deserves this 7 and that's why I won't be picking it up - it's just a point and click.
  • c1nd3rcell - February 14, 2010 10:07 p.m.

    I loved Indigo Prophecy and all, but I was hoping Heavy Rain would be much better than a 7/10. Since storyline is my favorite part of video games, I was very exited about this game. Also, I'm ticked of at Quantic Dream for making this a PS3 exclusive. Its not like it would be any different on the 360, except for the Sixaxis movements. But you would surely think that they could find a way around it? Oh well, I guess I'll have to watch lets plays on YouTube for this one:(
  • tayls - February 14, 2010 9:09 p.m.

    I enjoyed Indigo Prophecy and all, but it really was an odd, niche game. This game wouldn't even be on the radar of many PS3 owners if Sony didn't play it up as a heavy hitter...a dumb move, in my opinion. I see it selling moderately well, but disappointing and perplexing a lot of people, as it's completely different than anything else on the system. I think this is a fair review, but to everyone touting the metacritic average: this game shouldn't have been played up like it was by Sony, as it's hardly mainstream in it's execution, however compelling the finished product is.
  • Stabby_Joe - February 14, 2010 6:49 p.m.

    Even though I already "made peace" with this review, I find it strange that people are acting like the split between gamers goes far beyond. There are like 3 sites that gave this review in the 7 range, this being one. 3 out of roughly 40 so far being great to perfect... ...mixed game or what. It's ok to disagree with the game and not like it but some seem to be under a false impression of the average view.
  • sato - February 14, 2010 4:02 p.m.

    *your
  • sato - February 14, 2010 4:02 p.m.

    @ xboxrulez It's my own opinion, you don't have to be a douche about it. ;/ + it's hard to believe you because you're obviously biased username ;/
  • Panhandle - February 14, 2010 11:42 a.m.

    Agh, the curse of the 'out of ten' scoring system strikes again! 7 seems a very fair score to me, and it was a very good review in my opinion, titles that deviate from the norm are hard to judge (but easy to give good marks/perfect scores) Criticizing the story is perfectly valid as well, considering the game is built and hinges on the story really, comparing it to other video games like modern warfare 2 or something makes no sense, as i hardly believe people bought that for the great dialogue (although i for example was extremely perturbed and demanded my money back from the shopkeep when Guitar Hero didn't provide me with the cohesive narrative depth i was expecting. Maybe not). Personally, i would get it, 7 is still a good score for a niche game, I liked Fahrenheit when that came out, yes i know it was pretty terrible and fell to pieces at the end like a choc ice on a particularly hot day, but it was a diverting attraction, and it was different from the norm. I wouldn't have held it up as an excellent game, and at the time, i think it was mostly overrated by a lot of reviewers as well, giving it an easy ride because of its ambition. Looking back on this game in six months, i don't think anyone would still be calling for it to be rated 10/10, just like a lot of hyped games, bioshock for instance, the story was great, the setting was awesome, the combat was? *cough* well, pretty weak, its scores were a bit too high on average i think. i love a good story, the fact that this type of game is around and being developed makes me happy, there is fantastic potential here, but some poor writing would hold it back a little from excellence
  • sato - February 14, 2010 5:59 a.m.

    89 on Metacritic, I know this game is better than that. :(
  • Ravenbom - February 13, 2010 9:43 p.m.

    I pretty much agree with most of what infestedandy said. But personally, I don't even think reviews should use scores, instead, just skip to the chase: Buy, Rent, Skip. As consumers, it's all we're concerned with. If you want to treat games as an art form, do what the movies do and give out awards at the end of the year. After playing the demo and trying to break the game as much as possible (like in the fight scene I did absolutely nothing) I noticed the outcome was almost exactly the same. The R2 to walk is slow (no one I know walks that slow, especially if you have somewhere to go) and it essentially felt like R2 was a Fast-Forward (but slow) to the next scene. I think GR gave it the score it deserved.
  • infestedandy - February 13, 2010 6:05 p.m.

    I'm really sick of this whole "some reviewers get it" opinion. Look, the reason we have al these review sites and critics is because it gives variety to the masses. You're supposed to find a place and/or person who resonates with you well so you can have consistency. It's not always going to be perfect but for me, GamesRadar definitely is the place I trust the most. As far as scores go, this debate is endless. Sites who review on a 10-scale should be giving average games a 5 instead of those 7's people talk about as being safe. A 7 to me is a GREAT game with some flaws, but you read the review to find out more about it. Since games are expensive as hell, anything for me that's a 7 and up is worthy of a look; especially if you trust the source who is reviewing the game in question.
  • veryweirdguy - February 13, 2010 5:06 p.m.

    Note: "7 out of 10" means above average. Also, fanboys are stupid (for any one console.) I'll still pick it up.
  • mfwahwah - February 13, 2010 3:47 p.m.

    I'm disappointed in this review GR. Very disappointed. "leaching origi"
  • pot - February 13, 2010 12:26 p.m.

    Oh this is great, been laughing all day @ people that claim this score is unfair, reviewer doesn't know what he's talking about, and how it's the best game since... ever. Even though none of them have played it yet. All this over one single number... It's the same at Destructoid because they gave the game a 7 as well. I own a PS3 and I am playing the Heavy Rain demo as I type but still, the PS3 fanboys rage when a PS3 exclusive gets lower then a 10.
  • pot - February 13, 2010 10:54 a.m.

    As soon as I read this review I knew the SDF (Sony Defense Force) would be out to bash GR since it didn't get a score of 11/10 LOL. You guys did not let me down!
  • Fiirestorm21 - February 13, 2010 10:43 a.m.

    Good article, David. Glad to see your comments about the story...obviously something one can't know before-hand. I was excited for the game (I would be in the "B" category of your little quizzes there) but bad writing always turns me off. I probably rent before buying just to be sure.
  • mentalityljs - February 13, 2010 12:37 a.m.

    @ GameDev I suppose it can go both ways. I especially would'nt want to review a game if it was of my least favorite genre. I wouldn't have the attention span to play thru it enough to give it a proper review, so i'm in agreeance with u there. Good to see you didn't take it offensively like some other ppl do :)

Showing 21-40 of 125 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 23 2010 - PS3 (US)
Feb 26 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Quantic Dream
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.